lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Skinning - how to get started?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-09-2006, 03:24 PM   #1
Arc9
Rookie
 
Arc9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 202
Question Skinning - how to get started?

How do i skin?



Rise and fall:civilizations at war fan.
Arc9 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2006, 05:25 PM   #2
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,319
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Since there weren't any special skinning tools released for Republic Commando (just a map editor).. that is, no official ones.... I would imagine you'd have to do it the same way as any in Unreal Tournament based game. So I'd do a lookup on those kinds of tools (planetunreal.com perhaps? maybe some people can suggest some better editing sites) and go from there. I haven't skinned for this game, but I'm sure it's possible, as you're just replacing textures.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2007, 06:53 AM   #3
t65flyer
Lurker
 
t65flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
This seemed to be the best place to put my skin related babblings. I believe the route to replacing textures was mentioned on another thread, but I'll post my version b/c I'm bored

The file path:
Go into C drive >> Program Files >> LucasArts >> Republic Commando >> System
Open UnrealEd

A window with several tabs should pop up (if it doesn't there are some buttons at the top of the window -- click on the one that looks like a pretty picture and it'll take you where you want to go).
Click on the textures tab. There are two drop down menus. Click the top one.
Select "clone textures." Click the bottom drop down. Select "clone textures" from that menu as well. This will bring up your commandos (Boss and some other unseen commandos are in there).

Next step:
Backup the original files. Right click on a skin (for example, "texture clonecommando62") and select "export to file..." from the pop-up menu. Choose a destination and add .bmp to the file name (otherwise it won't show up).

How to skin:
Included in the texture package is a plain white commando skin. Export the skin (same as above), open up your favorite image editor (Adobe, GIMP, Paint Shop Pro, etc. -- I use Paint Shop Pro), and go to town.
Here's a handy dandy reference I made for telling which part was which: commando parts
Also use the original skins for reference... that's what I did

Importing the skin:
Click File >> Import
A window will open. Make sure the "package" and "group" both read "clone textures." In "name" type in the name of the texture you want to replace (if you want to replace Sev's skin type in CloneCommando07). "Compress as:" DXT5. Click OK, repeat as necessary, then save and play the game.

Some of my hard work
The double crest on the tops of the helmets was someone else's waaay cool idea (I forgot who, but I loved it so I used it for my guys), but the rest is me going "that's too light/dark... too much/little... OMG I have to be up in two hours... I hate that color..." you get the idea
Basically, I went with Ninja Turtle colors b/c I didn't like anything else...

my squad
my squad lead skin on Fixer's model
Scorch's model
Fixer's model
Sev's model
And just for fun

I'm going to shut up now

Last edited by t65flyer; 06-29-2007 at 07:35 AM.
t65flyer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2007, 08:53 AM   #4
MachineCult
Vincit Amor Patria
 
MachineCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Disneyland?
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by t65flyer
MachineCult -- I've figured out how to change the skins on the other commandos. I have not figured out how to change the HUD arms texture (38's arms in the HUD); though, I do think that if you turn on 3rd person you can see the skin (never tried it).
The only "player character" I can change is in multiplayer (if you change the skins for the other commandos, they will be available in MP -- HUD arms are plain white).
Thats just what i'm looking for, so if I go into 3rd person then the player model actually looks like 38 and not the cr*ppy blurry white skin.
Also do you know if it would be possible for the HUD to show when in 3rd person?



"For where ever there is a n00b, there is MachineCult to make him cry and cringe."
- Halo_92

MachineCult is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2007, 11:44 PM   #5
t65flyer
Lurker
 
t65flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
I have no idea. I haven't played with 3rd person at all :\
t65flyer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2008, 05:06 PM   #6
memarik
Junior Member
 
memarik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: inside Kyramud-type battleship
Posts: 383
Current Game: Elder Scrolls IV
hey can somebody help me out i would love to have this made:
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=187668
if possible i would love peoples help
especially you t65flyer or MachineCult

EDIT : NO NEED I MADE IT !!!!


Mandalorian Mod Revival -
http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=196617

Team Mandalore -
http://mandaloretheshadow.webs.com/index.htm



"You listen to Cassus Fett, and your son's sons will have nothing to do—because you'll have conquered everything!"
―Cassus Fett to Gormer

Last edited by memarik; 04-09-2008 at 04:44 PM.
memarik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2008, 04:59 PM   #7
Kex
Lurker
 
Kex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
I hate to bring back such an old thread but i have no idea what your talking about T65flyer


excuse me sir, but i believe you have just been sniped
~Kex AKA Quelix
Kex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2009, 06:51 PM   #8
Hooper
Junior Member
 
Hooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 258
hate to bring back an such old tread, but were is the texture tab??
Hooper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2009, 03:18 PM   #9
Patchy
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
just a question, can i play online with the costume skins?
and another question... when i play online, sometimes i see people with a low resolution clone trooper, is this someone with a costunme skin or does he do a little skinhack or something like that
Patchy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2009, 04:21 PM   #10
HockeyGoalie35
The New Leader
 
HockeyGoalie35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 553
Current Game: DJ Starscream
Veteran Modder Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
no you cannot play online with custom skins unless other people have the same skins and ive seen that too.....its a skin hack by the ccp clan




Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyGoalie35 View Post
I wish I had some Combustable Lemons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by =purifier View Post
Granted, but you accidently get blown up with that lemony smell and the
Pine-Sol woman appears out of nowhere and says: "That's the power of Pine-Sol, baby. "
HockeyGoalie35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2009, 06:50 PM   #11
Hooper
Junior Member
 
Hooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 258
if they can make the skin can you too?
Hooper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2009, 02:49 PM   #12
cc Bakura
Rookie
 
cc Bakura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
yea to get the white low-res white skin press ` and type in this EXACTLY:set engine.playercontroller cloneskin -1
cc Bakura is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2009, 06:22 PM   #13
M@RS
The New Tax Collector
 
M@RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Thailand
Posts: 1,899
I know this is an old skin... But, I'm having trouble opening Unrealed... I'm running Vista, and figured that was the main problem. Am I right?


Looks like a fruit cake to me. - Brutus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
I don't want to get my hopes up, but it's like the planets are aligning or something.
M@RS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2009, 07:40 PM   #14
Gamma097
Rookie
 
Gamma097's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by M@RS View Post
I know this is an old skin... But, I'm having trouble opening Unrealed... I'm running Vista, and figured that was the main problem. Am I right?
Probably not. Unreal Editor works just fine and I'm running Vista. I guess I might add that I have everything on High or Highest except for bumpmapping, which is at Low.



Join Carbonite Modders | Carbonite Modders Site | ARC Trooper Mod Updates
If you would like to voice a character in the ARC Trooper Mod, please send me a private message, and I'll see what I can do.
If you have any Mandalorian songs like Vode An, Rage of the Shadow Warriors, or Gra'tua Cuun on your MP3 or computer, paste this to your signature.

Last edited by Gamma097; 10-05-2009 at 08:38 AM.
Gamma097 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2009, 07:55 PM   #15
cc Bakura
Rookie
 
cc Bakura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
My vista crashes too,but just set bumbmapping in the options to low and it should work


cc Bakura is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2009, 11:18 PM   #16
Crustmonger
Rookie
 
Crustmonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Red Sea
Posts: 16
Current Game: TSL/BF1
Omg t65flyer, your awesome for taking the time to explain this. Now i can start RC skinning


:: What kind of name is that?
Crustmonger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > RepublicCommando.Net > General Discussion > Design Schematics > Skinning - how to get started?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.