lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KOTOR II character freezing
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-09-2008, 05:31 PM   #1
xgmx
Banned
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: In a war between light and dar
Posts: 30
Current Game: Star Wars: Force Com
KOTOR II character freezing

I bought Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords on November 8, 2008 and first played it on November 9, 2009. I have been having trouble with the game, sometimes my character will "freeze" and not be able too move (unless I click on a action if one is near but after my character does the action it still won't be able too move. The only way to "unfreeze" your character is to exit the entire game program (you can't save it because it will just load messed up then, I think) and then launch the game again. This ussually happens near fog, the game will also lag considerably when the fog is in hte game. It only happens in a certain mission critical area in the game, though I don't know the name of the area.



normal screenshot: http://kupax.com/files/4798_iaz88/frozenkotr2.bmp
Xfire screenshot: http://www.xfire.com/screenshots/xgm...a73b6e9f64.jpg
DxDiag: http://files.filefront.com/DxDiagtxt.../fileinfo.html
xgmx is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2008, 06:55 PM   #2
Endorenna
Gamer Wanna-be
 
Endorenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,140
Current Game: inFamous/Uncharted 2
I don't know how to fix your problem, but I can tell you where that is. That's in the Peragus Mining Tunnels. Is the fog you're referring to the super-heated tunnel Atton warns you about?


Chapter 12 of A Soul Adrift is out.

Short stories:
T'katlu: On the planet Felucia, a young apprentice of the Dark Side thinks back to the beginning of her training as she lies in wait for her prey...

All the Time: After four years in the Unknown Regions, the Exile returns to the known galaxy to visit an old enemy.

Broken: A master of the Dark Side finds himself about to lose the one thing he cares about--and he will do anything to stop her from endangering herself.
Endorenna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2008, 07:32 PM   #3
Chevron 7 locke
Peace and Sanity
 
Chevron 7 locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,328
Current Game: The Old Republic
Roleplayer Forum Veteran 
I have the same problem but mine does it when I first try to move. And it happens in both games
Chevron 7 locke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-11-2008, 07:22 AM   #4
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Moving to Work Bench...


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-11-2008, 07:29 AM   #5
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by xgmx View Post
I have been having trouble with the game, sometimes my character will "freeze" and not be able too move. This ussually happens near fog, the game will also lag considerably when the fog is in hte game.
You could try disabling Vertex Buffer Objects in the game's graphics settings and see if it helps against the slowdowns. I remember I had to do that back when I first got the game to make it work acceptably.

To do so, open swkotor2.ini (found in the same folder as the game EXE file) with notepad, find the [Graphics Options] section and add the line Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1 (or just change it to 1 if it's already there).

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2008, 07:00 PM   #6
Chevron 7 locke
Peace and Sanity
 
Chevron 7 locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,328
Current Game: The Old Republic
Roleplayer Forum Veteran 
My problem is the character will freeze when you first move. the character will be in a running pose but will not be able to move forward, backward, or in any other dirction
Chevron 7 locke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2008, 01:34 PM   #7
Malmern
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
I have the same problem as well,
except it happens after almost each combat,
nowhere else.

I have patched to the latest version,
I did set affinity to 1 core/cpu,
but it still freezes!

It happened in KoTOR 1 as well,
but setting that ones affinity helped atleast.

My specs:

Windows XP x64
XFX GeForce 8800 GT 512 Mb
4 Gb Ram @ 800 Mhz
Intel Core2Duo E8400
Malmern is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2008, 11:50 AM   #8
Malmern
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Anyone got an idea?
Malmern is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2008, 01:20 AM   #9
Chevron 7 locke
Peace and Sanity
 
Chevron 7 locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,328
Current Game: The Old Republic
Roleplayer Forum Veteran 
Your Graphics card just may not be able to handle the game.
I would recomend an ATI radeon 9200 for KOTOR 1 and 2.
I hope this helps you out
Chevron 7 locke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2008, 01:31 AM   #10
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Unlikely. A Geforce 8800 GT is an excellent graphics card that easily eats the Radeon 9200 for breakfast. Did you apply the fix from Microsoft available from here? You could also try updating your drivers for the graphics card.

If they are all up-to-date, try running the game with all the fancy graphics turned off and see if that makes a difference. If it works, you can adjust each setting up a notch until you find which setting causes the problem.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > KOTOR II character freezing

Tags
kotor, kotor2, xfire

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.