lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: "No installation of Kotor ! or II detected"
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-05-2009, 08:18 PM   #1
Arcesious
Trolololololololololololo
 
Arcesious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE
Posts: 1,876
Current Game: Mass Effect
"No installation of Kotor ! or II detected"

I certainly wasn't surprised to run into this problem with a new computer. It's OS is Vista.

I have Kotor 2 installed on an external harddrive, and I have a new computer. The game works fine. It's the same game installation I had with my old computer. I had to reinstall Kotor Tool with the new computer.

Well the almighty Kotor Tool doesn't seem to know where Kotor 2 is installed, unfortunately... I tried to manually set the file paths for it, but those don't seem to do anything. I'm not sure what's wrong; because I am running Kotor Tool as administrator, so there shouldn't be any permissions issues.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm guessing that the solution so simple that it is staring me right in the face, only that I can't see it.


Please feed the trolls. XD
Arcesious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2009, 08:23 PM   #2
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
I was under the impression that you needed to install programs like this while using your new computer...

I understand this isn't the best answer...but are you unable to just do a fresh install?

Last edited by RedHawke; 06-06-2009 at 01:56 AM. Reason: Sig images over our SWK posted limits... since poster doesn't post around here often enough I just removed it from this post.
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2009, 11:02 AM   #3
SW01
3 Years in the Lurk
 
SW01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 1,075
Current Game: Real Life
I had the same sort of problems with KotOR Tool and TSL on Vista after buying a new computer. I also had TSL installed on a second, though internal, hard drive The solution I found for it was in the compatibility modes. If TSL is installed in compatibility mode, and KotOR Tool is not running in that mode, it doesn't seem to detect TSL.

Setting KotOR Tool to run in compatibility mode seemed to make it work fine. Hope that helps in some way.


SW01 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2009, 11:41 AM   #4
Arcesious
Trolololololololololololo
 
Arcesious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE
Posts: 1,876
Current Game: Mass Effect
Hmm... I just tried that, running both programs as administator and with compatibility mode for windows XP service pack 2, however it still gives me that error message...

Sad face.

Perhaps I've installed Kotor Tool incorrectly? It has been possibly over a year since I last used Kotor Tool, let alone installed it on a computer. Maybe there's something I'm missing here? Or maybe I did the compatibility mode thing incorrectly?

Edit: I reinstalled Kotor Tool on my External harddrive inside the Lucasarts folder. However, I still get the error. When running it, I ran into an unhandled exception error that seemed to have soemthing to do with the microsoft .net framework. I have 3.5 service pack 1 framework for Vista 64 bit.

Perhaps my computer is too advanced in it's programing to handle an old program like Kotor Tool, which seems to require at least 1.1 .net framework? How can I fix this?

Edit 2: Problem solved. The shortcut will not run it properly. I have to use the main application for Kotor Tool.

Edit 3: Nope, not solved. Damnit... I'm getting this error:

Microsoft .NET Framework

Unhandled exception occured in your application. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click Quit, the application will close immediately.

could not load file or assembly 'FMODCL, version=1.0.2111.21613
Culture=neutral, PublicKLeyToken=null' or one of its dependences.
The system could not find the file specified.

Details:

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'FMODCL, Version=1.0.2111.21613, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
File name: 'FMODCL, Version=1.0.2111.21613, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null'
at kotor_tool.frmMain.OpenGFFFileInEditor(String filepath, Int32 formLocationOffset)
at kotor_tool.frmMain.OpenFileFromCmdLine()
at kotor_tool.frmMain.Form1_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnCreateControl()
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl()
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Mes sage& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Mess age& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.O nMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.W ndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)

WRN: Assembly binding logging is turned OFF.
To enable assembly bind failure logging, set the registry value [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Fusion!EnableLog] (DWORD) to 1.
Note: There is some performance penalty associated with assembly bind failure logging.
To turn this feature off, remove the registry value [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Fusion!EnableLog].



************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3074 (QFE.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
kotor_tool
Assembly Version: 1.0.2210.16738
Win32 Version: 1.0.2210.16738
CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Owner/Desktop/kotor_tool.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
Assembly Version: 8.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 8.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3074 (QFE.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
wo6bld9m
Assembly Version: 1.0.2210.16738
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


Please feed the trolls. XD

Last edited by Arcesious; 06-06-2009 at 07:23 PM.
Arcesious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > "No installation of Kotor ! or II detected"

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.