lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: TLS Loading Screen Freeze
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-30-2011, 05:54 PM   #1
Captainman
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
TLS Loading Screen Freeze

Hello!
Sorry if this particular problem has been mentioned but I haven't found it in a few hours of browsing. When trying to leave the Peragus fuel depot through the turbolift that leads to the Administration level, it will start to load and then freeze. The game acts as if it's still thinking about it, music playing, ability to move the cursor, etc. But I've left it sitting for quite some time without any luck. I've tried using the warp cheat code to bypass the turbolift but with the same result. Up until this point in the game it has functioned flawlessly and smoothly. Thanks in advance for your help!

My specs:
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=12/30/2011 2:45:47 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.00.424
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\SWKOTOR II - The Sith Lords\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 3
Service Pack=Service Pack 3
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=2048

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2999
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=7
CPUStepping=10
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=1792
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (FAT32), UNICODE=345.63GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-H10N,HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-H10N

[Video]
Video Card Name=NVIDIA GeForce 9300 / nForce 730i
Video Memory=512
Desktop Resolution=1680x1050x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=3.0.0
OpenGL Vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer=GeForce 9300 / nForce 730i/PCI/SSE2
NVidia Driver=6.14.11.8208
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=USB Audio Device
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=85
Number 3D Voices=30
Number 2D Voices=64
2D3D Bias=1.50
EAX=2
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0
Force Software=0

[Graphics Options]
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=1
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=0
RefreshRate=60
Width=1600
Height=1200
V-Sync=0
Texture Quality=2
Anti Aliasing=0

[Game Options]
Enable Tooltips=1
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
TextureVariation=9
BodyVariation=3
AppearanceType=176
PCGender=0
GameCompleted=0
CurSithLord=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=44
Difficulty Level=1
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Reverse Ingame YAxis=0
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
UnlockedPlanetSongs=2
EnableCheats=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1
Disable Movies=0

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=16
Action281A=14
Action280B=15
Action280A=18
Action268=17
Action265=58
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=35
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=60
Action213=62
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

[Autopause Options]
End Of Combat Round=0
Mine Sighted=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie10=0
Movie 9=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 0=0
Captainman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-30-2011, 07:27 PM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Thanks for posting your specs.

What version of Windows are you using?


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2011, 05:22 AM   #3
Captainman
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
It's in the specs:

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 3
Service Pack=Service Pack 3
Status=Pass

I also tried it on 64bit Windows 7 but after using several fixes online given in the threads without success I moved onto my PC with XP. I've also just tried it on my old crappy laptop with windows 2000 on it, but I wasn't too surprised there when it wouldn't even open up the game. For this problem though, it's the PC with XP.
Captainman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2011, 05:25 AM   #4
Captainman
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Also here's another little update. I was able to bypass the Peragus by going straight to the Harbinger. After playing those levels without a hitch, I was able to enter the fuel depot again only to have it quit to the main screen when trying to enter the next section of the mining facility.
Captainman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2011, 07:39 AM   #5
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
The reason I asked what OS you were using is that the game can't ID anything newer than XP.

For starters, you need to try the Dantooine lag fix:
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingerhs View Post
  • First, figure out where the .ini is installed. Default is "C:\Program Files\Lucasarts\swkotor(2)\swkotor(2).ini". If its not in that location, then your going to have to do some searching around on the hard drive a bit.
  • When you find it, just double-click on the file to open it in Notepad.
  • Scroll down the file until you find the Graphics Options
  • Under the last line ("last line" as in the last line of the list of entries under "Graphics Options", NOT the last line of "swkotor(2).ini"), add "Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1", without the quotes.
  • Goto File, then Save.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2011, 04:36 PM   #6
Captainman
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Unfortunately that didn't do a thing. :/
Captainman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2011, 10:07 PM   #7
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Well, since you have a multi-core CPU and you're using XP, you should be setting CPU affinity to a single core every time you launch the game. How I do it is to open Task Manager (right-click on the Taskbar at the bottom of Windows' desktop and select "Task Manager") and click on the "Processes" tab. Check the "Show processes for all users" box if it isn't already and then launch the game. Once you get to the game's main menu, hit the Windows key to get back to the desktop and look for the game's executable (swkotor2.exe) in the Task Manager under the "Processes" tab. When you find it, right click on it, select "set affinity" and uncheck every box but "CPU 0" and hit "OK". Once you've done that, just hit the game's icon in the Taskbar and you should be good to go. Remember that you'll have to set CPU affinity like this every time you launch the game. Not doing this can cause the game to randomly crash.

Also: are you using any mods?


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2012, 05:48 AM   #8
Captainman
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Yup I did all of the basic fixes like switching the CPU affinity and the dantooine fix. I just started over and it seemed to do the trick. I still have no idea what it's problem was.
Captainman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > TLS Loading Screen Freeze

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:52 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.