lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Winzip Self Extractor Problems
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-02-2008, 11:44 AM   #1
Astor
It's Thornhill!
 
Astor's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Warwickshire, UK
Posts: 3,632
Current Game: The Old Republic
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Winzip Self Extractor Problems

Hi all.

I've got a demo of Space Siege that i'm trying to play, but it's using a Self Extractor.

The problem is that the drive it extracts to doesn't have enough space for it go to. Is there a way of changing the location that the files are extracted to?

I've tried looking for information, but couldn't find very much.

Thanks, Astor.






Astor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2008, 11:48 AM   #2
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Odd that it has a pre-set extraction path that you can't edit.

Is it extracting it to the drive where the file lives (likes it's supposed to) or do they have it set to self-install in some wonky c:/path/path/path?


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2008, 11:51 AM   #3
Astor
It's Thornhill!
 
Astor's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Warwickshire, UK
Posts: 3,632
Current Game: The Old Republic
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChAiNz.2da View Post
Odd that it has a pre-set extraction path that you can't edit.

Is it extracting it to the drive where the file lives (likes it's supposed to) or do they have it set to self-install in some wonky c:/path/path/path?
It always extracts to my system drive, with all the windows information on it. But that drive is small because it was designed to hold only system information.

If I could get into the bloody thing I could tell you what path it has, but it won't even let me select a destination.

EDIT: I have fixed it - I copied the .exe from the disc to another drive, and right clicked 'extract files here' with WinRAR. Sorted!






Astor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2008, 02:28 AM   #4
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
with most extractors nowdays, you can just use winrar from scratch to unravel to desktop/wherever you want. I do this with nvidia driver installers alot because they throw in so much crud these days which they dont even give the option to leave out

good to hear youve sorted it

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2008, 07:08 AM   #5
Ray Jones
[armleglegarmhead]
 
Ray Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: digital
Posts: 8,255
10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astor_Kaine
It always extracts to my system drive, with all the windows information on it. But that drive is small because it was designed to hold only system information.
That is what you get for (A) creating extra "system"-partitions, which are also (B) way to small to even extract some bloody archive.

Quote:
EDIT: I have fixed it - I copied the .exe from the disc to another drive, and right clicked 'extract files here' with WinRAR. Sorted!
ALSO, you could right-click-drag-drop it into some drive/folder and say 'extract here', without copying it. OR, since you are using WinRAR, simply right click it and use 'extract files...' and enter/browse a path in the following dialogue, also without copying it.


Ray Jones is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2008, 07:59 AM   #6
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Jones View Post
That is what you get for (A) creating extra "system"-partitions, which are also (B) way to small to even extract some bloody archive.
I'm not sure about Astor's rig but alot of off the shelf jobs nowdays have a "fits tight" system partition , and quite often an equally sized recovery partition.
It's a global conspiracy between pc manufacturers and seagate wd etc

Im sure this strategy has sold zillions of mybook/freeagent kit

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > Winzip Self Extractor Problems

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:43 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.