lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Would XP Run On This Machine?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-31-2008, 01:32 PM   #1
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Would XP Run On This Machine?

I want to change my OS on my Laptop from Vista to XP Pro/Home.

But i'm not sure XP would run properly.

Here are my specs:



What do you guys think?




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-31-2008, 01:41 PM   #2
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
I'd almost dare to say that if it runs *any* version of Vista.. it's more than capable of running XP Pro (or Home). Though I'd wait for some other opinions before darting off and formatting away


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-31-2008, 03:17 PM   #3
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,806
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
Look up your laptop model number. You'll often find driver packs that have been assembled to painlessly get XP up and running on your laptop.
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-09-2008, 11:22 PM   #4
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
just a quick caveat about warranty...if its a recent laptop and still under warranty, many manufacturers will view you changing the OS as a violation of warranty. ie they want you to take it into a service centre to get done, so if something goes wrong afterwards, you are still supported.

As Rhettski, said, check HP site for the list of supported OS and their drivers.

I understand people wanting to have a dual boot to XP for compatibility issues, but a full roll back is cutting you off from running apps that are/will be vista specific.. This is even more a concern if HP never actually issued you with an original OS disc

good luck!

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2008, 02:53 AM   #5
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I'm with Astro on this. Dual-boot would be the way to go.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2008, 05:10 PM   #6
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Dual-booting not really an option for me i'm afraid.

This laptop has the smallest HDD EVER!

Only 80 gigs!

I'll hopefully be getting me an iMac soon though..

If I do, i'm having a 500 gig hard drive, so I can have a nice big XP install via bootcamp.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2008, 02:28 AM   #7
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,364
My computer's worse than that and it's running XP no problemo. But like the Chainz says, if Vista is running on it, there's no heavenly reason why XP should not run on it. It's unthinkable!


Sabretooth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2008, 08:10 AM   #8
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
I've heard some machines have had problems with drivers etc..

I'll give it a go, worst comes to worst, I can just re-install Vista if I have a problem..




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2008, 01:33 AM   #9
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marius Fett View Post
Dual-booting not really an option for me i'm afraid.

This laptop has the smallest HDD EVER!

Only 80 gigs!
People run XP installs off 8GB SD or CFlash cards. A full vista system install is a space hog. I need 20GB for a vista ultimate install.

It all really depends on what you need the space for. Large HDDs are so cheap that people buy them without thought of how much they actually need. I record digital and satellite HDTV at about 3-5GB/hour.(depending on rez of broadcast) If you dont do anything like that, youd be suprised how far 80GB will take you!!

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2008, 11:36 AM   #10
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
^Out of the 80 GB actual size, only 67.4 GB can actually be used.

Vista takes up around 5 GB, so I really only have around 63 gigs to use.

After I get KotOR, the Jedi Knight games, and EaW installed I have even less space left.

Plus I have alot of other apps, (KotOR modding tools take up quite a large amount of space when you have alot of them.) Photoshop and 3DS Max take up quite a lot and so do all the other programs I have installed if you look at them altogther.

Right now, I have 14 GB free, and that's only because I uninstalled Battlefront and Republic Commando.

I'm also the type of guy that has WAY too many files and folders etc.

_____

The fact that it takes up less space is actually part of the reason I want XP back.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2008, 06:25 PM   #11
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
fair enough. HDDs are pretty darn cheap, and getting cheaper as SSDs start taking over.

If you do have a lot of junk, I'd think about either a couple of drives, or some partitions to keep general files and folders of 'stuff' away from your system disk/partition. Theres nothing worse than important files 'going down with the ship' when your OS disk/partition decides to chuck a wobbly I myself am currently in the process of digitally archiving every single CD/DVD etc I have, and then I will get rid of most of the CDs/DVDs themselves via ebay or donating to a local library. Im sick of them all junking up my place. Out they go! I have 4TB(1TB each across 4 rigs) to spread them around on, so I think Im set for storage for a whiles yet !

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2008, 10:40 AM   #12
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
We can't all be as lucky as you, Astro.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > Would XP Run On This Machine?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.