lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: texture resolutions
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-25-2009, 12:51 PM   #1
darth-me
Rookie
 
darth-me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 125
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
texture resolutions

Hi everyone!
I'm currently working on making my install of kotor look better, starting with upping the resolution on alot of textures in my (packed) override folder. I will later start on textures I have not got a modified version of, and then I plan on starting a skinning project (I know there are hundreds out there).

So, my question. What would be a decent resolution ( I have a Nvidia GeForce 8600 GT graphics card), for the following:
Armour
Modules / Props
Weapons
NPCs
Party Member/PC Heads/underwear

Cheers

EDIT: Just to clarify - I WON'T be releasing any of this - it is all for private use - except if someone wants it, in which case I still CAN'T release High-Res skins of other people's mods.

Last edited by darth-me; 06-25-2009 at 01:25 PM.
darth-me is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2009, 01:26 PM   #2
gsusfrk
Rookie
 
gsusfrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Waiting to stage an ambush
Posts: 40
Current Game: COD:WAW and KOTOR II
Textures like that usually come in binary sets of numbers i.e. they usually stick to numbers like 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, etc. See if any of those textures come in sizes similar to those numbers. If they do, consider stepping them up one level i.e. changing a resolution from 128 X 64 to 256 X 128. Another thing to keep in mind is maintaining the proportion between width and height in a texture. If you're going to increase the size of a texture, make sure you adjust both the width and the height so that they have the same proportion as the original texture. Finally, needless to say, back up your work. It would be killer to mess up a texture and then misplace the original.

Hope this helps!


gsusfrk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2009, 01:37 PM   #3
darth-me
Rookie
 
darth-me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 125
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Yeah, so far, I have doubled most 256x256 and below textures, and a few 512x512s have been doubled too (eg. major faces)
darth-me is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > texture resolutions

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.