lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Star Wars - Shadows of the Empire
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-04-2010, 07:50 PM   #161
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Well you know what, that's actually a mistake on my part. Believe it or not i accidentally forgot to do a uvmap on that shape
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-04-2010, 10:35 PM   #162
Zhaboka
Applesauce Tractor
 
Zhaboka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 622
Veteran Modder 
The cylindrical/circular room with the thingy hanging down (so descriptive, I know) is really cool looking! Also, I think you really nailed the bureaucratic look quite well. Can't wait for more!



Thank you Gorgod.
Zhaboka is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-04-2010, 10:50 PM   #163
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Thanks, i appreciate that. The only thing I don't like is that it takes a while to get good looking models made.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2010, 02:19 PM   #164
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,599
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Some sweet stuff you got going on HarIII, looks like you made quiet some progress
Really happy to see your getting great at 3D modelling.

Keep it up! Loved the buildings on the platform very cool shapes! I'm jealous I didn't made that


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2010, 06:10 PM   #165
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Coming from you I'm honored my work is of a similar quality of the areas I know you've made. Now if I can just get the remaining 50 - 60 modules done I'll be good...
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2010, 07:56 PM   #166
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,785
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
Now if I can just get the remaining 50 - 60 modules done I'll be good...
Trust me, it's going to be far easier to reskin or reduce. 50-60 newly modeled modules is realistically not going to happen. If you want to complete this mod, don't be too ambitious, it can destroy a project. Some wise words would be to start with a stand-alone area release, then work your way up.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2010, 09:27 PM   #167
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Advise well taken, as for now I'm working on one planet at a time as far as the area work. Should the time come I'll consider replacing new areas with old ones such as replacing Utapau with Onderon or something.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2010, 12:02 AM   #168
redrob41
Veteran
 
redrob41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 932
Current Game: just modding TSL
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dak Drexl View Post
At the beginning of the tunnel, the first little bit of the texture looks stretched. Nothing major at all, but watch out!
that's a tunnel? I thought it looked like an MRI or CT scanner . Without a character for scale, I guess its easy for viewers to make that kinda mistake.

Looking good though



- Major character artist for the Revenge of Revan mod. -
- List of Completed Mods - Work in Progress Thread - Skinning Tutorial -
redrob41 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2010, 12:17 AM   #169
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
To be honest, I'm not even sure what it is. I just made something that I thought looked pretty cool, so far I'm imagining it as a kind of computer archive area or something, maybe even a testing tunnel.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2010, 08:38 AM   #170
Nick Vader
Junior Member
 
Nick Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right behind you !
Posts: 301
Current Game: Dead Rising 2
Haven't been here in quite a while...

The area looks awesome har! Great work so far, and I can see a beta coming up!!!


Nick Vader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2010, 01:56 PM   #171
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,599
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
To be honest, I'm not even sure what it is. I just made something that I thought looked pretty cool, so far I'm imagining it as a kind of computer archive area or something, maybe even a testing tunnel.
The coolest stuff often gets made that way in an area. I often have empty spots that need somesort of "filler". And of you go with a cube... and 15minutes later you have a odd shape... but, then you think, what the h*ll it supposed to be x-D

The only advice I can give you is to look up some tutorials or info about rendering. Your shots could use some more real lights, then the standard 3D view from 3Ds Max offers. I know I often go overboard with the whole Mental Ray thing in my own shots

But, it'll make things more clear how your area works/ looks, plus rendering is just another awesome part of 3D

You need patience though, it can take up to 5minutes to get a picture; mind that it is one of high quality then, big resolution, antianiliasing stuff and all... a heck getting carried away here

Continue on! Ignore my madness


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2010, 05:19 PM   #172
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
As of now the main thing on my mind is to figure out how to export the d$-n thing. Still can't figure out how to get the walkmesh up.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2010, 05:36 PM   #173
newbiemodder
Gentleman Modder
 
newbiemodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 706
Veteran Modder 
explain your problem with the walkmesh


Who's more foolish, the fool or the fool that follows?

Just exactly what is a head-piece to the Staff of Ra?

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206819

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206541

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...t=newbiemodder
newbiemodder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2010, 08:01 PM   #174
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Well I follow Quannon's tutorial on how to make an area exactly (or at least I think I do, otherwise I wouldn't be having my problems). I go through the process, export, and then open it up with KAurora. My problem occurs when I try to open it, the walkmesh box is red rather than green. I've tried to redo it many times but I've yet to get it right.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2010, 04:52 AM   #175
storm-rider
Rookie
 
storm-rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: In a galaxy far far away
Posts: 107
Current Game: A variety
a truly awesome looking mod, a definate download, how many hours of play will this game give?
storm-rider is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2010, 05:44 AM   #176
LDR
Your Death Angel
 
LDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Malachor V
Posts: 1,139
Current Game: Halo 3
Helpful! Roleplayer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member 
About the size of 3-4 Endar Spires.



Forgive, but never forget. No amount of DLC can take back lying to your fan base. Trust is earned, not downloaded.



My Mods
Current Mod Thread
LDR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2010, 08:20 AM   #177
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,599
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
Well I follow Quannon's tutorial on how to make an area exactly (or at least I think I do, otherwise I wouldn't be having my problems). I go through the process, export, and then open it up with KAurora. My problem occurs when I try to open it, the walkmesh box is red rather than green. I've tried to redo it many times but I've yet to get it right.
One of my video tutorial or a written one?

I'm not sure what I said or written about walkmeshes... They seem to be one of the more harder parts to do right, when people start to do their own areas.

God, I should really redo those tutorials. asap. x-D


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2010, 10:18 AM   #178
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
storm-rider - What LordDeathRay said about the Endar Spire may be what will come out in the Beta version. That actual mod will be around the same amount of game play as you see in TSL or more.

Quannon - The one I followed is a video tutorial, it's part of a series of tutorials you made (roughly 13 videos I think). Is that the one I should follow or do you have a different one that would be better to use.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2010, 01:23 PM   #179
christos200
Rookie
 
christos200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 225
Current Game: battlefront 2
Contest winner - Modding 
what? tsl is almost 34 hours gameplay. this mod will have more gameplay?
christos200 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2010, 02:48 PM   #180
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,599
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
Quannon - The one I followed is a video tutorial, it's part of a series of tutorials you made (roughly 13 videos I think). Is that the one I should follow or do you have a different one that would be better to use.
Mmm, at this point the videos are the best tutorials I have online. Though it seems Part13 has a broken link to it. Infact I need to re-upload that bit. But I can't find it anywhere on my PC

But, to anwser your question: My way of making areas has changed over time, more experience by doing and stuff... it's that I need to redo those videos.

I think I could do better to explain it all, give better and more indepth information about, well everything involved with area modelling.

These old videos are good enough if you got a small area, once you go to say regular or big sizes, then... well then it won't work aswell :-S

I'll shall do my best to create some new vids up.


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2010, 03:35 PM   #181
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
christos200 - We intend to make the main plots have multiple possibilities during a play through. For example for Taris in KOTOR. You will go from the apartments to escaping the planet. Option A maybe working with the gangs in the lower city, option B could be infiltrating the Sith, and Option C might be joining the exchange. You will start out at the apartments, take on of 3 paths, and then escape Taris. This means that you can play through the game three times and each time it will be different.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2010, 05:29 AM   #182
christos200
Rookie
 
christos200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 225
Current Game: battlefront 2
Contest winner - Modding 
i have a question. in tsl if you were dark side you get the wookie bounty hunter and if you are light side you get mira. is there going to be something like that in this mod?
christos200 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2010, 05:45 PM   #183
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
kind of, one companion, a droid, you can actually choose which one to purchase, and another, a kind of semi-apprentice, will be selected by gender.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2010, 07:19 PM   #184
darthdan11
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
kind of, one companion, a droid, you can actually choose which one to purchase, and another, a kind of semi-apprentice, will be selected by gender.
Kind of like in K1 where you can choose to buy HK-47 and in K2 when you either get handmadian or deciple?
darthdan11 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2010, 08:24 PM   #185
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,078
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthdan11 View Post
Kind of like in K1 where you can choose to buy HK-47 and in K2 when you either get handmadian or deciple?
Actually, you get to choose your droid companion out of three that are available for purchase. They will have different skill sets and abilities. Pretty cool if you ask me, it makes the experience more personal.

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2010, 12:52 AM   #186
Slstoev
Rookie
 
Slstoev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Forest...
Posts: 220
Current Game: TF2, Minecraft
Too bad R2-D2 isn't part of those 3 droids.


I am back.
Slstoev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2010, 08:53 AM   #187
salam263
Rookie
 
salam263's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Current Game: kotor, tsl
so how are things going with this project?

Moderator note [11-24-2010 01:31 AM]

Salam this kind of post is spam here. You have done quite a few lately. Any further ones and you risk more official warnings/infractions. No more ok? Ask this via PM's. Thanks.


Last edited by RedHawke; 11-24-2010 at 01:31 AM.
salam263 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2010, 09:37 AM   #188
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
The project is still alive and kicking. Right now I'm focused on fixing some old bugs that were recently brought to my attention, so far the Tantive IV is complete (it is still being tested). Now I'm going to run through the Devastator and fix everything in there.

Just throwing it out there, it has been decided that we are adding... (breath)... the planet Ansion along with two new companions. The setting will be a small city located out in the middle of a huge plain and the time of day will be sunset
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2010, 11:23 AM   #189
bead-v
Rookie
 
bead-v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 47
That sounds awesome.
bead-v is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2010, 11:28 AM   #190
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Got a quick question for the community. As everyone probably knows each Jedi class has a special Force Power such as Force Camouflage or Pain Resistance (think that's the name). How would the community feel if the pc had access to every ability not through a simple level up but by performing tasks or completing training which will open your mind to these powers?
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2010, 11:47 AM   #191
Darth Crados
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
Got a quick question for the community. As everyone probably knows each Jedi class has a special Force Power such as Force Camouflage or Pain Resistance (think that's the name). How would the community feel if the pc had access to every ability not through a simple level up but by performing tasks or completing training which will open your mind to these powers?
I think that's a great idea. The training part also fits well with the SW universe feeling.
It sounds very nice to me
Darth Crados is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2010, 02:01 PM   #192
Slstoev
Rookie
 
Slstoev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Forest...
Posts: 220
Current Game: TF2, Minecraft
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
Got a quick question for the community. As everyone probably knows each Jedi class has a special Force Power such as Force Camouflage or Pain Resistance (think that's the name). How would the community feel if the pc had access to every ability not through a simple level up but by performing tasks or completing training which will open your mind to these powers?
This is an awesome idea indeed. Now my Jedi Master/or whatever (since you start out as a bad guy doing his job) can go haywire on all the enemies.
Can you also add the force jump attack for the training so I can melee rush my enemies?


I am back.
Slstoev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2010, 02:33 PM   #193
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Essentially I can, but it will all be obtained probably through training experiences. Though I do think that your alignment will play a role in what powers you do get. Such as a Jedi class will have all the powers of the Force Sensitive and Jedi classes and a Sith might have all the powers of the Force Sensitive and Sith classes.

This may change however on how they are obtained and what can be obtained but essentially every power will be accessible.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2010, 03:08 PM   #194
salam263
Rookie
 
salam263's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Current Game: kotor, tsl
That's GREAT!
salam263 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2010, 08:41 PM   #195
Zhaboka
Applesauce Tractor
 
Zhaboka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 622
Veteran Modder 
Awesome idea, go for it! Expanding Prestige-class powers is always a good thing...

How do my VOs sounds, by the way?



Thank you Gorgod.
Zhaboka is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2010, 09:17 PM   #196
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,078
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
Just throwing it out there, it has been decided that we are adding... (breath)... the planet Ansion along with two new companions. The setting will be a small city located out in the middle of a huge plain and the time of day will be sunset
Just to whet your appetites for screenshots, here are a few quick pics of one area of Ansion. Khoonda, which is an Imperial base, and the plains. You can also see the new sunset skybox...


Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2010, 10:51 PM   #197
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
The VOs are excellent Zhaboka, top notch.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2010, 03:00 PM   #198
Zhaboka
Applesauce Tractor
 
Zhaboka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 622
Veteran Modder 
Woah, that reskin is awesome, Dak! Sublimely simple and pretty.

Thanks, HarIII, they were fun to do.



Thank you Gorgod.
Zhaboka is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2010, 07:17 PM   #199
redrob41
Veteran
 
redrob41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 932
Current Game: just modding TSL
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dak Drexl View Post
Just to whet your appetites for screenshots, here are a few quick pics of one area of Ansion. Khoonda, which is an Imperial base, and the plains. You can also see the new sunset skybox...

The sun seems kinda high in the sky for a sunset. The colours are quite nice though - they look calm, not angy.

The reason why our sky turns red, is because at a low angle, the beams of light are passing through more of the atmosphere. This means that more particles of matter (pollution) in the atmo are blocking the light beams, so only the longer wavelengths (red end of spectrum) get through. The same effect can happen at any time of the day, depending on the level of pollution in the area. Smoggy cities, or smoke from forest fires can also cause this.

In a Star Warsy planet, perhaps this planet just naturally has more floating debris in the air?

This concludes my psuedo science lesson for the day



- Major character artist for the Revenge of Revan mod. -
- List of Completed Mods - Work in Progress Thread - Skinning Tutorial -
redrob41 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2010, 10:03 AM   #200
Nick Vader
Junior Member
 
Nick Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right behind you !
Posts: 301
Current Game: Dead Rising 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
Got a quick question for the community. As everyone probably knows each Jedi class has a special Force Power such as Force Camouflage or Pain Resistance (think that's the name). How would the community feel if the pc had access to every ability not through a simple level up but by performing tasks or completing training which will open your mind to these powers?
I think that's probably the most innovative idea around force powers I've ever heard or could think of !


Nick Vader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Star Wars - Shadows of the Empire

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.