lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Dialog error
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-07-2009, 09:57 PM   #1
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,510
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Dialog error

I have this error with a dialog file. When it fires in game it shows up like how people on taris's does as like a speech bubble in the air. I have 2 reply options that you cant even choose. Why is this happening?




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-07-2009, 09:58 PM   #2
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canderis View Post
I have this error with a dialog file. When it fires in game it shows up like how people on taris's does as like a speech bubble in the air. I have 2 reply options that you cant even choose. Why is this happening?
As far as I know that only happens when the Npc only has one line. Does he have a reply to those replies(of the pc)

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-07-2009, 09:59 PM   #3
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,510
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
One of them.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-07-2009, 10:25 PM   #4
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,586
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
Huh; I thought I read once in a tutorial (correct me if I'm wrong) that a dialog works like normal (non-'text bubble') if it has 3 replies.

I can't speak from experience though, seeing as I've only dealt with/made dialogs with 3+ replies.

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-07-2009, 10:35 PM   #5
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,776
Current Game: KotOR II
Actually, it needs a minimum of one 'entry', that is, NPC response and one PC reply, even if that reply is blank.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-07-2009, 10:39 PM   #6
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,510
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth InSidious View Post
Actually, it needs a minimum of one 'entry', that is, NPC response and one PC reply, even if that reply is blank.
Really then why didn't it work?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferc Kast View Post
Huh; I thought I read once in a tutorial (correct me if I'm wrong) that a dialog works like normal (non-'text bubble') if it has 3 replies.

I can't speak from experience though, seeing as I've only dealt with/made dialogs with 3+ replies.
Thanks ferc that made it work!

EDIT: now for some reason it wont fire when i enter the area. Heres the fire script:
Code:
void main() {
  object oNPC=GetObjectByTag("doorguard");
  location lMe=GetLocation(GetFirstPC());
    ActionDoCommand(SetCommandable(TRUE,oNPC));
  AssignCommand (oNPC,ActionForceMoveToLocation(lMe,FALSE));
  AssignCommand (oNPC, ActionStartConversation(GetFirstPC()));
}
Do you guys see any problem?




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 01:06 AM   #7
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Does the NPC even move over to where you are, or does the script simply not fire at all?

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 09:40 AM   #8
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,510
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Its kinda hard to tell as he spawns close to me. I think it does cuz he was facing the wrong way at first and when this script fires he faces me.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 01:27 PM   #9
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
What is the trigger for this event? The OnEnter script of a module?

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 01:33 PM   #10
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,510
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Yes the onenter script slot.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 01:54 PM   #11
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Try using ClearAllActions().

Code:
void main() {
  object oNPC=GetObjectByTag("doorguard");
  location lMe=GetLocation(GetFirstPC());
    ActionDoCommand(SetCommandable(TRUE,oNPC));
ClearAllActions();
  AssignCommand (oNPC,ActionForceMoveToLocation(lMe,FALSE));
  AssignCommand (oNPC, ActionStartConversation(GetFirstPC()));
}
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 02:14 PM   #12
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,510
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Thanks star admiral! it worked! Now I just need to fix one more bug, the script that fires in the dialog to make the people hostile only works on 3 out of the 6 people. Is it because they all are the same utc? And one other small thing, what is the uti tag for the red short saber?
Code:
void main() {
 object oNPC1=GetObjectByTag("sith01");
 object oNPC2=GetObjectByTag("doorguard");
 object oNPC3=GetObjectByTag("cultdro");
 object oNPC4=GetObjectByTag("sith01");
 object oNPC5=GetObjectByTag("sith01");
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC1, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC2, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC3, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC4, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC5, 1);
}




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 02:26 PM   #13
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Try this.

Code:
void main() {
 object oNPC1=GetObjectByTag("sith01", 0);
 object oNPC2=GetObjectByTag("doorguard");
 object oNPC3=GetObjectByTag("cultdro");
 object oNPC4=GetObjectByTag("sith01", 1);
 object oNPC5=GetObjectByTag("sith01", 2);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC1, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC2, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC3, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC4, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC5, 1);
}
And the .uti for the red short saber in K1 is g_w_shortsbr02. If I'm not mistaken, it's the same for TSL.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 02:49 PM   #14
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,510
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I forgot to add in the origional script one droid and when I tried to follow your example he stayed on my team and didn't go hostile.
Code:
void main() {
 object oNPC1=GetObjectByTag("sith01", 0);
 object oNPC2=GetObjectByTag("doorguard");
 object oNPC3=GetObjectByTag("cultdro");
 object oNPC6=GetObjectByTag("cultdro", 2);
 object oNPC4=GetObjectByTag("sith01", 1);
 object oNPC5=GetObjectByTag("sith01", 2);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC1, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC2, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC3, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC4, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC5, 1);
 ChangeToStandardFaction(oNPC6, 1);
}
do you see any error?




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 02:56 PM   #15
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Change the 2 in the GetObjectByTag for oNPC6 to a 1. A 0 value tells the game to get the first object with that tag, a 1 gets the second object with that tag, 2 gets the third object, and so on.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 03:06 PM   #16
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,510
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Thanks SA, now there is only one bug left to fix in this module, the "red" short saber is cyan. I don't know why but it is. "g_w_shortsbr02"




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 04:13 PM   #17
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Surprising. Is this for K1 or for TSL? If it's for K1, there is only one cyan color, and that is for the MOTF lightsaber, with a code of g1_w_shortsbr02. If there is no typo, try using g_w_shortsbr01, which is supposed to be for a blue lightsaber.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 04:20 PM   #18
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,510
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
TSL, and there is a 1 after the g (i think).




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 04:23 PM   #19
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
That's the problem. Get rid of the 1 and it should be red.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Dialog error

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.