lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Two Module Map Questions
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-05-2012, 07:47 PM   #1
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,286
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Two Module Map Questions

So as the title suggests I have two questions about maps in modules.

1. What file do I edit in order to set whether the map for the module is completely revealed or not?

2. How do I set up and create Map Notes? I've attempted this before but for some reason they didn't show up.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2012, 08:27 PM   #2
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,769
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
The map notes are actually waypoints. You can set them up with the UTW files.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2012, 08:42 PM   #3
JCarter426
Senior Member
 
JCarter426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Look to your left.
Posts: 1,635
I don't think there's an option to reveal the map automatically, but there's a simple script function - RevealMap() - that you can put in the module's OnEnter script. You can also put in coordinates and a radius to reveal only a specific region. Here's the source code:
Code:
// 515: RevealMap
// Reveals the map at the given WORLD point 'vPoint' with a MAP Grid Radius 'nRadius'
// If this function is called with no parameters it will reveal the entire map.
// (NOTE: if this function is called with a valid point but a default radius, ie. 'nRadius' of -1
//        then the entire map will be revealed)
void RevealMap(vector vPoint=[0.0,0.0,0.0],int nRadius=-1);


JCarter426 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2012, 08:51 PM   #4
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,286
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
@JC But for some reason when I load up a module that module already has its map revealed, is there a way to make it un-revelaed?

@SS Okay, I'll play around with it and get back on it.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2012, 08:58 PM   #5
JCarter426
Senior Member
 
JCarter426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Look to your left.
Posts: 1,635
Hmm. Maybe the OnEnter script already reveals the map. Try removing it from the ARE file and see if that fixes it - and make sure you load from before you've ever been there.


JCarter426 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2012, 11:21 PM   #6
newbiemodder
Gentleman Modder
 
newbiemodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 703
Veteran Modder 
For the map reveal..check out Stoney"$ Mini-map tutorial....I'm pretty sure there is an entry regarding that there

Yep..it is in the general tutorials


Who's more foolish, the fool or the fool that follows?

Just exactly what is a head-piece to the Staff of Ra?

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206819

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206541

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...t=newbiemodder
newbiemodder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2012, 02:21 AM   #7
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,286
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Okay, while this isn't related to map questions, it is related to module questions and I'd rather not start a new thread.

Anyway, I've been attempting to place some sitting people placeables in some of my modules for a quite a while now, however whenever I enter the module they are either standing up straight with their arms stretched out and I can walk through them, or they are playing a dead animation. Is there something I have to do via scripting or .ARE/.GIT/.IFO wise to make this work? Or do I have to do something in the placeable file itself?


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2012, 04:41 AM   #8
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 550
I don't know for KOTOR1, but with KOTOR2 their sitting is done in the onenter script (make sure it runs also when a savegame is loaded)...
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2012, 11:50 AM   #9
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,286
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
What would I put in the onenter to make them sit?


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2012, 12:11 PM   #10
LDR
Your Death Angel
 
LDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Malachor V
Posts: 1,130
Current Game: Halo 3
Helpful! Roleplayer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member 
Err, here's a tutorial on how to make mapnotes.



Forgive, but never forget. No amount of DLC can take back lying to your fan base. Trust is earned, not downloaded.



My Mods
Current Mod Thread
LDR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2012, 12:47 PM   #11
Hassat Hunter
Forumite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 550
Example... part of k_503_enter.nss from TSLRCM 1.8;
Code:
void sub3() {
	object oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingCommMale", 0);
	DelayCommand(0.1, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(37, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingSwoopganger", 0);
	DelayCommand(1.3, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(37, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingCommFemale", 0);
	DelayCommand(0.7, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(38, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingSwoopganger", 1);
	DelayCommand(0.3, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(36, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingAlien", 0);
	DelayCommand(1.0, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(36, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingCommFemale", 1);
	DelayCommand(2.1, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(38, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingCommMale", 1);
	DelayCommand(2.2, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(37, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingWalrusman", 0);
	DelayCommand(0.1, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(36, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingBith", 0);
	DelayCommand(1.3, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(37, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingBith", 1);
	DelayCommand(0.1, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(37, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingRodian", 0);
	DelayCommand(2.2, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(37, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingCommMale", 2);
	DelayCommand(0.1, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(37, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingCommMale", 3);
	DelayCommand(0.8, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(37, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingCommFemale", 2);
	DelayCommand(1.2, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(37, 1.0, (-1.0))));
	oSittingRodian = GetObjectByTag("SittingCommFemale", 3);
	DelayCommand(0.3, AssignCommand(oSittingRodian, ActionPlayAnimation(37, 1.0, (-1.0))));
}
IIRC 37 is drinking, 36 is just sitting and 38 is playing pazaak.

And here's the start of the main part;
Code:
void main() {
	if ((GetEnteringObject() != GetFirstPC())) {
		return;
	}
	sub1();
	sub3();
	if (GetLoadFromSaveGame()) {
		return;
	}
You can do it without sub (most do), but it was already the case here... and it's a bit too much to do without.
Also make sure the tags match (in vanilla, this was NOT the case)
Hassat Hunter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Two Module Map Questions

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:39 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.