lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Is there a fix to consitent crashes that will preserve saves?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-03-2011, 06:41 AM   #1
Scootac
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Is there a fix to consitent crashes that will preserve saves?

I have recently run into the post-Leviathan crashing while playing Kotor 1 and have seen some suggestions that involve compatibility with Windows 7. However, I have been unable to find an option that runs the program in compatibility mode; is there something I am missing and will a fix result in the loss of my current save files?
Scootac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2011, 09:33 PM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Please reinstall the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread.

You can definitely try your old saves after reinstalling, but there's no guarantee that they'll work.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2011, 10:29 PM   #3
Scootac
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
I have followed the instructions up to the service pack 2 compatibility prompt but when I run setup.exe all it does is repeatedly uninstall the program. Am I supposed to run the autorun afterward?
Scootac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2011, 11:56 PM   #4
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I would let setup.exe uninstall the game, download and install CCleaner and run its registry cleaner, then reboot and run setup.exe again to reinstall the game.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 01:29 AM   #5
Scootac
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
CCleaner didn't find any registry issues when I ran it and after rebooting it is still not installing the game. Is there anything else I can try?
Scootac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 03:24 AM   #6
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
You're not able to completely uninstall the game?

Can you run the uninstaller from the Start Menu (Start>All Programs>LucasArts>Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic>Uninstall Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic)?


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 03:48 AM   #7
Scootac
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
I can run it through the start menu, it appears to prompt the same uninstall process. Upon completion, the program is still installed but a new window is opened, Program Compatibility Assistant. According to the help section, I cannot manually adjust the compatibility settings, all I can do is tell it that either: it should run it with recommended settings or that the program is installed correctly.

I attempted to run it with recommended settings and it simply attempted to (unsuccessfully) uninstall the program again. Also, the Assistant is not appearing anymore.
Scootac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 05:02 AM   #8
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Looks like you're going to have to uninstall it manually.

First, go to where your game folder is (default location is C:\Program Files\LucasArts for 32-bit Windows or C:\Program Files (x86)\Lucasarts for 64-bit), delete it and empty the recycle bin.

You're going to have to edit the registry next, so run CCleaner's registry cleaner and backup the registry when it asks you to. If you goof up this next step, all you'll have to do is double-click the backup file to restore the registry back to the way it was.

To get into the registry, go to the Start menu, type "regedit" and click on "regedit.exe" when it appears in the window above. This will open the registry. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>SOFTWARE>BioWare (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>SOFTWARE>Wow6432Node>BioWare for 64-bit Windows), right-click on "SW", select "Delete", hit "OK", then close everything up and reboot.

You should then be able to reinstall the game according to the instructions in the second post of the thread that I linked to above.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 05:37 AM   #9
Scootac
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
I followed the steps above and rebooted and the problem still persists, I checked the BioWare Corp folder in the registry and the SW folder is back again but is empty. Should I revert to the registry back up and try again or is there something else to try?

P.S. I hadn't mentioned it before but thanks for bearing with me, I truly appreciate your patience, help, and prompt replies
Scootac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 05:38 AM   #10
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Do you have any other BioWare Games installed?

If not, you can delete the entire BioWare registry key. Remember that any changes that you make to the registry won't take effect until you reboot.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 06:22 AM   #11
Scootac
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Ok, I have deleted every mention of LucasArts and SW, deleted the BioWare registry key and rebooted and the setup is still stuck trying to uninstall the program.

I also noticed that when I ran the setup.exe, a new BioWare folder appeared in the registry, this folder contains a SW subfolder that contains a folder named 0.00.002, does this mean anything?
Scootac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 06:47 AM   #12
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
This is ridiculous. It should be completely gone.

Try using Revo Uninstaller.

Other than that, the only thing I can think of is doing a system restore using a restore point from before you tried reinstalling the game.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 07:24 PM   #13
Scootac
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Huzzah, Revo has succeeded, setup.exe is finally installing the game! I still have one question though, setup is defaulting to an installation location in C:\Program Files and not C:\Program Files (x86), is this ok or should I put it in x86?
Scootac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 07:32 PM   #14
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
If you're using 64-bit Windows it needs to be installed in Program Files (x86).


GREAT! I'm so glad that something finally got rid of it!


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 08:34 PM   #15
Scootac
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Ok it seems to be running at the very least, no luck on the saved games so I suppose I'll just have to play back to the Leviathan to find out if all is well. Thanks again for the help!
Scootac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2011, 08:56 PM   #16
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I was afraid that your savegames might not be compatible, but I'm glad you got it properly installed. It should run better now.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Is there a fix to consitent crashes that will preserve saves?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:33 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.