lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Join folding@home with TeamLFN !
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-02-2009, 06:44 PM   #41
A_Dead_Jedi
Rookie
 
A_Dead_Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florence, Oregon
Posts: 37
Folder extraordinaire 
Well, I seem to blow through WU's anyway, so it's no real loss if it doesn't upload.


Hail to the best year in kotor modding!

My TSL Stuff:TSL Windows Vista Fix (Hey, you can click on it! )
A_Dead_Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2009, 06:56 PM   #42
Char Ell
Force Enlightened
 
Char Ell's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,367
Current Game: The Old Republic
LFN Staff Member Folder extraordinaire Forum Veteran 
It's a loss if your rig processes the WU but you don't get credited for it because you couldn't upload it within the required timeframe. IMHO that sucks!

In the past couple of months that I've been doing GPU folding there have been times where the servers stopped handing out new WU's or wouldn't accept WU's for a while so it's not entirely unexpected to run into server side issues with this project. I can't remember a time though when a problem wasn't resolved in time for my completed WU's to be uploaded before they expired.


Want to battle against cancer and other chronic diseases? Join Team LFN!


Char Ell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2009, 01:16 PM   #43
John Galt
Junior Member
 
John Galt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Galt's Gulch
Posts: 474
just set up the cpu- and gpu- based folding applications on my desktop. The only issue that I've run into is that the display function on the gpu app always locks up my machine.





Wer mit Ungeheuern kämpft, mag zusehn, dass er nicht dabei zum Ungeheuer wird. Und wenn du lange in einen Abgrund blickst, blickt der Abgrund auch in dich hinein. -Friedrich Nietzsche, Jenseits von Gut und Böse
John Galt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2009, 09:26 AM   #44
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Galt View Post
The only issue that I've run into is that the display function on the gpu app always locks up my machine.
This can happen with certain chipsets.. what GPU are you using? Apart from looking pretty the gpu client actually diminishes folding performance, so isnt good or anything more than a few seconds of showing it off

welcome to f@h

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2009, 01:32 PM   #45
Char Ell
Force Enlightened
 
Char Ell's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,367
Current Game: The Old Republic
LFN Staff Member Folder extraordinaire Forum Veteran 
Yes, welcome to our team, John Galt. It's great to have you aboard.

And I've never used the GPU client's display function as I always understood it to be problematic. I'm good enough with using FahMon to observe what my GPU client is doing.


Want to battle against cancer and other chronic diseases? Join Team LFN!


Char Ell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2009, 11:18 PM   #46
Muklin
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: England
Posts: 3
Current Game: Kotor, Batman
Folder extraordinaire 
I Dont no if its working properly.....but hey i joined :P


I7 920 | 6gb RAM | 3x NVIDIA GTX 280
Muklin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2009, 02:24 PM   #47
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muklin View Post
I Dont no if its working properly.....but hey i joined :P
welcome to the team Muklin

What client are you running, CPU or the graphics card client ?

feel free to visit the folding@teamLFN social group miniforum for more folding specific dicsussion

http://www.lucasforums.com/group.php...0#gmessage1330

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2009, 03:53 PM   #48
Muklin
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: England
Posts: 3
Current Game: Kotor, Batman
Folder extraordinaire 
Was running the CPU one. But changed to the GPU shortly after. Tried to set up that FahMon but i've got no idea with it haha.


I7 920 | 6gb RAM | 3x NVIDIA GTX 280
Muklin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2009, 04:36 PM   #49
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muklin View Post
Was running the CPU one. But changed to the GPU shortly after. Tried to set up that FahMon but i've got no idea with it haha.
Yep, youve appeared on our stats page so you have the clients set correctly 11 WUs already!!

The Standford Uni stats are available from right clicking your system tray icon>status>teams stats or HERE>
http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...teamnum=140370

kakaostats keeps some more detailed stats
http://kakaostats.com/t.php?t=140370

Fahmon can be downloaded with an installer or as a zip which runs from wherever you extract it. Once you start it, first click 'download new projects' so it can update its list of what projects are being distributed.

all you need to do is "add client" >>
>under "name" you can call it what you like - most name it after their graphics card, or you could call it "Betsy"
>under location> press the browse button and find your f@h folder >> in most cases its in : C>program files>folding@home>folding@home-gpu

once you select this folder, fahmonshould start doing its job

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2009, 10:58 PM   #50
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
well, i tried to get F@H going on my new computer, but the GPU client doesn't recognize my Radeon 5850.

oh well, i'll at least get things going with the CPU client.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2009, 07:12 PM   #51
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingerhs View Post
well, i tried to get F@H going on my new computer, but the GPU client doesn't recognize my Radeon 5850.

oh well, i'll at least get things going with the CPU client.
Welcome to teamLFN stinger The 5xxx series isnt supported in the official client yet - you can get some improved performance by using the force ati flag on the shortcut. Otherwise, there will be the GPU3 client, due early next year if Stanford get it out as planned.

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat

Last edited by Astrotoy7; 11-14-2009 at 07:20 PM.
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2009, 08:46 PM   #52
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
ok, so now i got the client to at least run, but now it won't download the files it needs.

granted, the CPU client works fine, but i'd much rather use the muscle of that new 5850.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2009, 02:17 PM   #53
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
can you post what it says in the log... Also which version of the gpu client are you using btw ?

you can get to the log by R.click the icon in the system tray>status>log or finding it in the username>appdata>roaming folder (which are usually hidden)

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2009, 10:35 PM   #54
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
curious, it seems that i don't have log file...

i am using the latest version straight from Stanford's F@H site.

gonna try running it as an administrator and see if that helps.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2010, 10:41 AM   #55
Liverandbacon
I'm only worth a piano?
 
Liverandbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 651
Forum Veteran LF Jester Folder extraordinaire 
F@H had been happy chugging along through the night, until yesterday morning, when I found that my computer had BSOD'd sometime during the night, and restarted. I thought it was just a fluke, but it happened again this morning. I have no clue what would cause this. I doubt it was heat, since the hottest my GPU gets during an entire day of folding is about 64', which is a pretty safe temp.

Anyone have any ideas about what could cause this?



--Too Dumb to Quit--
Liverandbacon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2010, 09:51 PM   #56
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liverandbacon View Post
F@H had been happy chugging along through the night, until yesterday morning, when I found that my computer had BSOD'd sometime during the night, and restarted. I thought it was just a fluke, but it happened again this morning. I have no clue what would cause this. I doubt it was heat, since the hottest my GPU gets during an entire day of folding is about 64', which is a pretty safe temp.

Anyone have any ideas about what could cause this?
Did you catch the error message in the BSOD..... if not what does windows log say happenned??

What card/drivers are you using ??

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2010, 08:00 PM   #57
Liverandbacon
I'm only worth a piano?
 
Liverandbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 651
Forum Veteran LF Jester Folder extraordinaire 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrotoy7 View Post
Did you catch the error message in the BSOD..... if not what does windows log say happenned??

What card/drivers are you using ??

mtfbwya
I'm using a GTX 260 with 196.21 drivers. Unfortunately this only seems to happen when I leave the program overnight, not during the day, so I miss the BSOD. The only reason I know it's a BSOD is because the error message told me it was. I'll try to copy-paste the windows log next time I get the issue.

Although my home didn't lose power, there was a storm a couple of days ago that left most of my town w/o power, and many have only regained it now. Perhaps the town's been trying to fix the power during the night, when most won't notice it being cut off, though that normally would just shut my pc off, not BSOD it and have it auto-restart. However, if I don't get the issue again, that might be the explanation.

On a positive note, I'm only about 6 or 7 days into folding, and I'm already at 95 WUs. The GPU client really is something. (I'd hook up my 2nd GPU too, but the FAQ seems to imply that you need a 2nd monitor, which I don't have.)



--Too Dumb to Quit--
Liverandbacon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2010, 08:39 AM   #58
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liverandbacon View Post
On a positive note, I'm only about 6 or 7 days into folding, and I'm already at 95 WUs. The GPU client really is something. (I'd hook up my 2nd GPU too, but the FAQ seems to imply that you need a 2nd monitor, which I don't have.)
The electrical explanation is definitely a very plausible one. My friend cant run a pc at his house without it needing to be plugged into a UPS at all times.

As for the second GPU - a second monitor isn't required - you can use a dummy plug - all this requires is a DVI>VGA adapter, which comes with most GPUs and 3x 68ohm resistors - which cost about a buck. >> more info and pics HERE

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat

Last edited by Astrotoy7; 03-18-2010 at 08:45 AM.
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2010, 09:13 AM   #59
Liverandbacon
I'm only worth a piano?
 
Liverandbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 651
Forum Veteran LF Jester Folder extraordinaire 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrotoy7 View Post
The electrical explanation is definitely a very plausible one. My friend cant run a pc at his house without it needing to be plugged into a UPS at all times.

As for the second GPU - a second monitor isn't required - you can use a dummy plug - all this requires is a DVI>VGA adapter, which comes with most GPUs and 3x 68ohm resistors - which cost about a buck. >> more info and pics HERE

mtfbwya
I think it might have been the electricity, since it ran through the night just fine last night, and the power problems in my town have been fixed. If it's not, it could just be that my PC can't go 24/7, but perhaps only a 24/6 "and on the 7th day he rested" schedule. However, I think the power explanation is more likely.

As for a dummy plug, I'll look around my workbench area to see if I have any extra resistors lying around, though I think I used most of them in a project. If so, next time I head around my nearest electronic parts store, which, sadly, isn't especially close by, I'll pick some up.



--Too Dumb to Quit--
Liverandbacon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2010, 07:29 PM   #60
Liverandbacon
I'm only worth a piano?
 
Liverandbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 651
Forum Veteran LF Jester Folder extraordinaire 
It appears that the BSOD had nothing to do with power problems, as those have been sorted out for a while, and it happened last night. It is getting far warmer than last week, but my temps are comfortably under 70 during the hottest part of the day, so nights really shouldn't be an issue. Even more bizarre is that this only seems to happen when I'm not at my computer, and only at night. I may have to reserve F@H for the time when I'm awake from now on, however since I go to sleep late, and wake up pretty early, that shouldn't be too big an issue.

Edit: Sorry for the double post. Didn't notice that I was the last person to post in the thread.



--Too Dumb to Quit--
Liverandbacon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-21-2010, 07:40 AM   #61
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liverandbacon View Post
It appears that the BSOD had nothing to do with power problems, as those have been sorted out for a while, and it happened last night.
You shouldnt rule it out so quickly. There could be power fluctuations at your mains that whilst tolerable by most equipment, really irritate pcs, which need to suck juice at a steady rate - especially when a high end GPU is in there powering away at an intensive computational task like F@H.

This is why UPS devices exist Have a read of this for some more info, and keep an eye on it.

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2010, 06:45 AM   #62
Nick Vader
Junior Member
 
Nick Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right behind you !
Posts: 301
Current Game: Dead Rising 2
I joined, but what do I have to do in order to help ?

EDIT: I would be proud to be part of such a project.

Last edited by Nick Vader; 05-13-2010 at 07:01 AM.
Nick Vader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2010, 07:53 AM   #63
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Vader View Post
I joined, but what do I have to do in order to help ?

EDIT: I would be proud to be part of such a project.
Welcome to teamLFN Nick!! All you need to do to is outlined in the first post of this thread - to get your points to contribute to team LFNs total is as simple as entering your user name and our team number(140370)

Also, feel free to pop in on the team LFN social group to say howdy. It's pretty quiet as far as social groups go, so wont consume your life like farmville

That social group thread contain instructions on how to get your teamLFN counter sigs (point at sig!)

happy folding And remember, once you accomplish 50 work units, you will get awarded the very ravishing and rare teamLFN badge.

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2010, 08:25 AM   #64
Nick Vader
Junior Member
 
Nick Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right behind you !
Posts: 301
Current Game: Dead Rising 2
thanks for the speedy reply!


Nick Vader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2010, 12:53 PM   #65
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
no probs Nick, it's what I get paid the big bucks for

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2010, 09:56 AM   #66
Nick Vader
Junior Member
 
Nick Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right behind you !
Posts: 301
Current Game: Dead Rising 2
I got my 1st WorkingUnit!!! Here, have a look:

Quote:
Slot 01
Project: 2611 (Run 1, Clone 914, Gen 171), Core: 78
Work server: 171.64.65.65:8080
Collection server: 171.67.108.25
Download date: May 13 10:43:57
Finished date: May 15 07:36:08
But, why don't I appear as a member of the team on folding@home ???


Nick Vader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2010, 10:05 AM   #67
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Vader View Post
I got my 1st WorkingUnit!!! Here, have a look:

But, why don't I appear as a member of the team on folding@home ???
Sweet!

Make sure you enter the Team ID in your client: 140370

If you have.. the F@H site is slow to update. You can check here for quicker results: http://kakaostats.com/t.php?t=140370 or F@H's "Fast stats" page: http://fah-web.stanford.edu/teamstats/team140370.html


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2010, 10:18 AM   #68
Nick Vader
Junior Member
 
Nick Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right behind you !
Posts: 301
Current Game: Dead Rising 2
Thanks ChAinZ! I do appear in the 2nd one!


Nick Vader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2010, 12:38 PM   #69
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Congrats on the inaugural WU Nick

You also now appear on the official slower loading team stats page. 49 more and the magical teamLFN badge will be your prize!!

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2010, 12:58 PM   #70
Nick Vader
Junior Member
 
Nick Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right behind you !
Posts: 301
Current Game: Dead Rising 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrotoy7 View Post
Congrats on the inaugural WU Nick

You also now appear on the official slower loading team stats page. 49 more and the magical teamLFN badge will be your prize!!

mtfbwya
Thanks alot!

Hey, I also noticed that in your sig you also have personal stats. How ?


EDIT: 7 WUs !!!



Last edited by Nick Vader; 05-22-2010 at 05:54 AM.
Nick Vader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2010, 02:05 PM   #71
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,464
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
Since my new rig is an HTPC, and will be on more than it is off, I am going to look into this. Found it through your sig, Astrotoy... there's lots of stuff in there!

I will peruse the social group and figure out what I need to do!
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2010, 12:53 PM   #72
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
welcome to teamLFN glen

Make sure you also see the first post of this thread for full setup instructions

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2010, 04:17 PM   #73
Nick Vader
Junior Member
 
Nick Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right behind you !
Posts: 301
Current Game: Dead Rising 2
Here comes another one!. So far 8 WUs!!!

Welcome to the team qui gon glen


Nick Vader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2010, 09:56 PM   #74
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
The GPU V3 Open Beta has arrived!!

nb. Only for nvidia atm

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2010, 06:51 AM   #75
Nick Vader
Junior Member
 
Nick Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right behind you !
Posts: 301
Current Game: Dead Rising 2
damn! My NVIDIA doesn't support that... Anyway, I'll stick to the normal one...


EDIT: Congrats on 9,900 posts! WOW!



Last edited by Nick Vader; 05-26-2010 at 07:01 AM.
Nick Vader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2010, 07:49 AM   #76
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Vader View Post
EDIT: Congrats on 9,900 posts! WOW!
cheers Nick. 100 more posts, and then I'm promised the women and large gold chains

Also, as has been mentioned elsewhere - nvidia now has the 257.15 Beta drivers out. Definitely worth a shot if you have a 480, but not sure about everyone else

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-31-2010, 09:00 AM   #77
Nick Vader
Junior Member
 
Nick Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right behind you !
Posts: 301
Current Game: Dead Rising 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrotoy7 View Post
cheers Nick. 100 more posts, and then I'm promised the women and large gold chains
Damn! I have to start posting more frequently !

Lucky you...


Nick Vader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-17-2010, 10:46 PM   #78
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
A hearty welcome to new folding@teamLFNer ZimmMaster! Good to see another GPU client on board!

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-17-2010, 11:04 PM   #79
ZimmMaster
Forumite
 
ZimmMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In a Video Game...
Posts: 670
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Veteran Modder 
It is nice to be here. I am going to run this as often as possible. Quick question though, is there a way to make the app run in the background so it does not freeze my computer for 3 seconds then start doing the next thing. (ex. While Folder is running and I open GIMP computer freezes for a few seconds then catches up, and so on...)


~ I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
ZimmMaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2010, 09:23 AM   #80
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZimmMaster View Post
It is nice to be here. I am going to run this as often as possible. Quick question though, is there a way to make the app run in the background so it does not freeze my computer for 3 seconds then start doing the next thing. (ex. While Folder is running and I open GIMP computer freezes for a few seconds then catches up, and so on...)
As far as folding goes. I ONLY do it when my computer is idle. If I need to use the comp for any reason, then I switch it off.

However, I keep my comps on 24/7 so this may not apply to you or others.

I believe there is a setting in F@H where you can set the priority of folding where it won't use as many (or any) cycles if you are doing something else however. At work, so I can't look at my settings to say for sure


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > Join folding@home with TeamLFN !

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:12 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.