lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Goddamn Thunderstorm Corrupted My Windows Install
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-20-2011, 12:34 PM   #1
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Goddamn Thunderstorm Corrupted My Windows Install

Sadly time for my periodic "need computer help, copy and paste thread from Guru3D into LucasForums" thread. Any and all help appreciated! Here's the thread I made at Guru3D regarding this:

Quote:
Hey guys, so the one time I decided not to turn off my desktop during a thunderstorm, my screen went black and I had to manually restart. Upon restart, it did the whole system repair thing. Three times, all met with failure.

I tried system restore, some "sfc" thing in the command prompt, the Windows 7 installation disk (ended up with the same repair options), and a memory integrity test (no problems). All of these things just resulted in the system repair thing being loaded every time, with the now-familiar message of something like "Windows was unable to fix the problems preventing your system from booting" and asks me to send an error report.

The error details reveals that one system file is corrupt, which is preventing an OS load. Not even system restore is working here.

I'd love some input. I have files I'd like to get off the HDD, and I was planning on using some Linux distro on a USB key to copy the needed files onto it before doing a fresh install. Which distro should I use, and how should I go about doing this?

Also, is it even necessary to do this whole distro thing? Is there any way to repair this Windows installation that any of you are familiar with? Doing a fresh install is possible, but I'd REALLY rather restore the installation I had, since I have games (and their save files), programs, and system settings all setup in the way I want them. Not to mention, I'll have to re-download a crapton of games via Steam and Impulse, and go home to get the retail copies of my non-digitally-distributed games.

Any and all help would be much, much appreciated.

- PR-0927
- PR-0927




- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2011, 01:11 PM   #2
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,806
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
Firstly, I would try booting the PC with a different power supply installed and see if the error messages change/go away. Also, try getting into the advanced boot options in the bios and selecting "Last Known Good Configuration".

Secondly, download this and use the file transfer wizard to grab your files.

Or, just throw your drive into another computer and grab them that way.

Or just do the windows 7 reinstall but don't reformat the drive; just have it install to a partition. It should ask you if you want to save all of your files to a windows.old folder.
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2011, 04:48 PM   #3
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
OP, it sounds like you could use an uninterruptible power supply. Even a cheap standby unit should prevent stuff like this from happening. You can find decent ones on sale for $50.00.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2011, 07:26 PM   #4
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
I don't have another power supply available to me, but I somehow doubt that is the problem, because it's a fairly decent one (Antec TPQ-850), and because in the "system repair" details, it listed the cause of the not-being-able-to-boot as one problem: "CorruptFile."

Rhett, I tried the "Last Known Good Configuration" last night, to no avail, sadly.

Would you recommend re-formatting if I can plug my HDD into a friend's SATA-to-USB dock and copy important files to a different location? Are there disadvantages to going about the "Windows.old" route?

Does it seem pretty much out of the question that I will not be able to restore my previous Windows installation?

Also, on the Guru3D thread here, one guy theorized that the HDD is bad. But if it was able to do the whole "system repair" thing on its own (no Windows 7 install disc), isn't this unlikely?

I appreciate the help guys - thanks so much for replying!

- PR-0927




- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2011, 09:02 PM   #5
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
An uninterruptible power supply (UPS) is, essentially, a cross between a surge suppressor and a battery backup that automatically supplies emergency power to your PC when power company service is interrupted. It prevents your PC from unexpectedly powering off and corrupting your data by providing enough battery power to enable you to save your work and properly shut down your PC.

Everyone should have one of these.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2011, 10:24 PM   #6
edlib
Close to the Edge
 
edlib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Boston, MA., USA
Posts: 9,389
Current Game: DiRT 3; Forza 4
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
This happened to me once while upgrading to XP.

After spending about 10 hours on the phone with a Microsoft help person, I eventually got the old OS working just enough to backup irreplaceable files, then did a format and install.

Saving your files on another drive may be your only option. When an OS install goes bad, your options get pretty limited.


Native XWA.Netter (Nutter?)
edlib is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2011, 04:14 PM   #7
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Thanks for the input guys, I appreciate it.

I ended up downloading Ubuntu and installed it to a DVD. I ran it off the disc, copied important files to my USB key, and then wiped the hard drive. Upon reinstalling Windows, everything worked fine, and a diagnostic I did showed my HDD as healthy.

I'll look into the UPS stuff, thanks!

- PR-0927




- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > Goddamn Thunderstorm Corrupted My Windows Install

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.