lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: TSL: ATI driver issues and Dantooine Lag Fix
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-16-2006, 12:02 AM   #81
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
^^^^
Frame Buffer Effects are supported for the Radeon 9500 series and higher.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2006, 12:29 AM   #82
Reclaimer
Loves Keira Knightley.
 
Reclaimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ...
Posts: 1,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reclaimer
I use OpenGL, but the download for the 4.11 doesn't work. What should I do?
...


philla は陰茎のハハのwat の名前をであるそのlmfao のゲイの名前吸う
Reclaimer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2006, 03:33 PM   #83
whthehck
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingerhs
^^^^
Frame Buffer Effects are supported for the Radeon 9500 series and higher.
The 9200 supposedly supports frame buffer, too.
http://www.ati.com/products/radeon92.../features.html
whthehck is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2006, 02:10 PM   #84
T.Nova
Rookie
 
T.Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CT, United States
Posts: 87
I don't know if anyone still checks this thread, but I'm having a rather frustrating issue with my drivers. Well my last video card burned out on me (Radeon 9700 Pro), so I had to put back in an older Radeon 9200. I know it's an older video card, but both KotOR and TSL seem to "recommend" a 9200 or higher.

Anyhow the game barely gets past 8 FPS on the main menu, and in-game the frame rate can be downright annoying. So when I looked around the net (Lucasarts, Obsidian, and of course here on Lucasforums), I noticed this problem was common. So I did what seemed to be the best solution, download a previous driver. However I must have gone through this process several times last night because KotOR simply refused to except the drivers for being new. (Check the link for a picture)

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/4...rissuesop8.jpg

I've attempted installing the ATI 6.5 Catalyst, The Omega 6.5 Drivers and ATI 5.9 Catalyst drivers. Each one of the them was rejected for being 'outdated'. And KotOR's frame rate doesn't improve or decrease in game, it stays around the choppy eight frames.

If you notice in the picture I've downloaded the 'driver cleaner'. I've used it to clean out ATI before I installed each new driver. However not even that seems to help. Although of course I'm not exactly sure if I'm using it on the right location.

If anyone could help, it would be greatly appreciated.


My Fan Fiction - Davik Kang : Rise to Power
T.Nova is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2007, 12:12 PM   #85
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
okay, i've updated all the links in the first post mostly due to the ATI/AMD merger and ATI now having a new website.

something i noticed is that the 4.11 Catalyst Drivers are no longer listed in ATI's back-driver page. i tried looking for them at DriverHeaven.net, but the earliest version they have is only 4.12, so that's a no-go as well. anyways, if anybody finds a link to the 4.11 Catalyst Drivers, then let me know by responding here. until then, what was formerly step 3 has been removed.

also, i no longer have an ATI card in my system since i've upgraded from my ol' 9700 Pro to a GeForce 7800 GS. so, if someone could let me know if they'd be interested in testing out a couple of different things for performance reasons, you can also let me know by responding here as well.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2007, 07:06 PM   #86
GoT_MaL(a)k?
Rookie
 
GoT_MaL(a)k?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 17
Hey guys. I'm using a X1550 card, and everything is fine, except one thing, SMOKE! poision, steam etc, when I go near it my game slows wayyyy down. to the point of frustration, beacuse my system has good specs, (dual core, 2GB RAM) etc.

Anyone know how to fix this?

Thanks
GoT_MaL(a)k? is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-30-2007, 08:09 PM   #87
Silmahtar
Lurker
 
Silmahtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Thumbs up

THIS WORKED: http://www.driverheaven.net/modtool/

I followed the instuctions EXACTLY as stated, and bingo: Problems gone.

My system:
Inspiron E1505
4MB Intel Core 2 Duo processor
256MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X1400 w/HyperMemory
Windows Vista Home Basic

If you want details, read on.

I just bought KOTOR and yep, when things went haywire on Dantooine I started trying to get some real answers. The worst was discovering that the game doesn't even support my graphics card (finally read the fine print on the box): Mobile Radeon x1400.

I'm new to this whole which-card-supports-what nonsense and I'm sorry, but I don't have room for a desktop -- I have a brand new laptop. Paid good money for it, too (and for the game) so it better work. Period.

Omega drivers almost messed my laptop up; the "Disable Vertical Buffer Objects=1" tweak didn't work. But the mod to my ATI drivers did work. Outstanding.

A few comments:

1. I completely lost my saved games. Not a huge loss since I was stuck on Dantooine, but still a pain. The save game utility had acted weird before I modded the drivers, too -- games disappeared and reappeared, but that's another topic

2. I noticed *slight* jerkiness with the modded drivers, improved somewhat when I dialed down the graphics.

3. Game crashed during the dream that marks the transition between the Swoop Race/Bastila Rescue and infiltration of the Sith Base. Luckily, I saved my game (I'm constantly saving games.)

4. On a hunch, I reinserted the "Disable Vertical Buffer Objects=1" tweak and was able to get past the dream sequence and get on with the game.

5. Some problems crashing boarding the Ebon Hawk in Tarik's hangar. Also thought I lost my save game here, too, but when I just rebooted and then restarted the game, the save was there and I was able to get on the ship.

That's all I can think of. So far so good. Dantooine's been working like a dream, and even seems to run smoother than Taris. Go figure... I'm just thrilled to get back in the game!

S:.M:.
Silmahtar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-18-2007, 01:30 PM   #88
Starfyre
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
I see that this has been fixed for the ATI vid cards. Does anyone have a solution to the FPS problem on Dantooine for the Nvidia?
Starfyre is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-02-2008, 12:35 AM   #89
vanir
Forumite
 
vanir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: south of Gundagai
Posts: 632
I'm having severe problems with both frame buffer effects and fps around smoke/steam, with an ATI x1600GT.
AMD 64 3200+ MMX 3DNow
1.5G DDR1 (PC3200)
Radeon x1600GT/512DDR2 VRAM/Pixel3.0
Realtek AC97 audio/7.1optical support

It's not a laptop card so I'm hunting for a similar fix to the mobility mod, but does anyone else have experience sorting cards made after the x800 limitation on tsl?
Oh cat/drivers are the latest 8.1/09-2008

Have tried ATI Tray Tools with little effect. Best I can get my fps on the load screen with the smoke is 18, whilst I did manage 240-odd on the next screen that has no smoke. That's a tremendous hit for smoke effects, this game really hates Radeons.

Any ideas?

Last edited by vanir; 11-02-2008 at 04:01 AM.
vanir is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-01-2010, 05:16 PM   #90
Sven_Q45
Forumite
 
Sven_Q45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: near Stuttgart
Posts: 723
Ive an ATI card, too.
I had a hard drive crash! Now Ive a new hard drive on warranty! And now on Dantooine (Khoonda) the graphical building is damn slow. I mean really slow! Like a C64.
Do I have to install the new catalyst driver?

I play it with Frame buffer, smooth shadows, grass, AA @ 8 and AF @ 16! 8) On KOTOR 1 and 2!
The best settings were never a problem. Except now.

Please can anyone help?
Sven_Q45 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-01-2010, 05:46 PM   #91
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Please post your system specs using the game's configuration utility:
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingerhs View Post
Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
  • Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2.
  • Click on "Configure".
  • Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
  • Click "Yes" to continue.
  • Click "Details" to view your system specs.
  • Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
  • Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.
Also, please specify which version of Windows you're using, because the game can't recognize anything newer than XP.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2010, 03:17 PM   #92
Sven_Q45
Forumite
 
Sven_Q45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: near Stuttgart
Posts: 723
Thank you, nevertheless but (just) installing of a new graphics driver and the newest version of the catalyst worked!
Sven_Q45 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-13-2010, 03:55 PM   #93
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I've recently made the discovery that, due to newer drivers, the Dantooine lag fix is now necessary for every installation of the KotOR games, regardless of OS or hardware configuration. This includes DX9 graphics cards.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2010, 05:59 AM   #94
Knight Of Honor
Rookie
 
Knight Of Honor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 62
Question Catalyst update

Im a little green on computers, and im considering to update my catalyst driver, but i want to know what version im currently running before i do anything.

So i need to ask how i can find and identify the current catalyst driver version on my PC. My computer has a Radeon 9600 graphic card. I use
Windows XP Home Edition.

How do i install the new driver? Can i just run the installation without doing anything else, and it will overwrite the older version?


If we are all clones, why am i the only one with a sense of humor?
Knight Of Honor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2011, 03:19 AM   #95
Darth-Talon
Rookie
 
Darth-Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Jedi Enclave
Posts: 10
Current Game: Swkotor2
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...89#post2789889
Wondering if you could help me out a bit? Much appreciated if you could spare some time for me.
Darth-Talon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > TSL: ATI driver issues and Dantooine Lag Fix

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.