lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Need some help
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-30-2008, 05:44 PM   #1
KBell
Very Fun Teddy
 
KBell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Your Closet
Posts: 2,251
Need some help

It's been a long time since i've visited the swamp. Not for any specific reason, mind you

Anyway, I'm starting a new project using my evil tax money I'll be getting soon, and what better to use it on than a new computer And what better smart people to help me than the smart people at the swamp lol.

So here are the specs and links. Not 100% sure if this mess will work, but it's fun to try lol. Big note here, I'm on a budget of $600 at the most. currently im at $503.92 plus shipping. So i have very little wiggle room.

My biggest question mark is the powersupply. there's a 400W with the case i've selected, but should i opt for a new one?

Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811154013

Memory
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820231098

Graphics Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102703


Processor
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819103774


Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16813138082R


Hard Drive
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16822148261

Operating System
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16832116056

DVD
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827129018


KBell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2008, 07:36 PM   #2
Young Jedi King
 
Young Jedi King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 20
Hay there KBell, looking at those specs that power supply should be enough to power your system, outside of there only being three 4-pin molex power connectors I don’t see anything wrong with it. There are a few things however that I do have to point out. First thing is the fact that there is only one 90mm fan in the whole case, I would be a tad concerned about good air flow for the system especially since your running a duel core setup. Second is the mother board, the one major thing I don’t like about it is the fact that it has only one PCI express x16 slot. If later down the road you ever decide to run a 2nd video card in Crossfire, especially since the video card you selected is crossfire ready, you would have the shell out more money for yet another motherboard. Out side of those two things I think it will be a decent setup and hopefully a nice upgrade for ya.
Young Jedi King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2008, 09:09 PM   #3
MrWally
Gunslinger
 
MrWally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The City of Lights
Posts: 2,365
Forum Veteran 
eehhhh, I wouldn't go with that PSU. Standard power supplies shipped with cases tend to not be very reliable, and trust me, it's much better to purchase a nice PSU, and have it work for years then use one that's sub-par and risk either damaging your system or having to buy a new one when it's inconvenient for you.

I'm speaking from experience, by the way.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrion View Post
MrWally eats fresh babies in order to maintain his unnatural level of talent.
MrWally is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-31-2008, 11:12 AM   #4
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWally
eehhhh, I wouldn't go with that PSU. Standard power supplies shipped with cases tend to not be very reliable, and trust me, it's much better to purchase a nice PSU, and have it work for years then use one that's sub-par and risk either damaging your system or having to buy a new one when it's inconvenient for you.

I'm speaking from experience, by the way.
Agreed, unless the PSU that comes with it is from a good brand like cooler master, thermaltake or antec. But you'll never find those that comes bundled with cases. However, in this case i wouldnt mind going with that bundled PSU since you're on a tight budget.

Overall seems pretty decent for a budget PC, ive no objections.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-01-2008, 03:01 PM   #5
KBell
Very Fun Teddy
 
KBell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Your Closet
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crow_Nest
Agreed, unless the PSU that comes with it is from a good brand like cooler master, thermaltake or antec. But you'll never find those that comes bundled with cases. However, in this case i wouldnt mind going with that bundled PSU since you're on a tight budget.

Overall seems pretty decent for a budget PC, ive no objections.
Hey buddy, glad to see you're still around lol

anyway, fiddled with the specs alittle.

Snagged a new case
put in a Rosewill Stallion 500W power supply
And switched out the 1950 Pro with a Radeon 3850

soooo i think im good to go. just gotta do the fun stuff now.


KBell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > Need some help

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:14 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.