lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KotOR II: TSL Problem
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-13-2009, 12:26 PM   #1
Galen Ambrose
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
KotOR II: TSL Problem

Hi there folks, first time poster. I was given both Knights of the Old Republic games for my birthday a few weeks ago, and have recently purchased a new computer in no small part so I would be able to run them. I've recently completed the first game without a single problem, and loved every minute of it. I'm now ready to move on to the second game, but am having a problem getting it to play beyond the opening video. I can create my character just fine, the opening text crawl plays just fine, and then I get an error message saying the program has stopped working. I've looked through the other threads regarding the problem and haven't found a solution.

Here are my computer's specifications... the scan says Windows XP, but I'm actually using Vista Home Premium, 64bit. I don't know why the scan is saying XP.

EDIT: Looks like my very first post after weeks of lurking is a total bust... -_- I've managed to find a work-around for it, and it's now working just fine. I'm really sorry if anyone's wasted their time reading my pointless thread. Move along folks, nothing to see. >_>

Last edited by Galen Ambrose; 09-13-2009 at 12:43 PM.
Galen Ambrose is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2009, 04:55 PM   #2
Galen Ambrose
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Okay, I've tried for several days now to try to either find or work out a fix for this new problem, and so far I've found nothing.

Several of the objects and droids in the game which should, from screenshots I've seen on Google, be reflective are appearing as transparent instead. I've seen one or two mentions of the problem on other forums, but never any replies beyond the likes of "wtf???" and "that dun mayk sens". I'm hoping you folks are a bit more clever than that. ;D

Here are my system specs, which I deleted from my first post because I didn't think they were needed anymore... Again, the scan says I'm running XP, but I'm actually on 64bit Vista Home Premium.

Quote:
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=16/09/2009 4:52:37 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.10.427
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=None
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2194
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=7
CPUStepping=10
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 900 @ 2.20GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=2944
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=119.82GB
D: (NTFS), UNICODE=8.58GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=E:\
Drives=TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633C,TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633C ATA Device

[Video]
Video Card Name=
Video Memory=2048
Desktop Resolution=1440x900x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=1.5.0 - Build 7.15.10.1502
OpenGL Vendor=Intel
OpenGL Renderer=Intel Cantiga
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=0
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=60
Voiceover Volume=100
Sound Effects Volume=70
Movie Volume=85
Number 3D Voices=32
Number 2D Voices=32
2D3D Bias=1.00
Force Software=1
EAX=0
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0

[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=1
Anisotropy=2
Frame Buffer=0
Anti Aliasing=0
Texture Quality=2
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=0
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
RefreshRate=60
Height=600
Width=800
AllowWindowedMode=1
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=0

[Game Options]
UnlockedPlanetSongs=3
Enable Tooltips=1
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
TextureVariation=1
BodyVariation=0
AppearanceType=104
PCGender=1
GameCompleted=0
CurSithLord=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Hide Unequippable=1
Tutorial Popups=0
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=44
Difficulty Level=1
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Reverse Ingame YAxis=0
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=8
Action284A=7
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=54
Action281A=51
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action268=52
Action265=58
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=62
Action213=104
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

[Autopause Options]
End Of Combat Round=0
Mine Sighted=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie10=0
Movie 9=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 0=12
Galen Ambrose is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2009, 07:34 PM   #3
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Thank you for posting your specs.

You have Intel graphics? You're lucky that the game runs at all.

Did you notice the Vista thread at the top of the Work Bench main page? There are a lot of fixes in there, and you should perform every one of them to get the game to run properly.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2009, 08:55 PM   #4
Galen Ambrose
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Yes, my laptop uses Intel for graphics... is that a problem in some way? o_O

I did notice the Vista thread, and have done everything it suggested - though I'd have to uninstall and re-install to do the XP-SP2 compatibility thing, which would be a major pain...
Galen Ambrose is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2009, 10:07 PM   #5
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galen Ambrose View Post
Yes, my laptop uses Intel for graphics... is that a problem in some way? o_O
Given that the games were written with Nvidia and ATI cards in mind and that Intel GPUs are not supported as well as being woefully underpowered, yeah.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galen Ambrose
I did notice the Vista thread, and have done everything it suggested - though I'd have to uninstall and re-install to do the XP-SP2 compatibility thing, which would be a major pain...
Yeah, it will be, but I'm afraid that you're just going to have to do it. Vista does not play nice with these games. You'll also need to update DirectX, get the SecuROM fix, and do the Dantooine lag fix .ini hack, which, according to your posted specs, you have not done yet.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > KotOR II: TSL Problem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.