lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Need Help Exporting Player Model
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-23-2008, 07:53 AM   #1
Jalechah
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Need Help Exporting Player Model

Sorry i posted this same thread in the discussion part ..

I thought i would try making a player model again. This time using a Zombie that i made in class using 3DS MAX. its been ages since i have touched jka so i cant seem to remember everything of what to do. im using the jk3 skeleton. i cut the mesh up into all the parts like hips, torso, l_arm etc linked them correctly, iv linked all the bolts, iv wieghed it, iv reset X forms, iv aligned to the stupid triangle. umm iv done everything i can think of but when i go into assimilate and use carcass35 it comes up with the error

Error: Model has 56 surfaces, but only 1 can be reached by recursing from surface 0 ('head')
You need to re-hierarchy this model correctly
These are the surface(s) not reachable from surface 0...

and then it lists a ton of stuff

please help me find out what im doing wrong!!! its driving me insane!
ill include the max file for anyone who is willing to take a look at it.
im just trying to get it in game at the moment so i just rigged everything to the pelvis

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=4UES95QU


also heres a pic of the zombie model i made


http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g2...ham_zombie.jpg
Jalechah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2008, 05:39 PM   #2
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I'll take a look at the file.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2008, 11:51 PM   #3
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Ok it looks like you forgot to link the stupid_triangle_off / roots stuff.

There's a maxscript to auto link all of the hierarchy:
http://psyko3d.50webs.com/tools/autolink.zip

Just load the maxscript and re compile the .XSI, see if that helps.

To do it manually, select each and link to their corresponding "parent":

-Hips should be linked to "stupid_triangle_off"
-"stupid_triangle_off" is linked to mesh_root
-mesh_root is linked to skeleton_root
-skeleton_root is linked to model_root

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > Need Help Exporting Player Model

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.