lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Windows Explorer not responding! (+ AVG Free 8 install error + Idiot Viruses)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-03-2009, 06:48 AM   #1
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan
ANTA BAKAAA?!
 
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Over the bridge from Australia
Posts: 1,214
Windows Explorer not responding! (+ AVG Free 8 install error + Idiot Viruses)

Whenever I start my computer, windows explorer stops responding. all the other programs start up fine. its just WE. i tried shutting the process down and restarting it using task manager, but to no avail. it works for two seconds (i can highlight taskbar items), but then feezes. i can open folders and run programs from the desktop, except for my computer, which sits there looking for the items.

This problem needs some background info:

I had resolved a problem with internet connection sharing between my wireless enabled laptop and my old ibm desktop that has no modem.
this ibm had been sitting there isolated from the internet for about 3 or 4 years. it had an ancient AVG free 7.5 in it, but it was never updated. so, i thought i should get the latest avg and do some maintenance. i downloaded avg free 8 and proceeded to the setup, which went on fine until it failed the installation and displayed this error:

Action failed for file avgssie.dll: File registration... Error 0x80070002

i tried installing it again a few times but it still didnt work. googling the problem told me that this is something silly with avg 8. so i decided to go get another antivirus software. i decided on avast! free edition. i d/loaded it and it installed fine with no hiccups. it asked me if i want it to do a boot scan in the next bootup and i clicked ok. i restarted the computer to finish the installation, and it started scanning.

during the scan, which took about 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours, it found 5 infected files, with a couple trojans (and worms? not sure... there was some variety of baddies). needless to say, i was horrified. along the way, it found a virus, and as usual, asked me what to do with it. i pressed "1 for delete", but it turns out, this little idiot was in a Windows file, and avast asked me if i was sure. i pressed "no". now i didnt know what to do, so i tried pressiing "page up" to try and scroll up the scan progress display, but when i pressed it, it went on scanning the rest of the computer. i think it ignored the problem.

after the scan finished, normal startup followed... until, as pointed out in top, windows explorer locked up. after some more googling, i found out that this problem is usually attributed to spyware and stuff like that... which makes sense. so i tried to shut the computer down using task manager. it said windows explorer is not responding, blah blah, 'end now'. when i click end now, everything disappears except the wallpaper and it goes into super freeze. it doesnt respond to *anything* and the only way to shut it down is through a 5 second power button push. (*shudder*)

i turned it on again, and this time, while WE was stuck, i opened up the newly installed avast (because this was supposed to be caused by spyware). it started doing some memory scan, which was fine until it came up to a file called 'dllhost', after which it just sits there, doing nothing. attempts to shut down the process only yielded 'access denied' messages. but after a while, the program closed on its own.

after a while, i started it up again, and this time i stopped the memory scan before it could get to dllhost.

i went into the options and set some preferences, getting ready to scan, and lo and behold: avast locks up again. wonderful.

so this is my maddening problem(s).

HELP
ME.


system info:
Windows XP pro sp2
Pentium 4 2.0ghz
512mb RAM



mfw I read the Revan novel

it is not a cry of joy.
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2009, 10:31 AM   #2
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Have you tried a repair install from the xp disc?

I have to admit.. If I had a long dormant pc thats recently come back into network use, I'd do a clean wipe and get a fresh new install on there, with updated drivers and SP3. Trying to scrub uo a mess from baddies and uninstall debris from ages ago is just not worth the 40 minutes it takes to nuke and reinstall

Think of it from a time benefit perspective

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2009, 07:29 PM   #3
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan
ANTA BAKAAA?!
 
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Over the bridge from Australia
Posts: 1,214
the only problem is backing up. i have a crazy system of organizing my mods for kotor, and its all gonna go. bah, at least itll give me a chance to organize them in a way thats not crazy. but thats another issue altogether.



mfw I read the Revan novel

it is not a cry of joy.
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2009, 11:52 PM   #4
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
If stuff is important, you should be backing it up anyway

You never know what can happen. A hard drive failure lost our Valentines 2003 pics, I was in a world of hurt from the lady for a month... thanks seagate

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2009, 06:46 AM   #5
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan
ANTA BAKAAA?!
 
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Over the bridge from Australia
Posts: 1,214
update: i fixed that explorer problem by re installing my graphics card drivers in safe mode. it was to fix another another problem: display was being sent out the wrong port.

but after that, I was presented with a few more: corrupted files. windows asks me to run chkdsk, but, since cmd is fried, chkdsk doesnt work.

but thats trivial; i need to re install xp pro onto the comp.

i updated avast! through ICS, and ran a bootup scan, and got rid of that original virus that i skipped:
Quote:
during the scan, which took about 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours, it found 5 infected files, with a couple trojans (and worms? not sure... there was some variety of baddies). needless to say, i was horrified. along the way, it found a virus, and as usual, asked me what to do with it. i pressed "1 for delete", but it turns out, this little idiot was in a Windows file, and avast asked me if i was sure. i pressed "no". now i didnt know what to do, so i tried pressiing "page up" to try and scroll up the scan progress display, but when i pressed it, it went on scanning the rest of the computer. i think it ignored the problem.
now when avast! scanned again, it found no baddie in the i386 folder. so im wondering if its ok to use the folder to create a setup/recovery cd out of it to reinstall?



mfw I read the Revan novel

it is not a cry of joy.

Last edited by JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan; 05-15-2009 at 07:11 AM.
JesusIsGonnaOwnSatan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2009, 02:20 PM   #6
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
I dont fancy the chances of making a stable recovery cd out of an xp install that has been problematic and patched, possibly repeatedly. This is when xp gets crummy...when it breaks it breaks spectacularly.. and has pretty crap abilities to sort itself out

you can only try and see how it goes

If none of that works for you - you could try installing windows 7 RC1(if specs adequate), or linux on it.

good luck
mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > Windows Explorer not responding! (+ AVG Free 8 install error + Idiot Viruses)

Tags
avast, avg, avgssie.dll, dllhost, idiot, viruses, windows explorer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:01 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.