lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Journal entry question..
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-11-2012, 05:04 PM   #1
newbiemodder
Gentleman Modder
 
newbiemodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 706
Veteran Modder 
Journal entry question..

Man, seems like I'm asking a lot of questions lately...journal question, namely progression of journal entries. Usually, I have a standard llinear order with my journal entries that go with plot progression..(a ) leads (b) which leads to (c)..etc....However, how do I do random journal entries?

Example.. i have journal entries 10,20,30,40, and 50. Most are triggered via dialogs. But there is no particular set order it is random. My problem is if the dialog for journal entry 50 is triggered first. The remaining journal entries will not show because of the order..can't go backward. Make sense?


Who's more foolish, the fool or the fool that follows?

Just exactly what is a head-piece to the Staff of Ra?

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206819

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206541

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...t=newbiemodder
newbiemodder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2012, 07:54 PM   #2
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,465
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
A quick thought that may work... make duplicates of the random entries? so that all options can come on either side of any other... if that makes sense? Maybe put all of your main entries in 40, 45, 50, 55, 60. Then make dupes of them on either side?

Not sure this would work, as it seems WAY too simple


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2012, 06:20 AM   #3
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 565
It wont work by setting them in dialogs (the questbox in the DLG editor)... but you can force them with script (triggered in the convo then).

EDIT (Apparently I screwed up how it works before);
After setting a goal you either have TRUE or FALSE. FALSE means the quest isn't updated if a higher number is already present. TRUE means it *will* be replaced, even if a higher number is higher.
Unlike what I stated before the edit, the only way for quest completion is making it hit a number that's set to complete the goal in globals.jrl, it can't be overwritten by script.

Hope that helped.

Example (a_geeda_set from TSLRCM 1.8);
Code:
void main()
{
int nDxnOpen;
if(GetGlobalNumber("500OND_Civil_War") > 1) nDxnOpen = 1; else nDxnOpen = 0;
int nDanOpen;
if(GetGlobalNumber("602DAN_End") > 0) nDanOpen = 1; else nDanOpen = 0;
int nDxnEst = GetGlobalNumber("301NAR_Geeda_Dxn");
int nDanEst = GetGlobalNumber("301NAR_Geeda_Dan");

int nJournal = GetJournalEntry("NewTradeRoutes");

if (nJournal == 0) return;

if(nDxnEst == 1 && nDanEst == 1)
    {
        AddJournalQuestEntry("NewTradeRoutes", 33, TRUE);
        return;
    }
if(nDxnEst == 1)
    {
		if(nDanOpen == 0)
		{
			AddJournalQuestEntry("NewTradeRoutes", 13, TRUE);
			return;
		}
		if(nDanOpen == 1)
		{
			AddJournalQuestEntry("NewTradeRoutes", 21, TRUE);
			return;
		}
    }
if(nDanEst == 1)
    {
		if(nDxnOpen == 0)
		{
			AddJournalQuestEntry("NewTradeRoutes", 31, TRUE);
			return;
		}
		if(nDxnOpen == 1)
		{
			AddJournalQuestEntry("NewTradeRoutes", 12, TRUE);
			return;
		}
    }
if(nDanOpen == 1 && nDxnOpen ==1)
     {
        AddJournalQuestEntry("NewTradeRoutes", 22, TRUE);
        return;
     }
if(nDanOpen == 1)
     {
        AddJournalQuestEntry("NewTradeRoutes", 21, TRUE);
        return;
     }
if(nDxnOpen == 1)
     {
        AddJournalQuestEntry("NewTradeRoutes", 12, TRUE);
        return;
     }
AddJournalQuestEntry("NewTradeRoutes", 11);
}

Last edited by Hassat Hunter; 02-12-2012 at 06:28 AM.
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2012, 09:17 AM   #4
newbiemodder
Gentleman Modder
 
newbiemodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 706
Veteran Modder 
Ugh..globals...thanks HH for the info...


Who's more foolish, the fool or the fool that follows?

Just exactly what is a head-piece to the Staff of Ra?

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206819

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206541

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...t=newbiemodder
newbiemodder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2012, 09:42 AM   #5
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 565
Well, no need for globals. A simple script like
Code:
void main()
{
			AddJournalQuestEntry("RandomScript", 40, TRUE);
}
would work for you, based on what you asked so far ...
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2012, 02:19 PM   #6
newbiemodder
Gentleman Modder
 
newbiemodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 706
Veteran Modder 
Thanks HH..that did it...for some reason I thought it couldn't be done via script either...thanks for the help.


Who's more foolish, the fool or the fool that follows?

Just exactly what is a head-piece to the Staff of Ra?

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206819

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206541

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...t=newbiemodder
newbiemodder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Journal entry question..

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:09 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.