lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: kotor 2 pros modded into kotor 1
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-23-2011, 01:21 AM   #1
darth trea
Rookie
 
darth trea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 43
kotor 2 pros modded into kotor 1

Hey, so most people agree that K1 has a much better story than K2, but being the later game K2 has a new and improved system. So my thought was that someone should make a mod like that for K1. (details below)

The three major things that i was thinking of of were,


A. The upgrade system (the worth of the ranged and melee combat weapon upgrades vary between weapon rather than the upgrade itself; and the lightsabers only have crystals while K2 has 3 other parts)

B. Classes (in K1 you have 3 Jedi classes and 3 non-force-user classes, while in K2 you have the prestige senses as well) the main drawback there is the lvl limit it would be hard to squash 3 sets of lvls into only 20 lvls.

C. Force powers (K2 got new force powers that i think should be available to to K1)


Alright finally I have to tell you i am no modder and will not be of much help.

PS: sorry for the bad title, naming's the hardest part for me .
darth trea is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2011, 05:54 PM   #2
Totenkopf
English spoken in What
 
Totenkopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: What?
Posts: 4,778
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
Not sure how much of that is probably hardcoded into game, so the first one might not be possibe. A 2da file can be altered to give more K1 powers/feats per level. So, even if K1 is capped at lvl 20, more powers/feats per lvl-up can be obtained by altering the 2da files (or just using KSE, though that pulls you out of the flow of the game). That really only leaves custom feats or powers, some of which already exist in available mods.


Now, I want you to remember that no bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making the other poor, dumb bastard die for his country.---Patton

There is no room in this country for hyphenated Americanism.---Teddy Roosevelt

I never forget a face, but in your case I'll make an exception.---Groucho

And if you all get killed, I'll piss on your graves.---Shaman Urdnot

How would you like to own a little bit of my foot in your ass.---Red Foreman
Totenkopf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2011, 12:47 AM   #3
Blix
Veteran
 
Blix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Aboard the Ravager
Posts: 865
Current Game: Morrowind & Dark Arisen
Are you talking about upgrading the K1 class system by scratch? Could be difficult or nigh impossible since like the lightsaber deal is hard-coded/scripted I believe.


Blix is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2011, 04:27 PM   #4
darth trea
Rookie
 
darth trea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 43
i think you'd have to install a new template for the upgrade screens and thats something that i don't think I've seen before, and it would be a lot easier if you could take the template from K2 but you can't so you'd have to make your own like a youtube template

and the system that needs the least improvment would be the lightsaber system because it already has multiple crystals.
darth trea is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2011, 06:08 PM   #5
Dak Drexl
Senior Member
 
Dak Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,078
Helpful! 
A and B are impossible. C is possible in part, you just need a very good scripter.

Dak Drexl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-29-2012, 06:03 PM   #6
Kl0kw3rk
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 33
I'm adding something akin to Enlightenment and probably Force Body. The latter effect is already fundamentally in KOTOR 1.
Kl0kw3rk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2012, 09:19 AM   #7
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
A is impossible but you could make every weapon upgradeable using the kotor tool but it would be a waste of time to most people.


Holowan's neediest modder
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2012, 01:51 PM   #8
darth-ackbar
Rookie
 
darth-ackbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Death Star
Posts: 158
Current Game: The Search For Revan
Can't you just add classes to classes.2da?


Search For Revan Website: www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com

Search For Revan LucasForums Thread


<a href=http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com target=_blank>http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com</a>
darth-ackbar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2012, 02:30 PM   #9
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by darth-ackbar View Post
Can't you just add classes to classes.2da?
Yes you could, but those classes wouldnt be selectable through normal means. And there would be nothing special about them, either.


Holowan's neediest modder
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2012, 05:55 PM   #10
UltimateHK47
Forumite
 
UltimateHK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a Galaxy, far far away...
Posts: 500
Current Game: Kotor 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dak Drexl View Post
A and B are impossible. C is possible in part, you just need a very good scripter.
This is why I get annoyed. No touching the hardcoded stuff.


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...12#post2807812
The Turret Arcade 1.2 ^^


USED TO BE KNOWN AS DARTH JANGO/WEASLEY
UltimateHK47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2012, 09:43 PM   #11
Col_Zechs
Rookie
 
Col_Zechs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 209
Current Game: Star Wars the Old Republic
Yes please do this. Because I love Kotor 1 better than part 2 and was only disappointed with the lack of upgrading weapons and armour the first game had.
Col_Zechs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > kotor 2 pros modded into kotor 1

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.