lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Dialogue?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-03-2008, 08:31 PM   #1
Coolprogram
Rookie
 
Coolprogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 34
Dialogue?

Hello all,
I was wondering how I can make custom dialog's appear in KotOR. I have used both KotOR Tool and DLGEditor to try and get them into KotOR, but I have no luck. I know how to put custom NPC's and weapons into the game, but I can't seem to create custom dialogs. All help is appreciated
-CoolProgram
Coolprogram is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2008, 08:49 PM   #2
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Are you trying to add dialog to a new NPC, or an existing one?



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2008, 08:57 PM   #3
Coolprogram
Rookie
 
Coolprogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 34
Im trying to add dialog to Darth Revan... I created a .MOD file and put in Darth Revan. but when I click on him it the indicator says dialog but revan doesn't do anything but turn around.
Coolprogram is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2008, 09:48 PM   #4
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
There's a dialog option in the NPC file, if you put the name of your dialog there, and put the dialog into the mod file, it should work out.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2008, 10:13 PM   #5
Coolprogram
Rookie
 
Coolprogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 34
Sorry for the post, I figured it out, it was because of extension(s) at the end.
-Coolprogram

Last edited by Coolprogram; 08-03-2008 at 11:09 PM.
Coolprogram is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 12:59 AM   #6
Coolprogram
Rookie
 
Coolprogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 34
hey, instead of posting a different thread and wasting space, i thought I would post two questions here.

Q1: How do I add custom .WAV files to the sound/and or have sound files play durring dialog? - FOUND SOLUTION

Q2: How can I make people "warp" to other areas when they go through a door or something without them having to type "warp blank"? -Solved (Scroll down for Q3 & Q4
Thnks in advance,
-CoolProgram

Last edited by Coolprogram; 08-04-2008 at 01:36 PM.
Coolprogram is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 06:40 AM   #7
Istorian
Junior Member
 
Istorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Back at LF
Posts: 378
Helpful! 
@Q2: That's a door issue. Look at this post: Clicky

|I|

Istorian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 01:35 PM   #8
Coolprogram
Rookie
 
Coolprogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 34
Hey thanks! Wow you would think all my questions would be done, but guess what? They're not! lol (I never fail to ask )
Q3: How do I make a character (Non-NPC) Follow a path (Has to do with waypoints I assume)

Q4: How do I make the NPC automatically talk to a character after he walks by?

Thanks for any help, and for those who have helped me tremendously already!
Coolprogram is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 02:39 PM   #9
Istorian
Junior Member
 
Istorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Back at LF
Posts: 378
Helpful! 
So, you want to enter a module, and when the PC passes in front of a person, he runs to the PC, and starts a conversation with him. Too easy!

You have to put a script that starts a dialogue in your NPC's OnNotice field.

For that you should:

1. Open up KT, Text Editor, (or notepad) and paste the following script:

Code:
void main() {
object oPC = GetFirstPC();
object oNPC = GetObjectByTag("Your_NPCs_Tag_Here", 1);

AssignCommand(oPC, ClearAllActions());
AssignCommand(oNPC, ActionMoveToObject(oPC, TRUE));
AssignCommand(oNPC, ActionStartConversation(oPC, "Your_dialogues_name_here"));
}
2. Compile it with a name let's say "dialogue" without the quotes, and place it in your module file.

3. Open up Kotor Tool again (hope you didn't close it), and go to File>Open GFF File> and select your NPC file. In the Scripts tab, in the OnNotice field put the name of your script ("dialogue" in this case), without the quotes and without the .nss extension. Save the .utc.

4. Pack everything in a .mod file, start the game, pass in front of the NPC, and hopefully, he will start the specified conversation with you!

|I|


Last edited by Istorian; 08-05-2008 at 12:37 PM. Reason: Polished!
Istorian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 03:14 PM   #10
Coolprogram
Rookie
 
Coolprogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 34
Hey, thanks again, but for Q3 can I do that with non-NPC characters? and the script doesn't seem to work... do I need to compile it to a .ncs? oh and I don't have the OnPerception, I have OnNotice. (K1)
Coolprogram is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 03:29 PM   #11
Istorian
Junior Member
 
Istorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Back at LF
Posts: 378
Helpful! 
1. What you mean by non-NPC characters?

2. You have to compile the script, yeah! Sorry for that here is the tested one:

Code:
void main() {
object oPC = GetFirstPC();
object oNPC = GetObjectByTag("Your_NPCs_Tag_Here", 1);

AssignCommand(oPC, ClearAllActions());
AssignCommand(oNPC, ActionMoveToObject(oPC, TRUE));
AssignCommand(oNPC, ActionStartConversation(oPC, "Your_dialogues_name_here"));
}
3. OnNotice, then!

|I|

Istorian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 03:32 PM   #12
Coolprogram
Rookie
 
Coolprogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 34
hm.. I mean like the character that you're playing as not something like darth revan or malak. Thank you for the tremendous help BTW.
Coolprogram is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 03:42 PM   #13
Istorian
Junior Member
 
Istorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Back at LF
Posts: 378
Helpful! 
You're welcome!

Who do you want to walk in waypoints? The PC, an NPC like Revan or Malak, or someone else?

|I|

Istorian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 03:45 PM   #14
Coolprogram
Rookie
 
Coolprogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 34
The PC :-D
Coolprogram is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 03:50 PM   #15
Istorian
Junior Member
 
Istorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Back at LF
Posts: 378
Helpful! 
Why would you want to do that?

|I|

Istorian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 03:54 PM   #16
Coolprogram
Rookie
 
Coolprogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 34
IDK, thought it would be fun
Coolprogram is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 04:09 PM   #17
Istorian
Junior Member
 
Istorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Back at LF
Posts: 378
Helpful! 
I cannot help you with that, sorry...I don't know...Perhaps a more experienced member like tk, stoffe, RedHawke, EnderWiggin or Tupac Amaru could help you

|I|

Istorian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 04:21 PM   #18
EnderWiggin
Sine Amore Nihil Est Vita
 
EnderWiggin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,395
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
I'm not even sure if that's possible. I know you could make a cutscene, but if you mean in the regular game I can't help

_EW_



Hello, Pot? This is Kettle. You're black. ~ Prime

Yes, I hate you.

J7 - thanks for accepting me as part of the 'family.'
EnderWiggin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 05:02 PM   #19
Coolprogram
Rookie
 
Coolprogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 34
a cut-scene could help as well
Coolprogram is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Dialogue?

Tags
audio, dlgeditor, sound, warping

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:09 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.