lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Transparent Texture Fix mod request
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-17-2011, 06:00 PM   #1
1up2down
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Transparent Texture Fix mod request

Hi,

So due to my graphics card(Intel Graphic Accelerator HD) my computer is unable to run KOTOR:TSL without causing some of the textures to appear transparent(Blasters, Doors, Droids, Vibroblade blades).

From what I can this occurs because the graphics card doesn't process the alpha channels correctly, so shiney objects appear transparent. Some possible fixes I've found are either:

Quote:
First, download kotor tool. Next, go through all the textures that have code that turns into a .txi file and extract them.(note- it is important that you highlight the code and click write file). Next open photoshop (or gimp) and change the alpha channels so that it is completely white (or maybe dark it has been a while since I did this).
Save as and copy to your override folder. It shouldn't be transparent any more.
or

Quote:
Easiest option, just open the .tga go "save as" and uncheck the alpha channel setting so you save the file without the alpha channel. The alpha channels, are in the seperate "channel" setting in Photoshop, you could try just deleting the alpha channel completely and seeing if that worked.
I've looked into trying this myself, but being the completely clueless person I am I haven't really been able to figure it out.

So I was wondering, if possible, if anyone would be able to make a mod that does one of the above fixes?
1up2down is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2011, 06:43 AM   #2
jonathan7
Exiled Jedi...
 
jonathan7's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ivory Tower
Posts: 3,676
Contest winner - Modding LFN Staff Member Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1up2down View Post
So I was wondering, if possible, if anyone would be able to make a mod that does one of the above fixes?
I'm not sure I would hold your breath on this being made, it's a rather large task though simple as my above explanation is not hard, (I'll elaborate should you, or anyone want to attempt it)...

"Easiest option, just open the .tga go "save as" and uncheck the alpha channel setting so you save the file without the alpha channel. The alpha channels, are in the seperate "channel" setting in Photoshop, you could try just deleting the alpha channel completely and seeing if that worked."

Removing the alpha channel is the simplest and easiest way to achieve what you want. All you need to do is find the texture which your having an alpha channel issue with in KotOR Tool, in KotOR Tool go to "ERFs", open the "Texture Packs" tree and then open the "swpc_tex_tpa.etf" (that's the highest resolution textures). The textures are grouped in something resembling alphabetical order (for example all the player charachter textures are under "P"). Then extract and save the problem textures as a .tga.

Then open those textures when saved with a programme like http://www.gimp.org/ - it's a free photo editing suite, all you then need to do is remove the alpha channels. Fairly simple.



"Love is the only reality and it is not a mere sentiment. It is the ultimate truth that lies at the heart of creation." - Rabindranath Tagore

"Many a doctrine is like a window pane. We see truth through it but it divides us from truth." - Kahlil Gibran
jonathan7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-18-2011, 04:22 PM   #3
1up2down
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Jonathan, thanks for a more detailed explanation.

I've manged to find and change a lot of the files so they look like they should.

I'm thinking of just doing all the files myself and then uploading all the edited .tga files for others to download if they had the same issues as me.

Thanks again for you help!

Last edited by 1up2down; 04-18-2011 at 05:13 PM.
1up2down is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > Transparent Texture Fix mod request

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.