lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KotOR I Widescreen, 1280 x 800 Help
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-18-2011, 06:07 PM   #1
RenegadeSniper7
Rookie
 
RenegadeSniper7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 52
KotOR I Widescreen, 1280 x 800 Help

Posted this in the Holowan Labs section yesterday, but didn't get a response. Still looking for help.

So, as most of you probably know, KotOR doesn't run in widescreen unless you use this patch to mod the .exe.

But any patches below 1440 x 900 cause the game to freeze/crash, as stated here:

Quote:
If KOTOR is run at standard widescreen resolutions below 1440x900 it will either crash, or dialog text will be missing (preventing the player from responding to conversations and rendering the game unplayable). For users of 720p HDTVs or 1360x768 displays, I suggest setting up a custom resolution of 1530x864 (the closest resolution that runs ok) and using video card scaling to downscale this to your native resolution. You would then patch KOTOR to use 1530x864 based on the instructions above, not 1360x768. Files have been provided for this resolution. For 1280x800 users, the same solution of setting up a custom resolution and downscaling will work; 1440x900 would be an appropriate choice in that case.
and since my monitor runs at a lowly 1280 x 800, I'm supposed to follow the above instructions and patch to 1440 x 900 and use the appropriate HUD files.

I'm able to get the game to run, but I'm unable to get it to downscale to 1280 x 800. I've checked the settings in NVIDIA Control Panel and have tried both aspect ratio and full-screen scaling with "override the scaling mode set by games and programs" turned on, but still I cannot get the game to downscale, and so part of the game is always cut off.

If any knows concrete steps to get the game to run in 1280 x 800, I'd love to hear them. I've spent over an hour searching for a solution, but nothing works.

Screenshot of how it looks in-game: Link

Notice how off-center the menu is because the game isn't scaled down. Help?
RenegadeSniper7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2011, 07:07 PM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Wow. Haven't seen you since TG's forums went down. Welcome back!

Anyway, try 1281x801 and see if that works. I got that info here.


As for TSL, I've used the patcher discussed in this thread for years, but in your case you can just .ini hack it to 1280x768, which the game supports natively.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker

Last edited by Q; 08-18-2011 at 07:52 PM.
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2011, 08:00 PM   #3
RenegadeSniper7
Rookie
 
RenegadeSniper7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 52
lol Thanks, I never really posted on here but I couldn't find any solution to my problem elsewhere so I figured I'd ask. I actually saw that thread and read it all and tried the 1281 x 801, and it works quite well but the HUD isn't positioned properly. I don't suppose there's a 1281 x 801 HUD for the override? Or maybe I could figure out how to edit the HUD myself...?
RenegadeSniper7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2011, 08:33 PM   #4
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Which HUD file are you using?

EDIT: A little bit of Googling yielded this thread and, more importantly, this file. I'm going to try it out on my laptop and see what happens.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker

Last edited by Q; 08-18-2011 at 08:50 PM.
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2011, 09:34 PM   #5
RenegadeSniper7
Rookie
 
RenegadeSniper7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 52
Damn, that fits perfectly. Thanks again
RenegadeSniper7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2011, 10:57 PM   #6
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
You're welcome. I was just about to post that it worked.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > KotOR I Widescreen, 1280 x 800 Help

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.