lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Running in window - Scale the size?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-18-2008, 08:30 AM   #1
Rick87
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Running in window - Scale the size?

Hi guys, many thanks for the community efforts on here, I've just got my hands on Grim Fandango having not played it since my childhood, so I'm looking forwards to going through it again.
I've obtained the launcher that has been made, which is very handy, not least being able to run it in a window. However, I have a couple of questions.

1 - Can I scale the window size? I've got a 22" widescreen, so a window is tiny, and full screen looks ugly, can I run it in a window, but scaled up to twice the size somehow?

2 - Hardware vs software. Is there any way to run it in a window but with hardware graphics? I'd quite like AA to work if possible. I've got an X1950 Pro.

Many thanks for any assistance.


P.S. I may be telling an old tale here, but I had problems with an "Assert Handler" error when trying to run in a window initially, which was fixed by enabling compatibility mode for the game .EXE and selecting in the launcher to Run from Hard Drive. Hope that might help someone out!
Rick87 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-18-2008, 08:44 AM   #2
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,202
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Heya, and welcome.

As far as I'm aware there's been no successful way to achieve hardware rendering in a window. The game automatically invokes software mode when windowed mode is selected.

I would say you could get it to run in a window size of your choosing with hardware via virtualisation, but I don't think Virtual PC and its cousins (yet) support any kind of graphics hardware and/or anti-aliasing.

I'll see if I can direct Benny (author of the Grim Fandango Launcher and replacement installer for 64-bit computers) to this thread later as he may be able to shed more light on this, consider looking into a way to achieve hardware rendering in a window, resizable windows, etc.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-18-2008, 12:48 PM   #3
Rick87
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Fantastic, thanks for the help!
Rick87 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Grim Fandango Discussion > General Forums > Glottis' Garage > Running in window - Scale the size?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.