lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Awesome models
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-25-2009, 11:37 PM   #1
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Awesome models

Just wondering is it possible for something like this: http://www.foundation3d.com/index.ph..._sectionid=211
to be turned into a module for KOTOR? Most of them looked way to advanced to be changed into a older game.

Anyideas?

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2009, 12:10 AM   #2
Da_man
CHEATER (Apparently)
 
Da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sunny Arizona
Posts: 1,173
Current Game: Team Fortress 2
I'm not sure, but I think those would go into TSL or KOTOR fairly well. I think there might be a problem with file formats, and I don't know how well the games are going to take them. Plus there is the hassle of importing all the textures and making sure they all match up at the correct places.

Da_man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2009, 12:19 AM   #3
LadyRevan
Rookie
 
LadyRevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cali, Canada's home though....
Posts: 110
Current Game: Kingdom Hearts II
well if you can get the model into an acsii form and then import it to max you should be able to modify it enough to get it right for kotor. Then you'll need to walkmesh it... and add it into a module file... so anyway... ya its totally possible, i've seen it done and have worked with people who've done it.

Oh also you may need to resize it, if thats out of another game or a model that someone made freehand chances are its too small or too big for the normal sized module in the game... and you'll probably have to UV map it too...

Last edited by LadyRevan; 01-26-2009 at 12:21 AM. Reason: I forgot to add something to my comment
LadyRevan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2009, 07:10 AM   #4
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
It's possible that those models could be implemented in KotOR, but I don't think it'd be very practical. Those areas look like they have far more polies than KotOR could probably handle, plus you'd have to detach pretty much every single polygon and re-map it.



Sithspecter is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Awesome models

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:00 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.