lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Hmph battlefront II + vista = total destruction of the universe....
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-26-2009, 08:12 AM   #1
Drunkside
Satanīs little helper
 
Drunkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The land of snow and sorrow
Posts: 787
Hmph battlefront II + vista = total destruction of the universe....

So i bought BFII today. I installed it, and it didnt work. After a lot of swearing and surfing the net i found the answer. So i tested the game and it worked! YIPPEE!!! Then i went and downloaded the patch and the conversion pack and installed them (first patch). When i try to launch the game it tells me to ***** insert the "original BF2 cd/dvd" even though its right where it should be. This is really aggravating. Does anyone know how to fix this problem?


Saivoīs New demo, A Cruel Northern Land is out! Listen to it on our mikseri.net bandpage.

http://www.mikseri.net/artists/?id=117610
Drunkside is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2009, 11:38 AM   #2
LordOfTheFish
Senior Member
 
LordOfTheFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 2,724
Current Game: Tomb Raider
Forum Veteran 
Well, I play BF2 on vista and have no problems at all. Question though, how old is your computer?

LordOfTheFish is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2009, 12:37 PM   #3
Drunkside
Satanīs little helper
 
Drunkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The land of snow and sorrow
Posts: 787
About a year Why? Maybe ill try reinstalling the patch again and see if that works...


Saivoīs New demo, A Cruel Northern Land is out! Listen to it on our mikseri.net bandpage.

http://www.mikseri.net/artists/?id=117610
Drunkside is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2009, 11:39 PM   #4
Deadshot#1
Rookie
 
Deadshot#1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Slave 1
Posts: 83
Current Game: SW: BFII
That's about as best as you can do. sorry mate. if that doesn't work than my only guess is that your computer just won't work with the battlefront II, for whatever reason. what kind of computer did you say you had again? a windows vista?
Deadshot#1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2009, 04:16 AM   #5
Drunkside
Satanīs little helper
 
Drunkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The land of snow and sorrow
Posts: 787
Yeah... I think i have a dual core computer with vista, though im not exactly sure as i bought it assembled. I mean that im not sure about the dual core, i do definetely have vista.


Saivoīs New demo, A Cruel Northern Land is out! Listen to it on our mikseri.net bandpage.

http://www.mikseri.net/artists/?id=117610
Drunkside is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2009, 10:33 AM   #6
Deadshot#1
Rookie
 
Deadshot#1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Slave 1
Posts: 83
Current Game: SW: BFII
Yeah i always found that vista wasn't the best computer system to put games or really anything for that matter on it, no matter how good the other users said they were. sorry mate. hay you think that it may have something to do with not having enough memory or something like that?
Deadshot#1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2009, 01:36 PM   #7
Drunkside
Satanīs little helper
 
Drunkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The land of snow and sorrow
Posts: 787
I have a hard drive of a tera that aint the problem. Im guessing that either the best buy edition i bought is messed up or the conversion pack messed it up.


Saivoīs New demo, A Cruel Northern Land is out! Listen to it on our mikseri.net bandpage.

http://www.mikseri.net/artists/?id=117610
Drunkside is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2009, 07:49 PM   #8
Deadshot#1
Rookie
 
Deadshot#1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Slave 1
Posts: 83
Current Game: SW: BFII
Your right, it probably has to do something with that. do you have any game systems or are you more of a computer kind of guy?
Deadshot#1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2009, 08:25 PM   #9
jawathehutt
Its 5 o'clock somewhere
 
jawathehutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,636
Current Game: Age of Empires II
Did you use auto install for the conversion pack? Your supposed to do manual with vista



"Everyone that posts here is aware of the game, thanks though." ET
"It is Lucasarts"~ LordJhredmo
jawathehutt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2009, 06:16 AM   #10
Drunkside
Satanīs little helper
 
Drunkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The land of snow and sorrow
Posts: 787
Ok thats it... Thanks jawathehutt. I actually suspected that it might be the reason as it says in the installation program that auto install might cause problems with vista but i thought id take a chance Well, ill reinstall the game with the update and the mod and post here afterwards.


Saivoīs New demo, A Cruel Northern Land is out! Listen to it on our mikseri.net bandpage.

http://www.mikseri.net/artists/?id=117610
Drunkside is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront II > Tech Help > Hmph battlefront II + vista = total destruction of the universe....

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.