lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Getting started with coding.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-21-2007, 05:50 AM   #1
Johnpp
Junior Member
 
Johnpp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Australia, The Place To Be.
Posts: 435
Getting started with coding.

Ok, I heard that you need Visual Basic C++ (Or something along those lines) for all coding, great and small.

I then heard, from another place, that all you need is a C++ (Or some thing along those lines ) compiler.

Could you guys tell me what one is true, and if it is possible to code withour Visual Basic.


Opera user.
IE hater.
JKA player.
DooM player.
Quake 2 player.
Real life player.
Johnpp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-21-2007, 04:44 PM   #2
Griswald
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ent->ps.get_loc();
Posts: 25
You can compile with multiple C++ compilers, but it is primarily made for the Microsoft Visual C++ compiler, which there is an "Express" (free) version of that can be downloaded.


-- Griswald, RKR Project Co-Leader
Griswald is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-21-2007, 09:27 PM   #3
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Visual Studio is what you mean, Visual Basic is a completely different Programming Language.


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-21-2007, 11:37 PM   #4
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Its going to be a little complicated getting started. Best bet would first be to download visual c++ express or visual studio express.


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2007, 04:24 AM   #5
Johnpp
Junior Member
 
Johnpp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Australia, The Place To Be.
Posts: 435
Once I have visual c++ express, what do I do next? If I wanted to make the Demp 2 damage something a lot higher (2 times higher, maybe), how would I do so? I have found C_Game or something, found Demp2, edited where it said demp2something damage, but what then?

Thanks for the help so far.


Opera user.
IE hater.
JKA player.
DooM player.
Quake 2 player.
Real life player.
Johnpp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2007, 04:55 PM   #6
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Were you able to compile the whole project properly without any errors? The base ja code doesn't compile well for c++ express, try getting the ojp basic code instead.


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2007, 11:07 PM   #7
Johnpp
Junior Member
 
Johnpp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Australia, The Place To Be.
Posts: 435
When I tryed to compile, it had many errors. It was hard to see but it looked over 20, atleast.

Do you know where I could get the OJP code? Or do I just open the .DLL file?


Opera user.
IE hater.
JKA player.
DooM player.
Quake 2 player.
Real life player.
Johnpp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2007, 11:46 PM   #8
stubert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 227
you learn how to program, until then stop asking
stubert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2007, 02:53 AM   #9
Johnpp
Junior Member
 
Johnpp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Australia, The Place To Be.
Posts: 435
Yes, I understand that, but you have to understand that this is hard for me, and probably for any other HUMAN person.

I just need help, is all, then I'll learn the rest myself.


Opera user.
IE hater.
JKA player.
DooM player.
Quake 2 player.
Real life player.
Johnpp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2007, 12:46 PM   #10
DarthDie
Junior Member
 
DarthDie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 407
Vaderrocks, do you use Instant messenger? If you do let me know here or with a PM...I would be glad to help you get started.


OJP Sponsors and websites

"...and what about all those screenshots in there of DarthDie with a swastika of demo charges."
DarthDie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2007, 04:34 PM   #11
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaderrocks
Yes, I understand that, but you have to understand that this is hard for me, and probably for any other HUMAN person.

I just need help, is all, then I'll learn the rest myself.
Oh no, you are the only HUMAN, the rest of us are STROGG. :Nervous

Oops did I say that out loud? I've been playing too much ETQW Beta.


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > Getting started with coding.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:27 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.