lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Jedi Temple Expansion
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-24-2009, 10:57 PM   #1
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Jedi Temple Expansion

Well I have done a small bit of eye candy to the Jedi Temple mod. Including loadscreens, planet icon/rotation model, and am currently getting the 2 characters that speak voiceovers and lipsync.(1 out of 2 voices done.)

I also tried adding a walkmesh to the Council Room to fix the center and the chairs, as you can run through them, by adding a invisible placeable on top of the areas with a walkmesh. This failed as it seems it can not overlap the area model. If anyone knows away to have success with this please PM me or post here.

Anyway I was wondering if anybody has any further ideas for this expansion, Eye candy ONLY(as that is all I have permission, or time for), that I could do?

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2009, 11:07 PM   #2
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,503
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HK-42 View Post
I also tried adding a walkmesh to the Council Room to fix the center and the chairs, as you can run through them, by adding a invisible placeable on top of the areas with a walkmesh. This failed as it seems it can not overlap the area model. If anyone knows away to have success with this please PM me or post here.
You could place invisible placables around it.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2009, 11:10 PM   #3
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canderis View Post
You could place invisible placables around it.
Hm that could be hard with the chairs, and placing the placeables exactly where that walkmesh would need to go around.

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2009, 11:18 PM   #4
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,503
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Could you make a box-like placeable to go around it?




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2009, 11:22 PM   #5
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canderis View Post
Could you make a box-like placeable to go around it?
not if the placeable overlaps the area model at all, if i made 4 lines making a square maybe, but that would be wired around a circle.

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 12:45 AM   #6
Lord of Hunger
Hunger, The Lord Of
 
Lord of Hunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Korriban, Sith Empire
Posts: 1,022
Current Game: Shogun 2: Total War
1) I actually had a major issue with this mod recently because there was a major conflict between this one's placeables.2da and that of the M4-78RP. Thankfully, I was able to resurrect my game by uninstalling this mod, but it was a shame cause this mod has a lot of potential.

2) This mod desperately needs a new skybox. Lots of detail, perhaps put it in nighttime instead of day?

3) Something needs to be done about the landing pad. It screams MOD. Perhaps add some plants or other objects to liven the place up, rather than just leave it as an obvious section of Nar Shaddaa. I wish we could build a new module for the landing pad, but as you say...only eye candy.


As of 3/14/10, TSL is restored. The Sith Lords Restored Content Modification by Stoney and Zbyl has been finished and can be downloaded here.

Lord of Hunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 08:29 AM   #7
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,777
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HK-42 View Post
I also tried adding a walkmesh to the Council Room to fix the center and the chairs, as you can run through them, by adding a invisible placeable on top of the areas with a walkmesh. This failed as it seems it can not overlap the area model. If anyone knows away to have success with this please PM me or post here.
What exactly have you done with the invisible placeable? As I remember, that shouldn't work, only because the invisible placeable has no walkmesh. But, there is a way to make a new walkmesh for a placeable.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 11:53 AM   #8
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sithspecter View Post
What exactly have you done with the invisible placeable? As I remember, that shouldn't work, only because the invisible placeable has no walkmesh. But, there is a way to make a new walkmesh for a placeable.
Thats what I did, I made a new mdl and mdx for the invisible placeable, then created a walkmesh for it. Then I placed it in the room over the area I needed to add a mesh to. No luck because it cant overlap the area model. I know that it works everywhere else, except places it overlaps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord of Hunger View Post
1) I actually had a major issue with this mod recently because there was a major conflict between this one's placeables.2da and that of the M4-78RP. Thankfully, I was able to resurrect my game by uninstalling this mod, but it was a shame cause this mod has a lot of potential.
You mean with the expansion or the original?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord of Hunger View Post
2) This mod desperately needs a new skybox. Lots of detail, perhaps put it in nighttime instead of day?
I agree, but a little beyond my skill to make a good detail one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord of Hunger View Post
3) Something needs to be done about the landing pad. It screams MOD. Perhaps add some plants or other objects to liven the place up, rather than just leave it as an obvious section of Nar Shaddaa. I wish we could build a new module for the landing pad, but as you say...only eye candy.
Well maybe some other objects, but the whole point is for the temple to be abandoned and I dont see anybody watering the plants.


Last edited by HK-42; 03-25-2009 at 12:03 PM.
HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 12:25 PM   #9
Lord of Hunger
Hunger, The Lord Of
 
Lord of Hunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Korriban, Sith Empire
Posts: 1,022
Current Game: Shogun 2: Total War
1) Well the Expansion does not change the placeables.2da, the original mod does. I'm only mentioning because there are potential compatibility issues with M4-78RP, although it's likely that DStoney will help figure this out 'cause he helped me save my game.
2) Perhaps we can get someone who's good with skyboxes then, although the one you were using for Ansion looked cool (though I never saw it in game).
3) Yeah, I don't know. Something just really needs to be added to improve that module.


As of 3/14/10, TSL is restored. The Sith Lords Restored Content Modification by Stoney and Zbyl has been finished and can be downloaded here.

Lord of Hunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 01:03 PM   #10
Salzella
areiK
 
Salzella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,135
Current Game: Portal, Half-Life 2.
you could have it floating over the chair models. the limitations of the game engine would mean the character would be blocked regardless of whether the placeable is a ground level or not wouldn't it?
Salzella is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 10:49 PM   #11
DarthStoney
To bed. I'm old and tired
 
DarthStoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 506
Contest winner - Modding Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HK-42 View Post
I also tried adding a walkmesh to the Council Room to fix the center and the chairs, as you can run through them, by adding a invisible placeable on top of the areas with a walkmesh. This failed as it seems it can not overlap the area model. If anyone knows away to have success with this please PM me or post here.
I just tried something and it worked, use plc_forcecageblk.utp and center it over the object you don't want to walk through. It is the invisible blocker for force cages so you can't walk through them. It was the perfect size for the piller in the center of the room in the temple.

DarthStoney is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 10:53 PM   #12
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSTONEY642000 View Post
I just tried something and it worked, use plc_forcecageblk.utp and center it over the object you don't want to walk through. It is the invisible blocker for force cages so you can't walk through them. It was the perfect size for the piller in the center of the room in the temple.
Really? I wonder why custom invisible placeables dont work if that does. Does it cover the whole pillar? The pillar in the center and the circle surrounding it.

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 10:55 PM   #13
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,503
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Cool, this might be perfect now =)




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 11:04 PM   #14
DarthStoney
To bed. I'm old and tired
 
DarthStoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 506
Contest winner - Modding Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HK-42 View Post
Really? I wonder why custom invisible placeables dont work if that does. Does it cover the whole pillar? The pillar in the center and the circle surrounding it.
Yep ,it is basically a cylinder the size of the round part of the pillar base,so it might be a little large for the chairs but you won't be able to walk through them anymore.

DarthStoney is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2009, 09:29 PM   #15
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Respawn! Tomorrow I will try DSTONEY suggestion on the plc_forcecageblk.utp and I am recruiting some one to do a few lines to lipsync, already got the voiceovers. So if you know how please PM me.

Once both these happen I should be able to release version 3.5

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2009, 09:49 PM   #16
Lord of Hunger
Hunger, The Lord Of
 
Lord of Hunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Korriban, Sith Empire
Posts: 1,022
Current Game: Shogun 2: Total War
This sounds great! Now if the mod itself could be rebalanced a little bit I think it'd help massively. No offense, but there are way too many higher level items to acquire in that place.


As of 3/14/10, TSL is restored. The Sith Lords Restored Content Modification by Stoney and Zbyl has been finished and can be downloaded here.

Lord of Hunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2009, 09:51 PM   #17
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord of Hunger View Post
This sounds great! Now if the mod itself could be rebalanced a little bit I think it'd help massively. No offense, but there are way too many higher level items to acquire in that place.
Sadly thats not really eyecandy, but I could ask deathdisco later about that. Also just asked Drewton if he could make a skybox, but he hasnt been on in a while so never know.

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2009, 10:00 PM   #18
Lord of Hunger
Hunger, The Lord Of
 
Lord of Hunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Korriban, Sith Empire
Posts: 1,022
Current Game: Shogun 2: Total War
Bugger. That Temple mod has SOOOOO much potential. I think you should talk to deathdisco. Also, me, Canderis, and Yatsuke could see about creating a unique landing arm for the temple should he permit it. We are trying to learn how to create new modules.


As of 3/14/10, TSL is restored. The Sith Lords Restored Content Modification by Stoney and Zbyl has been finished and can be downloaded here.

Lord of Hunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Jedi Temple Expansion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.