lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Combat freeze bug
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-19-2009, 02:55 PM   #1
Davinq
I wear a fez now
 
Davinq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 2,442
Current Game: Portal
Combat freeze bug

I've got a random bug that becomes more and more frequent as the game progresses, in that every time I go into combat mode, I lose control of the movement of the character's movement that I was controlling at the time. This is not because I have the frozen during combat setting selected. The real problem is, after the fight is over, I still can't move the character! Only by switching to others can I move around. The previous character follows at that point, but only when I move to another area can they move again when I control them.

This is all fine and dandy, and I can usually progress through the game for a while... until I reach the first confrontation with Malak. At that point I'm flying solo, and so after the first fight, before he moves through the door - you guessed it, I can't move. Game over.

I've been through the mill with this one; uninstalling, reinstalling. I even ISO'd the lot and redid the files that way. None of these things worked.

I've also had similar freezes with TSL, but there's a more serious bug there for another thread.

Edit: I do have a bunch of mods in my Override, but I removed the ones that I suspected of causing the glitch and nothing changed.

Davinq is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2009, 05:07 AM   #2
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,583
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Well, I'm in the same boat as you.

After combat the character ( doesn't matter who) I've got selected freezes; unable to move.

Its random though, sometimes it happens, not always.
Anyway with the party with you its just switching around characters to play with.

It does get annoying when you're alone; TSL is worse as you have large chuncks you've got to do alone.

The only thing that helped me out was to save the game and then load it again.
This seems to reset the animation state of the character.

The drawback is that all this saving& loading makes the game crash sensitive.


My first thought was that this might have been a glitch caused by my Dual Core. So I tried to switch the game to use only one core.

Didn't really help...


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2009, 03:09 AM   #3
Davinq
I wear a fez now
 
Davinq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 2,442
Current Game: Portal
Yeah I have a dual core as well, didn't think of that though.

I think I have found a fix though, but I'm not quite sure what I did; something to do with my graphics settings.

But I didn't turn them down, I turned them up. All of them as high as they could go (except like brightness/contrast, obviously). I haven't had a freeze since.

Davinq is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Combat freeze bug

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:21 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.