lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Party in the Ebon Hawk
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-14-2012, 08:58 PM   #1
Taunger
Rookie
 
Taunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mos Eisley
Posts: 46
Current Game: KotOR
Party in the Ebon Hawk

Hi, I've done many searches trying to find an answer to this, but couldn't find any (if there are, please say so!), so here goes:

in K1, can I be with party members inside the Ebon Hawk and the Hideout on Taris? I've tried warping to these modules, but it didn't work. Ideally, with the mod in place, I could just warp or walk into the modules with my party members and after entering the module they would still be in my party and I could control them as in other modules.

P.S. No matter if there would be two Carths or something in the module and it totally breaks the game; it's just something temporary I'd like to be able to do.
Taunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2012, 09:11 PM   #2
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 571
Easy. Just modify the onenter.ncs, clearing "ClearPlayerParty();"
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2012, 09:30 PM   #3
JCarter426
Senior Member
 
JCarter426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Look to your left.
Posts: 1,640
That won't let you change party members while in those modules, though. If you want to do that, you need to set the module to escapable. You can either do this by editing the ARE (set Unescapable to 0) or with a script, like so:
Code:
void main(){

SetAreaUnescapable(FALSE);

}
...which does the same thing temporarily, with the added bonus of overriding script-induced inescapable situations (e.g. when the Exile is on the way to the Jekk'Jekk Tarr to meet Visquis).


JCarter426 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2012, 09:32 PM   #4
Taunger
Rookie
 
Taunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mos Eisley
Posts: 46
Current Game: KotOR
This may be a bit n00bish, but I couldn't find an "onenter.ncs"; are you sure this works for K1?
Taunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2012, 09:44 PM   #5
JCarter426
Senior Member
 
JCarter426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Look to your left.
Posts: 1,640
The Ebon Hawk's OnEnter script is k_pebo_skybox.ncs (located in ebo_m12aa_s.rim, you'll need to decompile it with DeNCS).

The hideout's is k_ptar_02af_en.ncs (in tar_m02af_s.rim).


JCarter426 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2012, 10:33 PM   #6
Taunger
Rookie
 
Taunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mos Eisley
Posts: 46
Current Game: KotOR
I'm having trouble with DeNCS, it says the scripts are "partial-could not recompile".
Taunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2012, 05:42 AM   #7
darth-ackbar
Rookie
 
darth-ackbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Death Star
Posts: 158
Current Game: The Search For Revan
DeNCS doesn't decompile certain scripts for some reason, I know stoffe was able to decompile the TSL on enter script (which doesn't work in DeNCS) so there must be other ways to do it, not sure myself though.


Search For Revan Website: www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com

Search For Revan LucasForums Thread


<a href=http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com target=_blank>http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com</a>
darth-ackbar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2012, 04:40 PM   #8
Taunger
Rookie
 
Taunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mos Eisley
Posts: 46
Current Game: KotOR
Even in their compiled state I can see words in the files like "K_CURRENT_PLANET", "Firing Anim 05 for Korriban m12aa_01q" etc.; no mention of the party being cleared (though that doesn't prove anything).

As a test I just cleared the entire scripts and put them in the override folder. In the Taris Hideout there seemed to be no change as I entered the module (though that script was a really short one).
On entering the Ebon Hawk the only change I noticed was that the skybox around the ship changed; even though I was on Dantooine, I could see Kashyyyk through the windows. (Seeing the name of the script—"k_pebo_skybox"—that seems to make sense: the script conforming the skybox to the planet you are actually on is no longer functioning.)
This leads me to believe that the scripts are not *directly* performing a ClearPlayerParty function.
I remember reading somewhere on here that some files would get the message "partial-could not decompile" in DeNCS because the .nss files would reference files like "k_inc_utility" and "k_inc_debug". So, I got the idea of looking for a ClearPlayerParty function in those files.
Lo and behold, in "k_inc_utility.nss" there was a "ClearAllPartyMembers" function.
I have no idea where to go from here.

Maybe another method would be more fruitful. Is it possible to get the party selection screen to show up (i.e. adding party members while in the module).
While in the Ebon Hawk or in the Hideout, going to the map, the "Party Selection" option is greyed out and when you click on it, it says "That function is unavailable at this time." Is there some way to turn it on?

Sorry for torturing you with such a long story

EDIT: Just realized that that's what JCarter said. However, I set Unescapable to 0 in the ARE file (and made sure the entry actually changed before saving), put it in the Override folder, then opened KotOR, but the Party Selection button was still greyed out.

Last edited by Taunger; 02-15-2012 at 05:21 PM.
Taunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2012, 05:54 PM   #9
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 571
Well, though my experiences are with KOTOR2 (much different apparently based on this thread), putting it in override wont work, you need to integrate it into the module (remember to make a backup). Also, you will have to have never entered that module before.
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2012, 06:09 PM   #10
Taunger
Rookie
 
Taunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mos Eisley
Posts: 46
Current Game: KotOR
Hassat Hunter, I took a save from just before acquiring the Ebon Hawk and it works now! Looks like I'll have to start a new game to get this to work later in the game, oh how terrible!

A huge, huge thanks to all of you!
Taunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2012, 07:18 PM   #11
JCarter426
Senior Member
 
JCarter426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Look to your left.
Posts: 1,640
You can be very, very bad and put the ARE in Override - that forces the game to load it each time, putting your changes into effect.

If you do it with the script you don't have to bother with any of this though - but it only affects a single module, temporarily.



Last edited by JCarter426; 02-15-2012 at 07:29 PM.
JCarter426 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2012, 07:42 PM   #12
Taunger
Rookie
 
Taunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mos Eisley
Posts: 46
Current Game: KotOR
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCarter426 View Post
You can be very, very bad and put the ARE in Override - that forces the game to load it each time, putting your changes into effect.
Why exactly is this bad? It works, doesn't it?
Taunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2012, 08:34 PM   #13
JCarter426
Senior Member
 
JCarter426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Look to your left.
Posts: 1,640
Well, this applies more to the GIT than the ARE, but basically it's unpredictable and the unintended side effects can break your game. For example, if you place a GIT in Override, everything about the module will be reset every time it is loaded - whether you are loading a save or transitioning from another module. This means any doors you opened will be closed again, anyone you killed will be alive again, anyone who was spawned after the module was loaded will no longer be there, and so on. So that's why you shouldn't do it. I do it, but only for testing purposes and because I'm a very bad boy. I haven't really had reason to do it much with the ARE so I'm not sure if it can be as dangerous, but the files are similar in nature. Anyway, you could probably get away with it, just be careful.


JCarter426 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2012, 09:29 PM   #14
Taunger
Rookie
 
Taunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mos Eisley
Posts: 46
Current Game: KotOR
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCarter426 View Post
I do it, but only for testing purposes and because I'm a very bad boy.
LOL

Anyway. If I also place the GIT file in Override, the modified ARE also works on my older savegames. I'm doing this for screen capture, so I'll need the files in my Override folder only then. But, I'll be careful.

Thanks again!
Taunger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Party in the Ebon Hawk

Tags
ebon hawk, party, party members

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.