lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: xbox 360 disc error
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-16-2008, 02:10 PM   #1
Spidz
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
xbox 360 disc error

So i went to best buy at 10 am and bought the game. popped it in and after i choose the difficulty lvl the games starts. As soon as the first frame appears i get a disc read error saying the disc is scratched yada yada yada. So i run back to best buy and get a replacement. Popped the new game in and at the very same spot i get the same disc error.

Ive tried playing a few other games and even a dvd and they all work fine. Is any one else getting this issue? It seems like its my xbox since two brand new games have an error in the same place... or perhaps the shipment best buy received are defective??? halp!
Spidz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2008, 02:26 PM   #2
Jason Skywalker
Fight da Powah
 
Jason Skywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,152
Current Game: SMT: Imagine
Get ANOTHER replacement?
Jason Skywalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2008, 06:55 PM   #3
SirRaven7313
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidz View Post
So i went to best buy at 10 am and bought the game. popped it in and after i choose the difficulty lvl the games starts. As soon as the first frame appears i get a disc read error saying the disc is scratched yada yada yada. So i run back to best buy and get a replacement. Popped the new game in and at the very same spot i get the same disc error.

Ive tried playing a few other games and even a dvd and they all work fine. Is any one else getting this issue? It seems like its my xbox since two brand new games have an error in the same place... or perhaps the shipment best buy received are defective??? halp!
I have the same problem, just wondering if you have figured anything out.

Returned it, but always says disc unreadable once I try to start a game no matter what difficulty/save slot I try. Everything else seems to work fine. It really sucks because I can still see/hear the game story log going behind this message
SirRaven7313 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2008, 06:59 PM   #4
Ctrl Alt Del
Uncreative User
 
Ctrl Alt Del's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 3,814
Current Game: Dishonored
Forum Veteran 
Might be your console as well. Initially, the only game that used to freeze with the "disc error" warning on my 360 was Mass Effect, everything else went on quite smoothly. Later on, other games started showing this signs as well. After a month or so, I got the Ring of Death.

Now, I'm not sure you can ask for a replacement just yet, but you could/should try calling the 360 customers service.


Inspiration

.Bioshock inspiration.
Ctrl Alt Del is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2008, 07:24 PM   #5
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,805
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
Have you moved your console during operation? Such as moving it from horizontal to vertical? If so, you may have just scuffed the laser.

Faulty drives are covered under the one year warranty but not the extended.
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2008, 07:42 PM   #6
sparkofflaim15
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
HELP HAS ARRIVED

Hello my fellow 360 fans I recently had the same problem as you. It occurs when you turn off the xbox during the lucas arts loading screen. There is an easy way to fix this, at least it worked for me.

Steps.
1. Take out the game.
2. Go to the dashboard.
3. Go to System.
4. Go to Memory.
5. Select your hdd, but do not go into it.
6. You should see the hard drive and an option to hit Y.
7. Hit Y
-Note DO NOT FORMAT YOUR HARD DRIVE!!!!!!
8. Hit X X LB RB X X
9. A prompt will come up and ask if you want to run maintenance.
10. Hit yes.
11. Shortly after it will fix it's self and you will be able to play!

Hope this helped and hope they fix that glitch soon i wasted 3 hours of my day today trying to fix it

Last edited by sparkofflaim15; 09-16-2008 at 08:46 PM.
sparkofflaim15 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2008, 08:30 PM   #7
SirRaven7313
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
I tried that but unfortunately it did not help me at all. I am to pissed off at this to try any more tonight, maybe tomorrow after work I will make some calls to see if it will end up working, or who knows maybe I can be lucky and it will just work. Oh and by the way its LB the RB not the way you have it.
SirRaven7313 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2008, 01:39 PM   #8
Spidz
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
I went back to best buy and was pretty much fed up with it so i just got my money back. the door man told me its a known issue and a lot of people have been returning the 360 versions. A friend of mine bought the 360 version at a game stop and it works perfectly fine. I might try there and give the above fix a shot.
Spidz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2008, 06:16 PM   #9
SirRaven7313
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
let me know if a disc from a different store will work, im getting pissed off that the game doesnt work.
SirRaven7313 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2008, 06:57 PM   #10
Hawwi Joshe
Rookie
 
Hawwi Joshe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 154
The 360 version of TFU I bought at GameStop works perfectly fine for me thus far.


"Don't be too proud of this technological terror you've constructed. The ability to destroy a planet is insignificant next to the power of the Force." - Darth Vader

Hawwi Joshe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2008, 04:52 PM   #11
SirRaven7313
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Ok Im done Fing with this game, it is going back. No clue what the problem is, but after some communications with lucasarts about this problem CLEARLY STATING that I have already cleared the cache, tried different game and returned this for a different disk all the said back was, well did you try what you told us you tried? HD in, or out, different gamertags does not matter the game will not work. Lucasarts you failed at this, I dont know if I will ever buy this game again, I was pumped for it to come but now I could care less. I hope someone there reads this and finds out that not only will I not buy this game again, but probably never get another lucasarts game again. I have had many games that they have made and loved most of them, but if they are not willing to help people out when they have problems and just throw generic emails back at that it is poor customer support. Also this is another person spreading these issues out which will now cause more people to not consider their product Well the game is going back now, Im done. Sorry I love Star Wars and have spend a good amount of money on Star Wars products, but I wont deal with this kind of crap!
SirRaven7313 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Force Unleashed > General > The Secret Apprentice's Logs > xbox 360 disc error

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.