lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: [KOTOR 1] Bizarre error message on startup... game does not load
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-15-2008, 03:55 PM   #1
Pripyat
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
[KOTOR 1] Bizarre error message on startup... game does not load

Hello mates. I just recently found my old KOTOR 1 disks and reinstalled it. With version 1.0, the game did not load... it would display the Ebon Hawk splash screen, which would then disappear and the game would not load further.

I went to the Updater and updated the game to the current version. Now I see this very strange message after the Ebon Hawk splash:



(If the image doesn't display: http://img201.imageshack.us/my.php?image=boxiesdg2.png )
(If that doesn't work, it looks like random letters and boxes.)

I'm not sure what to make of this. I don't run any mods nor have I tweaked anything, so I'm puzzled as to why it's doing this.

System specs:

Windows XP Professional SP3 with all current updates.
nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS with Forceware 175.16
Dual core Intel 3.2GHZ Pentium D processor
Pripyat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2008, 02:15 AM   #2
Chevron 7 locke
Peace and Sanity
 
Chevron 7 locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,362
Current Game: The Old Republic
Roleplayer Forum Veteran 
That looks familiar somehow...i think i had this error and i fixed it by dusting off the disk and reinstalling the game. my error could have been a different error though, it was a long time ago
Chevron 7 locke is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2008, 04:52 PM   #3
tetlow_63
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
I am getting this exact same problem - does anyone have any idea what the problem is?

I have downloaded the latest patch, am running XP and have more than compatible hardware.

Thanks!
tetlow_63 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-07-2009, 03:08 PM   #4
ineedroms
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
BUMP.

Sorry to bump an old thread, but I have the same issue as the OP. I'm used to play KOTOR on my laptop. It ran great. A reinstall many months later and I can't get past the splash screen without the same garbled error box popping up as posted by the OP. I took a look a the stickies and didn't see much I could do...I've tried the game patched and unpatched, the HD has been defragged... later tonight I'll try a registry cleaning...fingers crossed.

Before that, anyone experience (and solve) the same problem?

Thanks in advance.

EDIT #1: Ran CCleaner and the only KOTOR reference I could find in the registry was a missing start menu link; presumably the first uninstall was pretty clean, with no broken bits left over, and I'm out of ideas.

EDIT #2: Scratch the first edit. After a registry cleanup SWKotOR runs again. Phew.... Good luck to everyone else.

Last edited by ineedroms; 09-07-2009 at 10:10 PM.
ineedroms is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > [KOTOR 1] Bizarre error message on startup... game does not load

Tags
boxes, error message, kotor 1, load

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.