lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Moding orginal items
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-29-2012, 08:13 AM   #1
Light_Jigi
Rookie
 
Light_Jigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 118
Moding orginal items

(bad english warning) Hi so i got bored in playing the game over and over again. I wanted to see more new textures, becouse the old ones looks like crap. So can someone point me to the right direction? I want to modify all old weapons and some armours to new textures. For example i want to make a simple vibrosword look like final fantasy sword from a made mod. Just not to make new models but modify game weapons to modders.


My blade strikes all !!!!
Light_Jigi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-29-2012, 08:39 AM   #2
Scorge
Jedi Master
 
Scorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Next door.
Posts: 566
Current Game: SWTOR
Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
This should get you started


Formally MrObiWan

If you need help with textures on any KotOR/TSL mod, feel free to contact me.



Scorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-29-2012, 10:46 AM   #3
Light_Jigi
Rookie
 
Light_Jigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 118
No not coloring items, but change like vibrosword model to longsword.


My blade strikes all !!!!
Light_Jigi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-29-2012, 11:04 AM   #4
darth-ackbar
Rookie
 
darth-ackbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Death Star
Posts: 158
Current Game: The Search For Revan
so you want to make new models for weapons? Have you got NWmax and Gmax/3ds max?


Search For Revan Website: www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com

Search For Revan LucasForums Thread


<a href=http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com target=_blank>http://www.kotorsearchforrevan.wetpaint.com</a>
darth-ackbar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-29-2012, 09:53 PM   #5
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light_Jigi View Post
No not coloring items, but change like vibrosword model to longsword.
Just look at modeling tutorials bro.


Holowan's neediest modder
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2012, 06:03 AM   #6
Light_Jigi
Rookie
 
Light_Jigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 118
Not new models. I want to take a player made model and replace any sword I want.


My blade strikes all !!!!
Light_Jigi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2012, 10:18 AM   #7
Darth DeadMan
Rookie
 
Darth DeadMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 120
Current Game: StarCraft II
There are 2 ways of doing it.
1) Open Kotor Tool, find *.uti of the weapon you wish to replace and change 'model variation' field to number of modded model. Now just save edited file to your Override (note: it will not affect items which are already in your inventory, only new ones)

2) Rename model files from mod to replace original models.

For example, you have a mod which adds cool sword which model name is w_vbroswrd_099.mdl and w_vbroswrd_099.mdx. Rename them to w_vbroswrd_001.mdl and w_vbroswrd_001.mdx - now it will replace ingame vibrosword model. Important: don't rename textures, rename model files ONLY.


Stay metal, live forever, never die!

My mods @ DeadlyStream
Darth DeadMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2012, 07:07 PM   #8
noname35
Rookie
 
noname35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nar Shadaa
Posts: 123
Current Game: KotOR 1 and 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light_Jigi View Post
Not new models. I want to take a player made model and replace any sword I want.
Ah, that makes more sense. Sorry


Holowan's neediest modder
noname35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2012, 01:11 PM   #9
Light_Jigi
Rookie
 
Light_Jigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 118
Thats all i want to know for now ty


My blade strikes all !!!!
Light_Jigi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2012, 04:12 PM   #10
Shaggoth
Junior Member
 
Shaggoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Estland, Revalia
Posts: 292
is there a difference between models in kotor1 and 2 ? i just wanted to use those replacements (http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...nt_pack;116796) in my kotor1. is there a way?


[ about.me ]
Shaggoth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2012, 12:35 AM   #11
Darth DeadMan
Rookie
 
Darth DeadMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 120
Current Game: StarCraft II
Model format is slightly different in K1.
You still can try to convert them to K1... PM me for details.


Stay metal, live forever, never die!

My mods @ DeadlyStream
Darth DeadMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Moding orginal items

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.