lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Shadows of the Empire = Sith Engine?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-28-2008, 11:17 PM   #1
swaaye
 
swaaye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: in a Wotan Weave
Posts: 60
Shadows of the Empire = Sith Engine?

I've pondered this occasionally over the years and was playing the game the other day. Obviously the game uses something newer than the Jedi engine from Dark Forces, but it's not quite up to Jedi Knight's level either. I doubt that it's something all separate to their other efforts. Anyone know any details about SotE's tech?

Some of the texturing in the game looks like it was pulled right out of Dark Forces but with the standard bilinear filtering blur treatment. Most of the textures look like they were definitely designed for N64's sad little texture cache that required teeny tiny textures. Makes things almost look like they aren't textured at all sometimes, that they are just gouraud shaded colored polys lol.
swaaye is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2008, 11:31 PM   #2
Agent_Katarn00
Junior Member
 
Agent_Katarn00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cloud City,Michigan
Posts: 290
Current Game: Morrowind!
Wel i don't edit at all for df2,sadly
All i know is that df2 textures were called mats.
I recommend that you go to the wiki and find out the graphics and stuff.
Or go to a sote forum to see what's up with the textures.



Jedi Knight Dark Forces 2 Mod Project Leader and Console and PC Gamer
Games i'm looking forward to:
-Red Faction Guerrilla
-Fallout New Vegas
-Diablo 3
Agent_Katarn00 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2008, 08:29 PM   #3
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,805
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
As far as I know, the Sith engine was only used to make JK, MotS, Indy ATIM, Droid Works and somewhat in Grim Fandango.

I've been unable to find the name of the engine used in SotE so far.
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2008, 08:48 PM   #4
Agent_Katarn00
Junior Member
 
Agent_Katarn00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cloud City,Michigan
Posts: 290
Current Game: Morrowind!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boba Rhett View Post
As far as I know, the Sith engine was only used to make JK, MotS, Indy ATIM, Droid Works and somewhat in Grim Fandango.

I've been unable to find the name of the engine used in SotE so far.
Actually on the wiki it says Grim used the GrimE adventure engine.
I think it said somewhere that SOTE used the SCUMM engine from Maniac Mansion.



Jedi Knight Dark Forces 2 Mod Project Leader and Console and PC Gamer
Games i'm looking forward to:
-Red Faction Guerrilla
-Fallout New Vegas
-Diablo 3
Agent_Katarn00 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2008, 09:12 PM   #5
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,805
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
The GrimE engine is based on the Sith engine. Hence, the use of 'somewhat'.

SotE definitely did not use the Scumm engine.
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2008, 09:15 PM   #6
Agent_Katarn00
Junior Member
 
Agent_Katarn00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cloud City,Michigan
Posts: 290
Current Game: Morrowind!
Weird.
I guess that reference the site made was wrong.



Jedi Knight Dark Forces 2 Mod Project Leader and Console and PC Gamer
Games i'm looking forward to:
-Red Faction Guerrilla
-Fallout New Vegas
-Diablo 3
Agent_Katarn00 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2009, 12:41 AM   #7
swaaye
 
swaaye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: in a Wotan Weave
Posts: 60
Over on the DF21 forum, I found a great post with a link to a post mortem about Shadows of the Empire. It's just loaded with interesting info about the development of the game.
http://www.gamesetwatch.com/2009/04/..._shadows_o.php

Really was a bleeding edge showcase of N64. They had a ton of problems to deal with. And it's interesting to read about how their decision to make so much variety in the gameplay lead to the need to make basically a bunch of different game engines for one game. So I guess that means that SotE is unique from DF and JK. Not much in the way of engine tech sharing, unless JK uses a refined version of SotE's shooter engine (doesn't really feel that way.)

Last edited by swaaye; 06-07-2009 at 12:50 AM.
swaaye is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Knight / MotS > Shadows of the Empire = Sith Engine?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.