Thread: Frenetic Combat
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-15-2011, 11:24 PM   #1
MsFicwriter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 431
Current Game: Arcanum
Roleplayer 
Frenetic Combat

I can hardly catch my breath in between battles, let alone roleplay. Swarms of immediately-aggroing enemies just spawn and spawn! Is this normal, or am I just an old fuddy duddy who should go back to KOTOR's comparatively sluggish fighting speed?
MsFicwriter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2011, 12:10 AM   #2
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,724
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Yeah it's fairly bog standard MMO fare, albeit with several low health trash mobs rather than one or two higher health trash mobs. KOTOR is sluggish because under the skin it is essentially turn-based to accommodate the D&D mechanics, which they forced into real time with pause. This is actual real time, albeit with some gating via channelling and cooldowns for balancing purposes.
DarthParametric is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2011, 01:23 AM   #3
mimartin
TOR ate my KotOR
 
mimartin's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,064
Current Game: TOR/FO:NV
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MsFicwriter View Post
I can hardly catch my breath in between battles, let alone roleplay. Swarms of immediately-aggroing enemies just spawn and spawn! Is this normal, or am I just an old fuddy duddy who should go back to KOTOR's comparatively sluggish fighting speed?
I've been upset at the rather slow rate of respawning. I thought the first time that I was in the beta that respawns were way too fast and broke any chance of immersion. During the stress beta weekend I thought the respawn rate was perfect. Now it seems way too slow. I find now waiting around for the enemy to respawn is just as big a deal breaker as them respawning before you get a chance to loot the bodies. There also seems to be less enemies than were in the beta.
mimartin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2011, 05:48 AM   #4
BongoBob
Good Eye, Sniper
 
BongoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Camper Velourium
Posts: 6,391
Current Game: BC2, FFXIII
The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
I thought the respawn rate was based on the current population of the server/area? I may be wrong of course, but this was what I thought I read somewhere.


BongoBob is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2011, 06:42 AM   #5
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,724
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran Helpful! 
That would be good if was the case. Regardless, expect fairly rapid respawns on the starter and capital worlds to cope with the heavy load. As you progress further it should be a bit more even. Although some interactive quest objects and resource nodes could do with a respawn tweak.

As far as mobs themselves go, the last few patch notes during beta detailed a rebalance of some areas, increasing health and diversifying tactics (the latter of which I have noticed playing through areas I last saw back in October). I would assume base respawn rates would be adjusted as part of this rebalance.
DarthParametric is online now   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars: The Old Republic MMO Forums > Game Discussion > Tython Temple > Frenetic Combat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump