lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Installing and Upgrading to DirectX 10
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-30-2007, 12:10 AM   #1
Tysyacha
One of Thousands
 
Tysyacha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kirkwall/The Free Marches
Posts: 3,181
Current Game: Dragon Age II
Forum Veteran Roleplayer Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
Installing and Upgrading to DirectX 10

How do you do it right, and where do you download it from?

P.S. I seriously think my video card is melting like the Wicked Witch in Oz...

DxDiag says:

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 11/29/2007, 23:08:20
Machine name: AMY-B8636C90FD1
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: ASUSTek Computer Inc.
System Model: K8N-E-Deluxe
BIOS: BIOS Date: 08/13/04 18:58:16 Ver: 08.00.09
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.0GHz
Memory: 512MB RAM
Page File: 194MB used, 1052MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Music Tab: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.
Network Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: RADEON 9800 PRO
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor AGP (0x4E48)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4E48&SUBSYS_00021002&REV_00
Display Memory: 128.0 MB
Current Mode: 800 x 600 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6727 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 9/28/2007 21:06:17, 268800 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: ati2mtag.sys
Mini VDD Date: 9/28/2007 21:05:59, 2456064 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-0D08-11CF-F569-0820A1C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x4E48
SubSys ID: 0x00021002
Revision ID: 0x0000
Revision ID: 0x0000
Video Accel:
Deinterlace Caps: n/a
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Not Available
DDraw Test Result: Not run
D3D7 Test Result: Not run
D3D8 Test Result: Not run
D3D9 Test Result: Not run

-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: Realtek AC97 Audio
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00EA&SUBSYS_812A1043&REV_A1
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: ALCXWDM.SYS
Driver Version: 5.10.0000.5970 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 11/22/2005 14:44:00, 3804416 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
HW Accel Level: Full
Cap Flags: 0xF5F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 8000, 192000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 26, 25
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 26, 25
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: Yes, Yes
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: Yes, Yes
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
Registry: OK
Sound Test Result: Not run

---------------------
Sound Capture Devices
---------------------
Description: Realtek AC97 Audio
Default Sound Capture: Yes
Default Voice Capture: Yes
Driver Name: ALCXWDM.SYS
Driver Version: 5.10.0000.5970 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 11/22/2005 14:44:00, 3804416 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x41
Format Flags: 0xFFF
Tysyacha is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2007, 01:21 AM   #2
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(.)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
There's no DX10 on XP and your GPU doesn't support DX10 anyway.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2007, 01:43 AM   #3
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,806
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
Why the sudden urge to switch to DX10?
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2007, 01:58 AM   #4
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,364
I feel for you, Ty.

You need specific hardware for DirectX 10, like nVidia's new 8-series graphics cards. Plus, you'll need Windows Vista. Best option: don't worry till you need to upgrade. For at least 2-3 years, people without DX10 shouldn't miss out much.


Sabretooth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2007, 11:31 AM   #5
Tysyacha
One of Thousands
 
Tysyacha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kirkwall/The Free Marches
Posts: 3,181
Current Game: Dragon Age II
Forum Veteran Roleplayer Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
Cool. What I'd like to know is if my video card is on the brink of broken. I don't think it is, but every time I try to play TSL, the graphics get all horky and the screen freezes and resets itself from time to time. Please help--I'm making a TSL video for my cousin's Christmas present!!!
Tysyacha is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2007, 12:42 PM   #6
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
hmm...one for the tech forum perhaps !!???

DX10 isnt about upgrading performance of older hardware in xp or previous.

as jmac and sabre has mentioned, it is specific to Vista and can only utilise DX10 processes with a DX10 compliant card, like nvidias 8xxx series or ATIs 2xxx and 3xxx series.

Here is a list of games with DX10 support, but please note that at this stage - games currently released are DX9 backward compatible(as all DX10 cards are).

The benefits of DX10, according to MS, is to introduce a new level of graphical capabilities to games that run on systems with appropriate hardware. The only game that comes close at this stage is perhaps Crysis, which is just as playable with Dx9 and xp, but without the advanced shader effects etc. To tell truth, there isnt any hardware that has realised crysis in its full beauty yet

If youre 9800 is playing up - and If youre on a tight budget, maybe think about an ATI x1600/x1900 or 7600/7950 > decent cards

also make sure you are running the latest ATI drivers for the 9800 *specifically*

and the latest version of DirectX9c with all relevant updates(november 2007 was most recent) >> you can get that HERE

mtfwbya


Asinus asinum fricat

Last edited by Astrotoy7; 12-01-2007 at 01:12 AM.
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2007, 01:01 PM   #7
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Direct x 10 is only for vista and I wouldn't recommend installing Vista on your current machine (forget about running vista with 512MB or ram). Also your current video card also does not support dx 10. In any event only a few very recent games make use of directx 10 (kotor isn't one of them) and as Astor said, you can still play them with a dx9 card.

As for the graphic weirdnesses that you are experimenting, try installing an older driver for your video card. I see from your dxdiag report that you have the september driver installed , which would be Catalyst 7.9. Unfortunately it seems that post Catalyst 7.7 (at least the 7.8., 7.9 and 7.10) drivers have had issues with AGP cards, such as the 9800pro.

You can get the older drivers here: http://ati.amd.com/support/drivers/x...evious-xp.html

Maybe it's been fixed with the November release (Catalyst 7.11) but I am not sure. If you want to try it, you can get it here: http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_ca...=xp/radeonx-xp
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2007, 12:12 AM   #8
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tysyacha
the screen freezes and resets itself from time to time.
This is the part that bothers me, and is leading me to believe that this may be related to the game, instead of the graphic card. What exactly do you mean by the screen "resetting"?

Also, have you tried the classic uninstall-reinstall KotOR idea? I don't think it will wipe out your options and savegames, but best to back them up, just in case.


Sabretooth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2007, 02:00 AM   #9
MJ-W4
Junior Member
 
MJ-W4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scrapyard No. 3
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tysyacha
the graphics get all horky and the screen freezes and resets itself from time to time.
Have you checked to see if the fan on your graphics card is still working? This sounds like a dying fan and an overheating problem.


"When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace." - Jimi Hendrix
MJ-W4 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2007, 02:23 AM   #10
Tysyacha
One of Thousands
 
Tysyacha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kirkwall/The Free Marches
Posts: 3,181
Current Game: Dragon Age II
Forum Veteran Roleplayer Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
How do I check that, I wonder? I'm no techie myself. By the screen "resetting", I mean that the screen freezes, goes black for a couple of seconds, and pops back up.
Tysyacha is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2007, 02:36 AM   #11
MJ-W4
Junior Member
 
MJ-W4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scrapyard No. 3
Posts: 287
You'll need to take off the side panel of the case and take a look. If you're unfamiliar with the innards of your machine, please refer to a shop in your area. In a worst case scenario, you might suffer a really nasty shock, besides damaging your comp. [If the side of your case is transparent, you might just peek in from the outside.]


"When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace." - Jimi Hendrix
MJ-W4 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2007, 09:10 PM   #12
Tysyacha
One of Thousands
 
Tysyacha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kirkwall/The Free Marches
Posts: 3,181
Current Game: Dragon Age II
Forum Veteran Roleplayer Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
I uninstalled and reinstalled KOTOR. Didn't work.
I updated my drivers to ATI Catalyst 7.11. Didn't work.
I downgraded my drivers to ATI Catalyst 7.3, 7.5, 7.6, and even 7.1. No luck.
I updated my sound card driver to the 2005 version. Didn't work.
I tried installing the latest version of DirectX. Didn't work.

Any other ideas? I'm about ready to smash my computer to bits.
Tysyacha is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2007, 10:48 PM   #13
MJ-W4
Junior Member
 
MJ-W4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scrapyard No. 3
Posts: 287
Is there no shop you can take it to? A new fan shouldn't be very expensive and if the guy (or guyette, for that matter) knows the job, it's a matter of minutes.


"When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace." - Jimi Hendrix
MJ-W4 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > Installing and Upgrading to DirectX 10

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.