lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: new mod sdk i am making available to developers
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-14-2007, 09:14 PM   #1
dumbledore
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
new mod sdk i am making available to developers

i thought this would be a good place to post this.
i've created a new mod sdk which, unlike the universal sdk, acts as a sort of "layer" between the engine and existing mod dlls, therefore letting you additionally mod existing mods without needing access to their source code. the idea is pretty simple, and i'm sure a quick look-over of the code should prove enlightening. i've only tested this code with dev-cpp and the mingw compiler (the game module also compiles and runs on linux with gcc) so i'd appreciate if someone could give it a run-over with msvc, i know there are some compiler differences but nothing should be too severe. in the included code i've put in a simple console command mod in each of the three dlls (cgame, ui, game) which makes it so a client typing /layer_(cgame, ui, game) will receive a simple version message verifying that the mod works.

http://files.filefront.com/jka_mp_sd.../fileinfo.html
dumbledore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-15-2007, 06:39 AM   #2
Gamall Ida
Lurker
 
Gamall Ida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: France
Posts: 8
Sounds good...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbledore
so i'd appreciate if someone could give it a run-over with msvc, i know there are some compiler differences but nothing should be too severe.
Yields one error in VC++ 2005 :

Code:
g_main.c(463) : error C2059: erreur de syntaxe : '}'
I think it doesn't like the empty gameCvarTable[] ... adding a dummy cvar seems to quench the error.

Gamall Ida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-15-2007, 03:40 PM   #3
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Interesting concept, but wouldn't it rely on the common structs being identical?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-15-2007, 10:42 PM   #4
dumbledore
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
not necessarily, since the interface remains the same (vmmain, trap calls) unless you could change the engine. the only time struct changes would become a problem is if you tried to access the structs from the real dll directly (which would take some memory hacking anyway).
dumbledore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-15-2007, 10:48 PM   #5
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
So, which code is defining those structs then? your code or the other mod code?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2007, 06:41 AM   #6
dumbledore
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
the other mod code remains unchanged of course; my code defines them as it needs.
dumbledore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2007, 11:53 AM   #7
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
What if you don't know how they are defined in the other mod?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2007, 04:14 PM   #8
dumbledore
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
what you don't know can't hurt you - the structs dont really need to match completely, after all.
dumbledore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2007, 04:37 PM   #9
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
mmm, I don't think that's really true. Differences in the common defines could cause all kinds of problems.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2007, 07:58 PM   #10
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
How does that one Multi Mod thingy work then? I forget what its called, but it works for like all Q3 engine games... Even with qvm.


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2007, 06:39 AM   #11
dumbledore
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by razorace
mmm, I don't think that's really true. Differences in the common defines could cause all kinds of problems.
as i said before, you can't change the vm interface without access to the engine so it really doesn't matter, and all the essential structs can't be changed.

[edit] looking back over this thread, i don't think you're really understanding what this is doing exactly, have you looked over the code?

Last edited by dumbledore; 04-17-2007 at 04:05 PM.
dumbledore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2007, 07:13 PM   #12
stubert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 227
teh, brah, did you provide hooks that would be called to run mod mods?
stubert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2007, 09:41 PM   #13
Griswald
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ent->ps.get_loc();
Posts: 25
*smacks stubert's fingers* Bad stubert! Let old threads die. XD


-- Griswald, RKR Project Co-Leader
Griswald is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2007, 09:54 PM   #14
stubert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 227
stubert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > new mod sdk i am making available to developers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:09 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.