lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Black spots in XWing series
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-26-2010, 10:56 PM   #1
Black_Knight
 
Black_Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Question Black spots in XWing series

Every XWing game I have installed into Windows 7 (64bit) is giving me graphical issues in-game. I get this blockiness effect after only a few moments of action. I am attempting to post an image of one example in XWA here. Any ideas on what I can do to fix this? Game seems to run flawlessly otherwise. No other games have this issue, just the XWing series (XWing CD, Tie CD, XvT:BoP, XWA)

I am using an ATI 4850, updated drivers.
Using maxed out graphics settings in all games.

[IMG=http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1254/blockinessinxwinggames.th.jpg][/IMG]
Black_Knight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2010, 11:34 PM   #2
Black_Knight
 
Black_Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Just an FYI - I'm thinking it has something to do with vertical sync, based on some things I've read online. Luck would have it that I do not appear to be able to turn off vsync in Windows 7 (I can in the CCC, but Win7 has its own or something) Still researching it...
Black_Knight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2010, 02:23 PM   #3
Black_Knight
 
Black_Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Follow up - seems ATI is the culprit. I took out my 4850 and replaced it with my other card (nVidia GTX295) and the black box effect was gone in 3d mode. Other people have noted this issue here: http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...d.php?t=751315
Black_Knight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-12-2011, 03:37 PM   #4
g2knee
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
One person in a different thread said that reducing the "starfield" setting fixed this.
g2knee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-30-2011, 02:36 PM   #5
leinad23ec
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
This worked for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black_Knight View Post
Every XWing game I have installed into Windows 7 (64bit) is giving me graphical issues in-game. I get this blockiness effect after only a few moments of action. I am attempting to post an image of one example in XWA here. Any ideas on what I can do to fix this? Game seems to run flawlessly otherwise. No other games have this issue, just the XWing series (XWing CD, Tie CD, XvT:BoP, XWA)

I am using an ATI 4850, updated drivers.
Using maxed out graphics settings in all games.

[IMG=http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1254/blockinessinxwinggames.th.jpg][/IMG]
I found out on Google that this early games did not know what to do with the function "explorer.exe".

In order to fix this, i got out of the game, minimize or closed all other windows until i only have the desktop, press Ctrl+Shift+Delete which brings the Windows task manager, go to processes, right click on the process called explorer.exe and then kill (end) it.

In the same windows task manager now you go to File>New(Task run)... and when the little command prompt window appears, go to browse, and click where the xwing95.exe is located, usually goes here:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\XWing95\XWING95.EXE"

And voila, now your game should run fine, with no dots.
Once you are done playing press again those ctrl+shift+delete and go to File>New(task run)... and type explorer.exe. That will bring back all your stuff.

I think that is the only solution to it.
leinad23ec is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-05-2011, 04:27 PM   #6
Ciws
Lurker
 
Ciws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1
Current Game: Borderlands
I've had the same exact issue. All objects directly in front of the targeting box has black square shapes in-front of it as if you were looking at an object through a lattice work or a fence. Running with the explorer off did correct coloration issues and the compatibility fix did allow for installation of the game on my Vista machine. But no fix i've found anywhere seems to fix those black boxes. i tried to ignore them but keeping my eye on a Tie in a dogfight is impossible when they are nearly completely covered in black nothingness.

I think it's my ATI acting up. I'm at a loss for what to do now.
Ciws is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-05-2011, 07:36 PM   #7
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,502
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Putting a legacy ddraw.dll file in the same folder as the game executable has helped, too. You can find the DLL @ http://www.jkhub.net/project/get.php?id=1804


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-07-2011, 09:45 PM   #8
JPIKE420
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Hi guys,

I didn't know where else to put this but I thought it would fit in here because I'm having similar problems as the user above. I am trying to run x-wing 95 in windows 7 on my laptop with an ATI integrated graphics chip.

I downloaded that markus egger fix, and that old ddraw.dll and put it in the executable directory. I was having color issues so I tried the technique of shutting down explorer through the task manager. That fixed the color problems and the game seems to be r unning fine. However I have one problem that makes the game unplayable.

Whenever I start up the game I get what I can only describe as a checkerboard pattern that flashes on the screen at random intervals. The checkers are usually the color of the Lucas Arts logo or the Totally Games logo.

Any thoughts on how to fix this?
JPIKE420 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2011, 02:06 PM   #9
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,502
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Haven't seen that one...maybe someone on the XWA Upgrade forums can help.


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-15-2012, 09:29 AM   #10
Khalain
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Yeah just played x-wing alliance and i have this problem to, makes it unplayable
Khalain is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-15-2012, 10:02 AM   #11
Khalain
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildstar View Post
Putting a legacy ddraw.dll file in the same folder as the game executable has helped, too. You can find the DLL @ http://www.jkhub.net/project/get.php?id=1804
this worked for x-wing alliance, i also lowered the starfield just to be sure
Khalain is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-15-2012, 12:04 PM   #12
Khalain
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
A link to my explanation on how i got x-wing working on windows 7 http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...75#post2801575
Khalain is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-29-2012, 07:40 AM   #13
DaFool
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
This is a website dedicated to running old games, you can play X-wing and Tie fighter off of their website they have done all the hard yards getting it to run. Its the only way i've managed to play with sound and full screen without buggy graphics.

http://www.freegameempire.com/games/TIE-Fighter
DaFool is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars Classic Gaming > 2. Star Wars Gaming > X-Wing Trilogy & X-Wing Vs. TIE Fighter > Black spots in XWing series

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.