lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Model weighing help
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-24-2008, 02:02 AM   #1
ecko2334
Rookie
 
ecko2334's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Model weighing help

Been using the skin wrapper tut on Psyk0Sith's website. After I do all the skin wrapping and such. When it comes to getting it to compile into a .glm form with assimilate it says "vert <whatever> on mesh "whatever" has no weights". Figuring I missed something in the tut. Went to the error guide and kinda says I need to weigh the model. Figuring I didn't weigh something properly with the skin wrapper? Idk kinda lost after I click convert to skin. I did that for all the body parts. What else is need be after that on all the body parts ...Please help.
ecko2334 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-25-2008, 01:58 AM   #2
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Maybe skinwrapping isnt as easy as i thought for less experienced =/.

Are you using all standard meshes? what is the name of the mesh missing weights?

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-25-2008, 07:49 AM   #3
ecko2334
Rookie
 
ecko2334's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Well when I'm in assimilate I've so far gotten different answers on the weighing part. It would one minute say hair is not weighed then the next say the hands not weighed or the next time I try it say the hips aren't weighed. Followed the tut to the letter and I've even used the autolink script.

This time I went through fresh and tried a new model and this time instead this time got "vert (1) on mesh "bolt_uchest_r" has no weights."

Idk keep trying and it's like skin wrapper isn't weighing the model. Maybe it's just me or it's the model.

Last edited by ecko2334; 12-25-2008 at 10:10 AM.
ecko2334 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-25-2008, 08:16 PM   #4
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
you can send me your scene file so i can check it out...psykopat (at) geocities.com

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2008, 03:16 PM   #5
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
The model appears to be correctly skin wrapped, but there are some areas that will require some troubleshooting. It's almost there, all player modelers have experienced these kind of errors, sometimes you forget a few verts and most of the time you need to tweak the weight distribution for better movement.

To catch verts left behind, you need to rotate the bones and you will see those stray verts "stick" into place while the rest of the mesh follows the bones correctly. Dont forget to turn on angle snap and ALWAYS put bones back into their original position.

Another way to catch the verts is by looking at the color of the weights, whenever you see a blue section it means very low value or no weights. I strongly recommend following the skin modifier tutorial to understand how things work:
http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat/tu...n_modifier.htm

Unweighted verts
Since the clothing is not skin tight like the source mesh so not everything was "caught" by skinwrapper. Go back and manually weight these areas, the sleeves are the first obvious meshes. There's no way around this, tweaking will always be involved when the mesh is different from the source.

Meshes that needs weight:
-Hair styles: some unweigthed verts at the back
-Under the chin of the "head mesh"
-l_arm and r_arm (the hanging part needs weights)
-Finger tips on both hands need weights (you can reuse the hands from the sdk file if you want, if you do, rename them correctly)

I suspect the hips_belt mesh will need some adjustment, as of now it's weighted as a "stiff mesh" but the lower part of the torso has some movement into it.

Unlinked hierarchy
For some reason the head was not linked to the torso, the extra hair styles appear to be linked correctly to the head but the head itself was not linked to the torso.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > Model weighing help

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.