lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Kotor graphics problem need help....
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-04-2009, 04:55 PM   #1
Jangowuzhere
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Kotor graphics problem need help....

im playing Kotor on my ATI HD 4870 512mb and the game works but the framebuffer effects are somewhat screwed up. Stuff like glowing lightsabers and light sources are absent. And If I use force speed my screen turns into this



I have been trying to find a fix for this. I don't want these effects off just a fix.
Jangowuzhere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2009, 06:01 PM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
If bad frame buffer effects are the only problem that you're experiencing playing KotOR with a modern ATI card you should count yourself as lucky and turn them off.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2009, 07:39 PM   #3
Jangowuzhere
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
I don't want to turn them off. I kinda want to have them on....
Jangowuzhere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2009, 01:28 AM   #4
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,625
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
You can't with an newer ATI card running recent drivers. Their implementation of the updated Open GL screws them up in both games. The best you can do is either turn off framebuffer effects outright as Qliveur suggested, or use Shem's Realistic Visual Effects mods - K1 version and TSL version.

Your only other option is to buy an old card and use the stock drivers that come with it. My old Geforce 6800 ran both games fine. I now have an HD 4850 and both games are plagued with problems.
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Kotor graphics problem need help....

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:41 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.