lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Recruitment Mod
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-13-2012, 05:25 PM   #1
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Recruitment Mod

Hey im brand new at modding so i wouldnt create 1 and i was wondering if anyone else thought it would be cool if u could recruit the assassin Batu Rem instead of killing him (he would Bao Dur; i always found him kinda useless)
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2012, 05:25 PM   #2
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
he would replace Bao Dur*
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2012, 08:15 AM   #3
darth-ackbar
Rookie
 
darth-ackbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Death Star
Posts: 158
Current Game: The Search For Revan
not a bad idea but you might want to think about replacing someone else, bao-dur and his remote have a pretty large role on malachor if you remember, and you might run into some interesting glitches...


Search For Revan Website: www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com

Search For Revan LucasForums Thread


<a href=http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com target=_blank>http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com</a>
darth-ackbar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2012, 09:54 AM   #4
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Oh

Quote:
Originally Posted by darth-ackbar View Post
not a bad idea but you might want to think about replacing someone else, bao-dur and his remote have a pretty large role on malachor if you remember, and you might run into some interesting glitches...
Sorry didnt think about that. Maybe T3 or G0-T0
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2012, 10:15 AM   #5
darth-ackbar
Rookie
 
darth-ackbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Death Star
Posts: 158
Current Game: The Search For Revan
I know some people were discussing this a while back, as far as I can remember, T3 is the only character you can safetly get rid of, and even then you have problems, for example it would have to be after T3 gives you the list of jedi masters, and you would need a way around T3's part in the Nar Shaddaa warehouse. G0T0 has a dialogue with the remote on Malachor, so there might be issues there as well.

All of these problems are overcomeable but it makes things harder, and modders are less likely to want to help. I'd do it but I'm working on my own stuff, sorry.

If you really want to, I would suggest learning a bit of modding (even if it's just dialogue writing) and seeing if someone would help you. That way it takes some of the load of other modders so they will be more likely to help you, and you'll get it finished a bit quicker.

You're new here so I'll give you the heads up, KotOR isn't an easy game to mod, it takes time and patience, especially something big like a recruitment mod. I'm not saying it can't be done, but you need to realise what you're getting yourself into.

Anyway, good luck with you're mod and I hope you pull it off


Search For Revan Website: www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com

Search For Revan LucasForums Thread


<a href=http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com target=_blank>http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com</a>
darth-ackbar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2012, 11:08 AM   #6
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Thanks for the heads up. Ill start looking at tutorials
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2012, 12:24 PM   #7
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Well I finally managed to create a basic successful mod. That should be a start
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2012, 11:23 AM   #8
darth-ackbar
Rookie
 
darth-ackbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Death Star
Posts: 158
Current Game: The Search For Revan
just out of interest, what have you made?


Search For Revan Website: www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com

Search For Revan LucasForums Thread


<a href=http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com target=_blank>http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com</a>
darth-ackbar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2012, 02:29 PM   #9
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
I used the Kotor tool to an edit an item. The basics. I know that a recruitment mod is about 10x more complicated, but I made a start.

Last edited by noname35; 02-17-2012 at 02:36 PM.
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > Recruitment Mod

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:16 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.