lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Editing Items Using KotOR Tool - Tutorial
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-20-2006, 08:33 PM   #41
SReedy85
Rookie
 
SReedy85's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 24
I can't seem to use my edited item in the game i followed all the steps on the above tutorial ?? the code seems like it works when i type the giveitem but it doesn't show up
SReedy85 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-20-2006, 10:08 PM   #42
EnderWiggin
Sine Amore Nihil Est Vita
 
EnderWiggin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,395
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Check in your inventory. Do you get a grenade with no description? This is refered to as a null nade and usually for me means there is a problem with filenames.
1. Is the item's file in your override folder?
2. Did you change both the Tag and the item's Resref?
3. Did you try to make a new item, or change an existing one?
4. Did you save the file like the Resref and Tag?

_EW_



Hello, Pot? This is Kettle. You're black. ~ Prime

Yes, I hate you.

J7 - thanks for accepting me as part of the 'family.'
EnderWiggin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-31-2006, 02:04 PM   #43
SReedy85
Rookie
 
SReedy85's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 24
problem solved
SReedy85 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2009, 07:46 PM   #44
Iluwen
Lurker
 
Iluwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Problem overwriting original items

I am trying to overwrite original game items, rather than add custom items, but having no success.

I used KT, added the properties I wanted (I added Damage Reduction, Damage Resistance, or both, to all the armor and robes in the game) and saved each .uti file with the original tag, so that it would overwrite the standard version.

I placed all of the files in the override folder. However, in-game, all items have only their unedited properties. Any idea what I might be doing wrong?
Iluwen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2009, 08:07 PM   #45
ForeverNight
nrgurt researcher
 
ForeverNight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,204
Current Game: q2
Start a new game and see what happens. If the item is in your inventory at the save and you simply load the save then there's going to be no changes. I can't remember why, but that's the way it is.

So, start a new game and try out whatever you were trying and report back.


ForeverNight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-31-2009, 01:25 AM   #46
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Or use KSE to remove the old items/ add the new ones.

Per ForeverNight's post, the game won't override .utis you already have. So you'll have to either do it "manually" or start a new game.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-31-2009, 09:01 AM   #47
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForeverNight View Post
I can't remember why, but that's the way it is.
When you load pick up an item it loads into your save game... like when you enter an area for the first time it sets everything in your save game.

So any item changes you have to spawn/get a new copy of the item, you can even keep the old one if you wish, or just dump it in a convenient placeable somewhere or sell it.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-31-2009, 09:07 AM   #48
ForeverNight
nrgurt researcher
 
ForeverNight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,204
Current Game: q2
Ah, thank you RedHawke, knew it was something like that but couldn't remember.


ForeverNight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2009, 07:37 AM   #49
Kayal
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Hi there,

I have one maybe simple question:

I tried to modify some items. Works perfectly but name and description of the items are not displayed in game. Can someone tell me why?

Is it because I play the german version?
Kayal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2009, 08:34 AM   #50
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,514
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
That could be one reason, what field did you put it in?




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2010, 01:09 PM   #51
JawaOverlord
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
I need help I use to play this and use kotor tool on my xp but I have windows 7 and I can save the edited mod fine but it doesn't show in game like I type in giveitem g_w_blstrcrbn229 and it doesn't give me my weapon...
JawaOverlord is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2011, 08:22 PM   #52
Leandro36
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Okay this is ticking me off, I just started this today though okay hears what I do, Double click on a property I want to edit, (It`s on the left side), This one is Blaster Bolt deflection it`s on +5 and I try to add it to +30 (why? Because im using shems enhace mod and this saber is beyond weak) And nothing happens! Help me please
Leandro36 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2011, 08:30 PM   #53
Leandro36
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Nevermind new problem IT WONT SAVE
Leandro36 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2011, 10:15 PM   #54
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,467
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
^^ What OS?

KotOR Tool does not work well, if at all, in Windows 7 IIUC.

If you are on an XP machine, try this - uninstall KotOR Tool and then re-install it. Takes about 5 minutes if you properly restart your machine after uninstalling, then take the time to run cCleaner or at least Disk Cleanup, restart again, install KTool.

If that fails, you will need to take some screenshots to better "describe" your issues. KotOR Tool is quite reliable despite its age - but it likes to play best in old OS.


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2011, 11:48 PM   #55
Darth Orailius
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
I've been having a tidbit of trouble getting my item once its been edited and saved to the override folder. when i try to use the cheat "giveitem blablabla" it just doesent show up. i've checked spelling and what not. i still cant seem to bring it in. help would be wonderful. Btw fantastic tutorial, im just a half wit.
Darth Orailius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2011, 11:49 PM   #56
Darth Orailius
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro36 View Post
Nevermind new problem IT WONT SAVE
move your override folder to your desktop, save it there then move it back to the SwKotOR folder where it originally was.
Darth Orailius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2011, 11:54 PM   #57
Darth Orailius
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
how did you fix it?
Darth Orailius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Editing Items Using KotOR Tool - Tutorial

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:02 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.