lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Grim Fandango: Special Edition
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-26-2010, 09:15 AM   #1
ThunderPeel2001
Lovebucket
 
ThunderPeel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,768
Grim Fandango: Special Edition

Since everyone has started a thread to do with the game they love the most, I thought I'd start one for the one I'd love to see: Grim Fandango!

As many of you might be aware, it's very hard, if not impossible, to play Grim Fandango with modern graphics card and hardware rendering. That's one very annoying thing... But even if it did work, the game's backgrounds, art direction, music, voice acting are all FANTASTIC --





but the 3D models are really basic.

I'd love an SE that: Ran properly on modern machines, had higher quality videos, and had beautiful 3d models. (And also made sure that Dominic's lines were spoken at the right moment at the end of the game!)
Attached Images
 

ThunderPeel2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2010, 09:20 AM   #2
ThunderPeel2001
Lovebucket
 
ThunderPeel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,768
Also, I know the top image is a screenshot, but not from my machine -- wah. Also, also, this is an awesome costume.


ThunderPeel2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2010, 01:04 PM   #3
Aububuh
Rookie
 
Aububuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 182
I would love to see a Grim Fandango special edition, but mostly in hope that there would be a Mac version as my PC is so slow it can't run anything from later than 2004 without being slow to the point of unplayability.

On a slightly more random note, here's me in costume.


Aububuh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2010, 02:16 PM   #4
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
You got my so excited by the title like there was some announcement! If only...

This is my all-time favorite game, and even with patches, installers, etc., I've never been able to play it on my new machine...I'm holding out hope that this game will be re-released in the future..



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2010, 02:58 PM   #5
Snugglecakes
Junior Member
 
Snugglecakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 352
Current Game: Mata Hari
I doubt they'd revisit this as a special edition, but just a new executable ala Sam & Max would be great.
Snugglecakes is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2010, 06:01 PM   #6
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
If it ever got a SE, I think I'd to see Telltale hired to remake it in true 3D using their engine.
jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2010, 07:04 AM   #7
Huz
Coconut in the lime
 
Huz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Space City
Posts: 1,060
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp-30 View Post
If it ever got a SE, I think I'd to see Telltale hired to remake it in true 3D using their engine.
That would be amazing! Just thinking of the atmosphere of Rubacava in real 3D is giving me goosebumps.

It's a shame the ScummVM "Residual" engine doesn't seem to be going anywhere. I had a look at it about a year ago and the progress to date was very impressive, but you weren't able to play through the game.


"I once ate a teabag" - Thrik
The Huz Experience
Huz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2010, 01:30 PM   #8
ThunderPeel2001
Lovebucket
 
ThunderPeel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,768
Awesome costume! Love the hands!

Oh for something Grim Fandango. I want to play thought it again, but I want the experience to be perfect... One day.

ThunderPeel2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-27-2010, 01:45 PM   #9
Aububuh
Rookie
 
Aububuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderPeel2001 View Post
Awesome costume! Love the hands!
Thanks! You can't tell from the crappy picture, but the mouth can move.

Aububuh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2010, 05:56 AM   #10
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,202
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Yeah I'd love to see this. I mean I'd be perfectly happy if it were just given a fidelity makeover (higher-resolution models and art, higher-quality audio, compatibility with modern machines, a bit of lighting improvement, etc).


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2010, 10:46 AM   #11
SyntheticGerbil
Pasta Master
 
SyntheticGerbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Underwater
Posts: 2,242
Yeah, I think this game could be remade pretty well with the Telltale engine now that you guys mention it.

I'm all for a Grim Fandango remake if it's just higher poly models for both characters and backgrounds as well as just higher resolution all around. I don't even need the backgrounds to change from prerendered to fancy moving camera a la Telltale, but that would be nice.

I would not be up for any sort of reinterpretation of the art style or characters at all though.
SyntheticGerbil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2010, 09:54 AM   #12
wannabe_pirate
Rookie
 
wannabe_pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
While a remake would be nice, I would happily settle for a 9.99 steam download. My discs are getting a little tattered from 10+ years of constant use, and it gets harder and harder to get the graphics/sound to work right every year.

Maybe they could package it with the old soundtrack? I never got a copy of it and I always wanted one, but I seem to remember them going for hundreds of dollars on ebay
wannabe_pirate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2010, 10:31 AM   #13
Snugglecakes
Junior Member
 
Snugglecakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 352
Current Game: Mata Hari
Quote:
Originally Posted by wannabe_pirate View Post
but I seem to remember them going for hundreds of dollars on ebay
Really? Mmm... I have a copy
Snugglecakes is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2010, 01:27 PM   #14
SyntheticGerbil
Pasta Master
 
SyntheticGerbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Underwater
Posts: 2,242
My soundtrack CD is pretty ratty now. It's kind of scratched, as I guess I've listened to it a lot. It came with the game. Sucks it's such a collector's item now. They should have sold it separately or put it in all boxed copies, I think.
SyntheticGerbil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2010, 05:58 PM   #15
ThunderPeel2001
Lovebucket
 
ThunderPeel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,768
Man, talking about this game, and Rubacava in the other thread, has really made me want to get lost in that world again.


ThunderPeel2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2010, 08:03 PM   #16
Snugglecakes
Junior Member
 
Snugglecakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 352
Current Game: Mata Hari
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderPeel2001 View Post
Man, talking about this game, and Rubacava in the other thread, has really made me want to get lost in that world again.
Me too, and one of these days I will, but the controls put me off a hell of a lot, must just force my way through the first part.
Snugglecakes is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2010, 02:16 AM   #17
Longcat
Junior Member
 
Longcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 290
Get a logitech joystick, I recommend the Rumbepad 2. But I really don't have have a problem with the keyboard controls either. Grim Fandango SE would be great!
Longcat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2010, 04:17 PM   #18
ThunderPeel2001
Lovebucket
 
ThunderPeel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,768
The controls never bothered me, but playing it in software mode most definitely does. *sob*

ThunderPeel2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2010, 04:21 PM   #19
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
The controls never bothered me either.

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2010, 05:52 PM   #20
Gabez
Senior Member
 
Gabez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oxford, England
Posts: 3,146
It's odd that I found the controls (mostly) fine in GF, but I had more of a problem with them in EMI. What was the difference? EMI perhaps had more areas that you could bounce off of (like in the LUA bar) and could you run inside in GF? I can't remember but it's a bad idea. Who would run indoors anyway? Surely not Manny.
Gabez is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2010, 06:01 PM   #21
Longcat
Junior Member
 
Longcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 290
Yes,you can run in Grim. Indoors as well
Longcat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2010, 07:40 PM   #22
SyntheticGerbil
Pasta Master
 
SyntheticGerbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Underwater
Posts: 2,242
Yeah I'm fine with the controls and that kind of keyboard control. I've also never understood the complaints.

Like Gabez, I actually had more problems with EMI just because the invisible boundaries were everywhere in that game and hardly ever readily apparent. Grim was pretty clear on where you could and couldn't go I think.

I liked running inside just because I pretended I was some kind of ******* knocking into things on purpose.

Last edited by SyntheticGerbil; 07-01-2010 at 04:32 PM.
SyntheticGerbil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2010, 08:04 PM   #23
Snugglecakes
Junior Member
 
Snugglecakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 352
Current Game: Mata Hari
No football on tv for the first night in almost 3 weeks so I just installed it again (only 2cm of cobwebs). Can't get it to run using hardware 3D at all. What is the visual difference between hardware and software anyway? I can't remember. At least it works, and it's awesome!

EDIT: No... wait... maybe it doesn't work
EDIT: It definitely doesn't work

Last edited by Snugglecakes; 06-30-2010 at 08:10 PM.
Snugglecakes is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2010, 07:17 AM   #24
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,202
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Software just uses your CPU for the graphics, whereas hardware uses your graphics card which theoretically results in smoother textures, anti-aliased (non-jaggy) edges, and better performance. Unfortunately the game has become pretty much entirely incompatible with modern graphics cards.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2010, 04:26 PM   #25
ThunderPeel2001
Lovebucket
 
ThunderPeel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,768
It's a travesty! :'(

The top image (in this thread) is from Hardware mode, I believe. The middle is from a rendered scene. The bottom one is Software rendering. (Quite a difference!)

ThunderPeel2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2010, 04:31 PM   #26
bergqvistjl
Rookie
 
bergqvistjl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 38
I used software rendering and noticed no difference compared to the hardware rendering, Although I was on a small (12") CRT monitor, so pixelation was a lot less.


Currently got (complete in original Big-box format)
  • Maniac Mansion (seperate from DOTT)
  • Battle of Britain: Their Finest Hour (Want to sell, PM me)
  • Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade
  • MI1 VGA
  • MI2
  • Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
  • Sam and Max Hit The Road
  • CMI
  • EMI
  • Grim Fandango
  • Full Throttle
  • The Dig
To Get
  • Zak McKraken
  • DOTT
  • Loom
bergqvistjl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2010, 04:34 PM   #27
SyntheticGerbil
Pasta Master
 
SyntheticGerbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Underwater
Posts: 2,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by bergqvistjl View Post
I used software rendering and noticed no difference compared to the hardware rendering, Although I was on a small (12") CRT monitor, so pixelation was a lot less.
Well definitely the anti-aliasing option from your graphics card for hardware mode makes a difference as easily seen in the screens Thunderpeel pointed out.
SyntheticGerbil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2010, 05:48 PM   #28
Snugglecakes
Junior Member
 
Snugglecakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 352
Current Game: Mata Hari
Yeah it looks kinda bad without anti-aliasing. I can't even get software mode to work though... starts doing weird things with sound and characters. There are some threads here on the subject, will get to them eventually.
Snugglecakes is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2010, 07:53 PM   #29
SyntheticGerbil
Pasta Master
 
SyntheticGerbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Underwater
Posts: 2,242
It might have to do with running it on modern machines. I've never actually played Grim Fandango on Windows XP even (it's been a while since I last beat it), but I can only imagine it would cause weird problems.
SyntheticGerbil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2010, 09:08 AM   #30
Aububuh
Rookie
 
Aububuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 182
I've played it on XP just fine, but that's probably because my PC's hardware is older than dirt.

Aububuh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2010, 09:29 AM   #31
Snugglecakes
Junior Member
 
Snugglecakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 352
Current Game: Mata Hari
I have an ancient 386 which is set up to run all the old SCUMM games. That one is too slow for Grim Fandango, this one is too fast. Typical.

C'mon LucasArts, give us a new release with a new executable! No "remake" necessary, just get it to work!
Snugglecakes is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2010, 10:16 AM   #32
elTee
beatnik
 
elTee's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cheltenham, England
Posts: 2,913
The International House of Mojo Staff LFN Staff Member 
There is a Windows XP executable, I think. It may be different to the original - for the Entertainment Pack re-releases (in Europe circa early 2000s) optional smoothing a la ScummVM was added to The Dig, Sam and Max, and Full Throttle. I'll dig it out after work

(There was also a Hit the Road/Day of the Tentacle double pack released prior to the Entertainment Pack, but I don't have that. That version of DOTT may well have smoothing, too.)


LucasTones - LT - elTee
The International House of Mojo - writing long-winded gibberish increasingly infrequently
elTee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2010, 10:54 AM   #33
Snugglecakes
Junior Member
 
Snugglecakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 352
Current Game: Mata Hari
Quote:
Originally Posted by elTee View Post
There is a Windows XP executable, I think. It may be different to the original - for the Entertainment Pack re-releases (in Europe circa early 2000s) optional smoothing a la ScummVM was added to The Dig, Sam and Max, and Full Throttle. I'll dig it out after work

(There was also a Hit the Road/Day of the Tentacle double pack released prior to the Entertainment Pack, but I don't have that. That version of DOTT may well have smoothing, too.)
Whaaaa? Why don't I know about this... I'm supposed to know everything. I know about the other CD releases yeah, but Grim Fandango, I'd love to have that. And all the information on it for my obsessive LucasArts release table. Which I thought was complete until now!
Snugglecakes is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2010, 11:09 AM   #34
SyntheticGerbil
Pasta Master
 
SyntheticGerbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Underwater
Posts: 2,242
Hmm, I actually don't have the Windows XP executable either, upon checking my Grim files (just have the patch still). I should probably get that file just in case, elTee, so I'd be most grateful as well.

Last edited by SyntheticGerbil; 07-04-2010 at 03:45 PM.
SyntheticGerbil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2010, 11:40 AM   #35
Longcat
Junior Member
 
Longcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 290
I can with 99.9% certainty gurantee that there does not exist an executable for Grim Fandango in english that is updated for modern hardware or software:P
Longcat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2010, 12:09 PM   #36
elTee
beatnik
 
elTee's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cheltenham, England
Posts: 2,913
The International House of Mojo Staff LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longcat View Post
I can with 99.9% certainty gurantee that there does not exist an executable for Grim Fandango in english that is updated for modern hardware or software:P
You're almost certainly correct, the more I think about it. The updates were all to the SCUMM games. But I'll double-check tonight anyway!

Here's some info for those of you who weren't aware of this.


LucasTones - LT - elTee
The International House of Mojo - writing long-winded gibberish increasingly infrequently
elTee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2010, 04:06 PM   #37
ThunderPeel2001
Lovebucket
 
ThunderPeel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,768
I was SO excited for a moment, there, ElTee Ah, well. Come on, LucasArts! (We know you read us! )

ThunderPeel2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-03-2010, 11:55 AM   #38
Ascovel
Rookie
 
Ascovel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 206
All the bugs fixed (including problems with the elusive Domino dialog in Year 3) is the only change I would like to see in an SE. The character models are great as they are.

On a somewhat related note, much more to a SE or a GF2 I'd prefer someone getting out Insecticide Part 2, or a completely new Insecticide game. Part 1 brought me back a lot of fond memories of playing Grim.


A Hardy Developer's Journal - blogging about indie adventure games
Ascovel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-03-2010, 12:12 PM   #39
elTee
beatnik
 
elTee's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cheltenham, England
Posts: 2,913
The International House of Mojo Staff LFN Staff Member 
To confirm, then, the Entertainment Pack version of Grim Fandango is the same as the original release. Sorry for getting anyone's hopes up!


LucasTones - LT - elTee
The International House of Mojo - writing long-winded gibberish increasingly infrequently
elTee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-03-2010, 01:04 PM   #40
Snugglecakes
Junior Member
 
Snugglecakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 352
Current Game: Mata Hari
Quote:
Originally Posted by elTee View Post
To confirm, then, the Entertainment Pack version of Grim Fandango is the same as the original release. Sorry for getting anyone's hopes up!
No worries, we're LucasArts fans, we're used to disappointment
Snugglecakes is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Mixnmojo.com > Mojo Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Grim Fandango: Special Edition

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 PM.


LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.