lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Removing Party Member problem.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-27-2011, 12:55 PM   #1
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,586
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
Removing Party Member problem.

Hey, I was testing a script to remove a party member. But, when I ran it, the party member was still in my current party but removed from the party member selection screen. Can anyone tell me how to fix my script to make it work?

Code:
void main() {
    object oOB48 = GetObjectByTag("HK47");
RemoveFromParty(oOB48);
RemoveAvailableNPC(5);
}

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2011, 02:09 PM   #2
Fastmaniac
Rookie
 
Fastmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 164
I don't see the problem of the script. I never got it to work for myself. Though a possibility would be to include the ShowPartySelectionGUI function to make sure, the NPC can't be selected.

Fastmaniac
Fastmaniac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2011, 02:42 PM   #3
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,586
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastmaniac View Post
I don't see the problem of the script. I never got it to work for myself. Though a possibility would be to include the ShowPartySelectionGUI function to make sure, the NPC can't be selected.

Fastmaniac
The part that works is that the NPC can't be selected; But, he wasn't removed from my active party.

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2011, 02:45 PM   #4
Fastmaniac
Rookie
 
Fastmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 164
Yeah, but if you force the user to choose a new party, your current party members will leave your current group. That'll be the point of "forcing" the Party Selection Screen
Fastmaniac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2011, 03:19 PM   #5
Snard
Rookie
 
Snard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Pickerington, OH
Posts: 214
Current Game: KotOR II
Fastmaniac, Ferc is saying that when he runs the script, HK is still there physically but he isnt in the party selection screen.

Snard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2011, 03:39 PM   #6
Canaan Sadow
Junior Member
 
Canaan Sadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Endor
Posts: 366
Current Game: Pokemon & K2
Try this script with the altered values and such, if need be and obviously replace the template resref lol this script is a sure fire for me ^^

Code:
void main()
{
   RemoveAvailableNPC(5);
   AddAvailableNPCByTemplate(5, "p_decklan");
   DelayCommand(1.5,ShowPartySelectionGUI());
}
Canaan Sadow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2011, 03:54 PM   #7
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,586
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kael'thas Solo View Post
Try this script with the altered values and such, if need be and obviously replace the template resref lol this script is a sure fire for me ^^

Code:
void main()
{
   RemoveAvailableNPC(5);
   AddAvailableNPCByTemplate(5, "p_decklan");
   DelayCommand(1.5,ShowPartySelectionGUI());
}
Well, it's a custom party member that I'm trying to remove after the player finishes a dialog at the end of a module. So, the adding a new npc function isn't what i'm looking for.

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2011, 03:55 PM   #8
Fastmaniac
Rookie
 
Fastmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 164
@ Darth Snard: I got that. The problem is, that he hasn't been erased by the script. I just suggested, that if he chose a COMPLETE NEW GROUP from the party selection screen it would ERASE the existing HK-47 NPC from the current party.

Edit: Forgot to ask this: Did you set the NPC-Tag to "HK47"? Then you would be able to recruit it, but it won't be found if the Tag is different.
Fastmaniac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2011, 05:41 PM   #9
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,586
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastmaniac View Post
@ Darth Snard: I got that. The problem is, that he hasn't been erased by the script. I just suggested, that if he chose a COMPLETE NEW GROUP from the party selection screen it would ERASE the existing HK-47 NPC from the current party.

Edit: Forgot to ask this: Did you set the NPC-Tag to "HK47"? Then you would be able to recruit it, but it won't be found if the Tag is different.
well, i had chosen another npc in the party selection screen; but, the custom party member was still in the current party. and, yes, the npc tag is set to "HK47". (which is how i recruited the party member in the first place) it's just removing him from the party that my problem lies.

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2011, 06:15 PM   #10
Fastmaniac
Rookie
 
Fastmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 164
ok... So that's weird... Because recruiting members by Tag isn't possible I think...

Try adding this script to the last line of the conversation:

Code:
void main() 
{
ActionPauseConversation();
object oGoodbye;
RemoveFromParty(oGoodbye);
RemoveAvailableNPC(5);
oGoodbye = GetObjectByTag("HK47");
SetGlobalFadeOut(1.0, 0.5);    
DelayCommand(6.0, DestroyObject(oGoodbye));
DelayCommand(7.0,SetGlobalFadeIn(0.7,0.0));
ActionResumeConversation();
}
Fastmaniac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2011, 07:38 PM   #11
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,586
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastmaniac View Post
ok... So that's weird... Because recruiting members by Tag isn't possible I think...

Try adding this script to the last line of the conversation:

Code:
void main() 
{
ActionPauseConversation();
object oGoodbye;
RemoveFromParty(oGoodbye);
RemoveAvailableNPC(5);
oGoodbye = GetObjectByTag("HK47");
SetGlobalFadeOut(1.0, 0.5);    
DelayCommand(6.0, DestroyObject(oGoodbye));
DelayCommand(7.0,SetGlobalFadeIn(0.7,0.0));
ActionResumeConversation();
}
Firstly, as far as I understood you need to use the old party member's tag to successfully recruit a new party member. Secondly, I just tried that script & the droid is still in my active party but unselectable on the selection screen.

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2011, 08:36 PM   #12
Canaan Sadow
Junior Member
 
Canaan Sadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Endor
Posts: 366
Current Game: Pokemon & K2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferc Kast View Post
Well, it's a custom party member that I'm trying to remove after the player finishes a dialog at the end of a module. So, the adding a new npc function isn't what i'm looking for.
You can use it to re-replace the custom character.
Canaan Sadow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Removing Party Member problem.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:45 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.