lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Brightness problems.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-01-2009, 04:06 PM   #1
GeneralPloKoon
Just a Time Traveller
 
GeneralPloKoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hogwarts
Posts: 1,532
Current Game: Borderlands (PS3)
Brightness problems.

I have been playing Outcast for a while and the brightness has always been a problem everything is dark on levels on many mods are impossible to play through(Mace Windu,Dash Rendar). The drakness makes it very hard to play, every time I attmept to change the birhgtness and get a in the corner saying SetDeviceGammaRamp failed or something similar to that, the brightness does not change.
GeneralPloKoon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2009, 12:32 PM   #2
jedimike2234
Rookie
 
jedimike2234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lost in the Rain forest on Yavin 4
Posts: 144
whats the version of widows your using?I have vista and with outcast i have to run it in compability mode because the same problem you mention happened to me.i play it on now on compability mode i have no problems.i do have to mention i never got your message the brightness would go to the extreme and if i tried to change it, it would not stay the way i wanted it.
you have to try to narrow the problem down first,whats your specs and your 3d card?do you have the latest drivers for it and do you have outcast patched to version 1.04?
jedimike2234 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2009, 06:23 PM   #3
GeneralPloKoon
Just a Time Traveller
 
GeneralPloKoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hogwarts
Posts: 1,532
Current Game: Borderlands (PS3)
Yes I have Vista...i'll try running in compatibility mode.
GeneralPloKoon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2009, 07:55 PM   #4
GeneralPloKoon
Just a Time Traveller
 
GeneralPloKoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hogwarts
Posts: 1,532
Current Game: Borderlands (PS3)
Fantastic! It works fine now, everything is ten times better, completely forgot about Compatibility mode!
GeneralPloKoon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2009, 09:21 AM   #5
jedimike2234
Rookie
 
jedimike2234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lost in the Rain forest on Yavin 4
Posts: 144
Im glad you got it to work through compability mode,that usually does the trick with most games.
jedimike2234 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 12:36 PM   #6
diggygames
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedimike2234 View Post
whats the version of widows your using?I have vista and with outcast i have to run it in compability mode because the same problem you mention happened to me.i play it on now on compability mode i have no problems.i do have to mention i never got your message the brightness would go to the extreme and if i tried to change it, it would not stay the way i wanted it.
you have to try to narrow the problem down first,whats your specs and your 3d card?do you have the latest drivers for it and do you have outcast patched to version 1.04?
I was having the same problem, this did the trick, thanks for posting the solution


My games site.
diggygames is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2009, 10:31 PM   #7
BloodCry
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
open console (using shift + `) then type in console
r_gamma 1.6

the highest is 2 from memory and im sure 1 is normal i use either 4 or 6
hope that helps
BloodCry is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Brightness problems.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.