lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: .2da File Editing.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-25-2009, 11:50 PM   #1
Trench
Guy with Monocle
 
Trench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Under a rock.
Posts: 1,638
Current Game: DX:HR, iKotOR
LF Jester 
Exclamation .2da File Editing.

Greetings all. I am in need of assistance with .2da file editing. Mostly I need help with editing the baseitems.2da file. I am trying to add a new armor to the game and I think I need to add a new armor row. I want to add a new armor model without replacing any existing ones. If I have not been clear in my request, or if I need to learn how to edit another .2da file (not that I know how to edit any now) please tell me or ask for more details. I will try to provide any information necessary to gain some .2da editing skills. Thank you.

~Te Mirdala Mand'alor

Trench is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2009, 01:59 AM   #2
dholm
Rookie
 
dholm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 23
Look at the other rows with armors in them to get an idea of what effect they have on armors, then go from there.

If you want the armor type to have a description, you'd have to edit dialog.tlk as well.

Keep in mind that this edits base items, and not just a single new item -- you're essentially creating a new item type. You can create unique items without editing baseitems at all, though -- simply look for .uti files in Kotor Tool.


--Dan Holm
dholm is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2009, 02:40 AM   #3
Trench
Guy with Monocle
 
Trench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Under a rock.
Posts: 1,638
Current Game: DX:HR, iKotOR
LF Jester 
Can I add new armor models into the game without altering a .2da file? I thought that I did. But as I've said before, I hardly know anything about this area of modding.

Trench is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2009, 12:51 PM   #4
R2-X2
Junior Member
 
R2-X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Above Lehon
Posts: 352
Current Game: KotOR again. F*** yeah.
You can create a new armor model without altering the baseitems.2da file. You just have to name it correctly (ask one of our super modellers in here) and set the ModelVariation (in the .uti file) to a specific number. (ask one of them, too)



Beep.
R2-X2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2009, 04:55 PM   #5
Trench
Guy with Monocle
 
Trench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Under a rock.
Posts: 1,638
Current Game: DX:HR, iKotOR
LF Jester 
Thank you R2. Do you know who the best person to ask would be?

Trench is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2009, 05:14 PM   #6
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Te Mirdala Mand'alor View Post
I want to add a new armor model without replacing any existing ones.
This is not possible to do, as far as I am aware. An armor base item type has a certain body variation value set for it in the baseitems.2da file. This body variation corresponds to a set of columns in the appearance.2da file, which list the name of the model and texture a creature using that appearance type will get when equipping an armor with that body variation.

Since the game won't read any new body variation columns added to the appearance.2da file you can't add new body variations. Thus you have to overwrite one of the existing ones to add a new armor model.

(The best you could do in that regard to make it more exclusive would probably be to make the change only to specific appearance types; for example make your new armor look only apply for a party member or the player and no one else.)

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2009, 12:53 PM   #7
dholm
Rookie
 
dholm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 23
Couldn't you create a new armor type that simply uses an existing body variation? It'd create two different types of armor that uses the same model, sure, but they could have different stats.


--Dan Holm
dholm is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > .2da File Editing.

Tags
.2da, assistance, edit, editing, file

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:12 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.