lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: New Detention Center Screenshots
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-21-2009, 11:10 PM   #1
DarkStarMojo
Junior Member
 
DarkStarMojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rockin' in the Free World
Posts: 366
New Detention Center Screenshots

Just a heads up, new detention center screenshots are up in the main gallery on the mod website.

I'll be prepping for a job (hopefully something in game design or comics) in the next few months so I'm not sure how things will progress after the next build of the mod. But I'm shooting for the next release to be late this year (Xmas) or early next year (New Years). It will include the new version of detention center and Ramses Hed, among other updates and improvements.


Dark Forces Mod, Part 2
Project lead, lead mapper
http://www.darkforces.jediknight.net
http://dfmod.blogspot.com
DarkStarMojo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2009, 05:29 AM   #2
LogicDeLuxe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 215
Looks great!
I just played it yesterday, and this map felt the most incomplete in the demo.

Will those code cards be implemented in this version?

Will the elevator puzzle be implemented properly? I found it a bit disappointing that
spoiler:
all you needed was the key and you could just jump into the shaft without setting up the elevators before that properly.
I also miss the see-through ceilings in the elevators, which was a nice hint on the shaft.

Why is the bugs thread closed? Don't you like essential feedback?
LogicDeLuxe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2009, 04:37 PM   #3
DarkStarMojo
Junior Member
 
DarkStarMojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rockin' in the Free World
Posts: 366
I attempted to implement the elevator puzzle in the original version but the team decided to remove it. I won't say whether it will be in this version or not (mostly because I'm not sure how effectively we can pull it off in JKA).

I'm not a moderator so I have no control over what threads get locked/re-opened. I should probably contact Darth Linux about that or an LFN administrator.

Thanks for the feedback!


Dark Forces Mod, Part 2
Project lead, lead mapper
http://www.darkforces.jediknight.net
http://dfmod.blogspot.com
DarkStarMojo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2009, 05:19 PM   #4
Zerimar Nyliram
Senior Member
 
Zerimar Nyliram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA
Posts: 1,448
Forum Veteran 
Lookin' sweet, DSM! I think I've told you once before, but the level design you guys have done on this project look even better than what Raven did with the game's levels. I never feel like I'm playing a Quake III engine game when I play this mod. It feels like a game from a slightly newer generation, like Doom 3 (which I suppose is fitting since the original Dark Forces was inspired by the original Doom).

So will Madine's liberation be more interactive in the rewrite of the level? Will it have a proper cutscene with someone playing the voices of Kyle and Crix?

Looking forward to the Christmas demo! Keep up the excellent work!


Quote:
Originally Posted by a silly noob View Post
YOURS VERY SLOW ! PLS NEW PROGRESSS PLS NEW UPDATES PLS DARK FORCES FİNAL VERSİON İ CAN WAİTİNG KOTF PART 1 RELEASED 5 YEAR AND İTS 1 MAN ( OSMAN GUNYAZ DEVELOPERS ) BUT YOURS VERY PEOPLE İ CANT WAİTİNG 5 YEARS
Zerimar Nyliram is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2009, 07:22 PM   #5
LogicDeLuxe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStarMojo View Post
I'm not a moderator so I have no control over what threads get locked/re-opened. I should probably contact Darth Linux about that or an LFN administrator.

Thanks for the feedback!
I'll just post the bugs I encountered and overall feedback right here then.

Bugs:
secbase:
- The circular elevator platforms are mostly black when looked at from the bottom.
sewers:
- Clipping errors when looking down the various falls.
gromas:
- I don't know if I missed something, but I got stuck, as I mentioned in the other thread. Even after noclipping everywhere, I couldn't figure out what's wrong.
dtention:
- mission text is overlapping the buttons, and the scroll bar is inoperable.
- in the mountain area at the beginning, there are a few strange holes between the wall and the floor in some spots, you can see the sky through.
- I could get stuck by jumping behind some crates near the cell.
- The final lift can be operated to go back down, but not up again, so you're stuck.
- Right after jumping across the elevator shafts, at the crusher, you can see through the wall when jumped onto it (not before death is unavoidable, though).
In all levels:
- Those floating black spheres look distorted during their attack. And they'll continue hurting even after you destroyed them.
- Some movie sequences show interlacing artifacts. They really should be rendered progressive, as this is a PC game and no console port for TV sets. Also, the movies seem distorted, ie. planets are heavily squeezed. (I'm running the game in a 4:3 resolution with square pixels.)
- You can select other text language than English, but the buttons have no text then.
- Some switches don't work when standing right in front of it. But when I take a step back, they do.

And here is some general feedback about what I think:
What I like:
- The added detail gives the maps a lot. Talay really feels big and like a real city now. The generator is much more believable in this version.
- Some puzzles are altered in a clever way, making it even more worth playing this after the original Dark Forces. The water part in Testbase is a nice example of this.
- Bodies don't throw security keys away like in other games. Instead, you can actually see them in the body's pocket.
- Newly recorded voice acting. Good performance, good directing.
- Honors the order of mission objectives. (In the original game in Secbase, you could get to the roof and pick up the plans afterwards, and you're done without getting back to the roof, which makes no sense. You're solution clearly is more logical.)

What I didn't like:
- At the briefing in the first cutscene, the characters seem to stand ridiculously far away from each other. I'd say, it wouldn't hurt to move them a bit closer together.
- No current in Sewers. No fluid at all in the tube back to the center switch room.
- In Testbase, it seems strange that the Moldy Crow picks you up at a different site. (Was this the case in the original game? I don't remember, but it feels odd.)
- Dtention is my favorite map of the original Dark Forces, since it has some really clever puzzles in it. I just wrote what I think about it.

And about the missing features, I think you're well aware of them. But just in case I missed something: Headlights and batteries for it, player name, grenade throwing animation, automap, supershield, mine jumping. The latter, I could well live without it, but speedrunners would miss it.

And interestingly, you included some very incomplete versions of some later maps in the 6 level demo.

In any case, I'd like to see this mod fixed and finished one day.
Keep up the great work.
LogicDeLuxe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2009, 11:26 AM   #6
TheMysteriousStrange
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
Quote:
Those floating black spheres look distorted during their attack. And they'll continue hurting even after you destroyed them.
They're called interrogators, and what you call a bug is actually a game mechanic - they inject a poison that causes hallucinations and slowly kills you...
TheMysteriousStrange is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2009, 11:39 AM   #7
Omeganian
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMysteriousStrange View Post
They're called interrogators, and what you call a bug is actually a game mechanic - they inject a poison that causes hallucinations and slowly kills you...
And it is that way in Outcast (can't remember if I saw them in JA).
Omeganian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2009, 11:56 AM   #8
TheMysteriousStrange
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
I believe they are in vjun2 or vjun3.
TheMysteriousStrange is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2009, 01:00 PM   #9
LogicDeLuxe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMysteriousStrange View Post
They're called interrogators, and what you call a bug is actually a game mechanic - they inject a poison that causes hallucinations and slowly kills you...
I didn't know. In that case, never mind. I didn't play Outcast nor the original Jedi Academy missions yet. I just purchased the collection from Steam a few days ago.
LogicDeLuxe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2009, 07:12 PM   #10
hhunter6
Rookie
 
hhunter6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 225
looks really good DSM! very nice indeed
hhunter6 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2009, 09:53 PM   #11
setlec
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 88
have you considerate to use another game engine instead of full conversion? There is a FOSS game engine called Xreal which is based on idTech 3 (quake 3 engine), you can use the src code and yet compile for many platforms (linux, Mac OSx, OpenSolaris and others). I hope that you guys could make a sand-alone game for at least win, linux and mac os x. Oh yeah just in case all devtools are provided also its respective source code.
setlec is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2009, 10:29 PM   #12
DarkStarMojo
Junior Member
 
DarkStarMojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rockin' in the Free World
Posts: 366
This post would probably have warranted a separate thread for discussion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by setlec View Post
have you considerate to use another game engine instead of full conversion? There is a FOSS game engine called Xreal which is based on idTech 3 (quake 3 engine), you can use the src code and yet compile for many platforms (linux, Mac OSx, OpenSolaris and others). I hope that you guys could make a sand-alone game for at least win, linux and mac os x. Oh yeah just in case all devtools are provided also its respective source code.
I really like the inclusion of HDR in that engine. If it successfully does everything it's supposed to, it should be a relatively powerful engine, especially for an open source project. I don't think it would be worth the time and effort to port everything we've already finished for DFMod and fill in the missing gaps that any port would have due to a lack of JA assets (legally, we couldn't port licensed games to the engine) but I wouldn't be above using the engine for an original game property.


Dark Forces Mod, Part 2
Project lead, lead mapper
http://www.darkforces.jediknight.net
http://dfmod.blogspot.com
DarkStarMojo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Dark Forces Mod > New Detention Center Screenshots

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.