lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Gassing a room?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-07-2007, 10:56 PM   #1
SithRevan
Veteran
 
SithRevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Delta Halo
Posts: 847
Helpful! 
Gassing a room?

I know that it possible, I just don't know how to do it. Could somebody lend me assistance?

Also, there are characters in this room that I do want to have effected by the gas so if you could tell me how to do that as well it would be much appreciated. Thanks everyone.


I have defied gods and demons.
I am your shield, I am your sword.
I know you; your past, your future.
This is the way the world ends...
-----------------------------------------
TAC-F v2.0 | Ubese Assassin's Armor | TSL: Warp Console v1.0 | Auto K1 DS Transitioning | Deralia Spaceport[TSL&K1] | Kotor2Files.com Co.Manager | K1RP: Kotor I Restoration Project
SithRevan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2007, 05:58 AM   #2
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SithRevan
I know that it possible, I just don't know how to do it. Could somebody lend me assistance?
You mean like you can do by hacking security computers at various locations in the game?

This is usually done by placing a series of waypoints within the room that should be gassed, acting as gas vents that form an even coverage of the whole room. Then in a script you call the UT_GasRoom() function found inside the k_inc_utility include file, once for each gas puff/vent in the room.

This function takes three parameters. The first is the Tag of a waypoint to center to use as the gas vent.
The second is the radius in meters, centered on the gas vent waypoint, that nearby creatures will be affected by the gas.
The third parameter can be set to either TRUE or FALSE and affects how NPCs who are not hostile to the player will be affected by the gas. If set to TRUE everyone caught within the gas will be killed, friend, foe or neutral. If set to FALSE only hostiles will be killed, while neutrals and friendlies will be inflicted with normal "damage over time" poison that can be cured using force powers or antidote kits.

So, when called the function will show a gas cloud visual centered on the waypoint you specify and damage/kill anyone within the radius from it you specify.

Simple example with three gas vents that will kill hostiles and injure others:
Code:
#include "k_inc_utility"

void main() {
    DelayCommand(0.5, UT_GasRoom("wp_gas_vent_0", 5.0, FALSE));
    DelayCommand(1.0, UT_GasRoom("wp_gas_vent_1", 5.0, FALSE));
    DelayCommand(1.5, UT_GasRoom("wp_gas_vent_2", 5.0, FALSE));
}

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2007, 11:52 AM   #3
SithRevan
Veteran
 
SithRevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Delta Halo
Posts: 847
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoffe
You mean like you can do by hacking security computers at various locations in the game?

This is usually done by placing a series of waypoints within the room that should be gassed, acting as gas vents that form an even coverage of the whole room. Then in a script you call the UT_GasRoom() function found inside the k_inc_utility include file, once for each gas puff/vent in the room.

This function takes three parameters. The first is the Tag of a waypoint to center to use as the gas vent.
The second is the radius in meters, centered on the gas vent waypoint, that nearby creatures will be affected by the gas.
The third parameter can be set to either TRUE or FALSE and affects how NPCs who are not hostile to the player will be affected by the gas. If set to TRUE everyone caught within the gas will be killed, friend, foe or neutral. If set to FALSE only hostiles will be killed, while neutrals and friendlies will be inflicted with normal "damage over time" poison that can be cured using force powers or antidote kits.

So, when called the function will show a gas cloud visual centered on the waypoint you specify and damage/kill anyone within the radius from it you specify.

Simple example with three gas vents that will kill hostiles and injure others:
Code:
#include "k_inc_utility"

void main() {
    DelayCommand(0.5, UT_GasRoom("wp_gas_vent_0", 5.0, FALSE));
    DelayCommand(1.0, UT_GasRoom("wp_gas_vent_1", 5.0, FALSE));
    DelayCommand(1.5, UT_GasRoom("wp_gas_vent_2", 5.0, FALSE));
}
Thank you very much Stoffe. That helps me out a lot, thank you!


I have defied gods and demons.
I am your shield, I am your sword.
I know you; your past, your future.
This is the way the world ends...
-----------------------------------------
TAC-F v2.0 | Ubese Assassin's Armor | TSL: Warp Console v1.0 | Auto K1 DS Transitioning | Deralia Spaceport[TSL&K1] | Kotor2Files.com Co.Manager | K1RP: Kotor I Restoration Project
SithRevan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Gassing a room?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:18 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.