lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Stuck on conveyor belt
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-21-2007, 05:34 PM   #1
nutmeg1992
Rookie
 
nutmeg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Edge of the Earth
Posts: 101
Question Stuck on conveyor belt

I'm Stuck on the Conveyor Belt, the Switch is going backward and is Pulling manny Towards Where the Ship is hanging, I Can't get him to get his butt off of the Conveyor Belt and Flip the Swtich back the other Way.
Help?


Well I'm back.
nutmeg1992 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2007, 05:57 AM   #2
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,214
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
This thread looks like it has the solution:

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=113974

Seems like modern-ish processors are too fast for the game, so you need to make sure you've downloaded the official patch. If that fails, a program that slows down your CPU such as CPU Killer (linked in that thread) can be used to slow your processor down to more like what was expected in 1998.

If these problems continue to occur and the patch doesn't fix them, it might be worth Ben including CPU Killer (or an equivalent) in his GF launcher.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2007, 03:27 AM   #3
nutmeg1992
Rookie
 
nutmeg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Edge of the Earth
Posts: 101
'Nother Question, What if I download this Patch and it Totally Screws up my Computer? I really don't want to mess it up again After redoing it, and what is This CPU Killer? I don't Want it doing something Funky to the game or to my Computer it's self Either.


Well I'm back.
nutmeg1992 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2007, 11:31 PM   #4
Du Man
Junior Member
 
Du Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 374
It doesn't actually kill your cpu, I can tell you that much! It just slows the game down a bit so you can play the game at the intended speed.

As for the patch, is there a particular reason why you're afraid it's going to screw up you computer? Has this happened to you before? As far as I can tell you the patch is pretty safe.
Du Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2007, 07:02 AM   #5
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,214
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
The patch is an official patch released by LucasArts shortly after the game came out. There's no reason to expect any bad results from it, and indeed I've not seen anyone complaining of having problems with it in my years of being here.

The patch specifically fixes certain parts of the game going too fast, so it's definitely the first to try. CPU Killer just slows down your processor if the patch doesn't slow it down enough itself.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Grim Fandango Discussion > General Forums > Glottis' Garage > Stuck on conveyor belt

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:27 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.