lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: xbox
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-31-2006, 08:36 PM   #1
at2
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10
xbox

hello, I am one of those annoying xbox users asking for help. I understand that if you play games on pc and dont have an xbox, that you dont really get anything out of making a program like kotor tool to modify a game. I would like to ask if fred tetra could please make the newer versions of kotor tool at least partially compatible with xbox versions. I understand that you're probably busy and if you dont want to then I would appreciate a few names of people that would be willing to. again, sorry if i'm just bugging you.
at2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2008, 06:28 PM   #2
LoganZezima
Rookie
 
LoganZezima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
Unhappy

EDIT: Sorry, your right. I've had a bad day, but 10,000,000 "can I use KOTOR Tool on my Xbox?" threads isn't making it any better.


"Well that let the cat out of the bag! Wait... Who puts cats in bags anyways? Cats hate bags!"- Sheogorath, Prince of Madness

92% of teens have moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% that still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your signature

Last edited by LoganZezima; 03-24-2008 at 07:52 PM.
LoganZezima is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2008, 07:21 PM   #3
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
Logan you are extremly wrong in this process. Infact in the past Fred has provided assistance as well as the community in how to use Kotor Tool with the Xbox for modding it. Infact there is a small contingent of people who make mods for the Xbox.

Also the demand that somebody lock a thread because somebody requests a feature for Kotor Tool in the proper subforums is inappropriate and rude.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2008, 02:30 AM   #4
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by at2
I would like to ask if fred tetra could please make the newer versions of kotor tool at least partially compatible with xbox versions.
Even if Fred was still active here, I highly doubt this would be even possible...

How would the program run? From my understanding the XBox is not a normal PC so running this on your actual XBox would be very hard, if not impossible to do. Let alone the fact that you would need other programs as well, KotOR Tool is not an all-in-one program, to mod these games you need other programs that I know the XBox likely would not be able to run either.

Or maybe I'm misunderstanding things... that happens alot.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2008, 02:47 AM   #5
Robespierre
Junior Member
 
Robespierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 493
As I understand it, the only way to mod KOTOR on Xbox is to softmod (or hardmod presumably) your Xbox and then copy the files into an override folder that you create on the Xbox hard disk. But also from what I hear, a lot of mods don't like the Xbox, for example, the Xbox doesn't know how to make USM work, so the sabers don't look right.

However, I am under the impression that you can use the current KOTOR tool to mod normally, and then use the softmodding (or hardmodding) approach to make your mod work. As RedHawke said, I don't see how making an Xbox KOTOR tool version would actually achieve anything, since the Xbox doesn't have an operating system capable of running Kotor tool, not to mention the lack of keyboard, etc.

From a very quick search I found these links:

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=161725
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=166492
http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=150693

From that it seems that models don't work well in the Xbox, but everything else should.

So just use the Kotor Tool on PC for all your modding delights and then transfer the files to your Xbox when you want to play the mod. Don't try to actually mod on your Xbox.



"We must use daring, daring and more daring." - Georges Jacques Danton
Robespierre is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > KotOR Tool > xbox

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:14 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.